A Nice Day For A Pink and Gray Wedding

12 Apr

My brother-in-law and one of my very best friends, Kate, are getting married. Mike has been my BIL for about a year and a half, but Kate and I have been friends since the 6th grade. I am so unbelievable happy for them and should have the honor of toasting them somewhere along the long, my speech will be short and sweet: I told you so!

I actually set the two of them up. A couple of times. I think it finally stuck on or around the third time. Eh, what matters most is that I was right they have each other and couldn’t be more perfect for one another….

They are getting hitched on September 25th at a beautiful nature conservancy around the area where we grew up. I know the wedding will be beautiful, down-to-earth, and personal. From the venue to the florist to the literary theme, everything will just be oozing Kate and Mike. And it certainly doesn’t hurt that their wedding colors are PINK and GRAY. I love gray. I gravitate towards that color almost ever time I am given the option. I love gray with pink, purple, yellow, navy…it seriously goes with everything!!!

Originally, I was going to be wearing this dress:

However, it just really didn’t suit my body type fit my boobs. It has a built-in corset and while that would mean I could get away with not wearing a bra, it just didn’t feel right to have my ladies out on display like that. Basically, I just didn’t feel comfortable in it and would have had to go up a few dress sizes just to accommodate the ladies. Which would have meant tailoring for the bottom half and I just didn’t feel like it.

Yes, I am aware there are starving children in Africa and that in the grand scheme of things this is a minor problem, but nonetheless, I took the easy way out and chose a different dress. Behold:

Yeah, it’s not quite as sexy, but I think it will suit my body shape a little better than the other dress. And needless to say, it will be a heck of a lot more comfortable. I am definitely satisfied with my choice!

But you still haven’t heard the most exciting part! We get to wear pink shoes. Whatever pink shoes we want! I have been on a quest for a pair of fuchsia patent leather pumps. As of right now, I am still deciding between each of these:

I am definitely leaning towards the first pair since they aren’t quite so shockingly pink. We’ll see what happens there….

Then lastly, I will be wearing these in my hair, provided they complement my shoe choice:

I really hope it all goes nicely together! The only downside is that I still have 5 months before I get to wear any of these items…Oh, and I still don’t have any jewelry picked out. I am thinking I might ask the bride for help with that as she is much better at accessorizing than I am. Have you ever met such a laid back bride or a bridesmaidĀ  so happy with the outfit she is being forced to wear?

Click Here to Comment

