Ladies’ Night Tradition

15 Apr

My girlfriends and I have decided that when we get together for ladies’ night (about once a month) it will be the responsibility of the hostess to supply a signature cocktail for our indulgence.  However, it is shocking how many calories are in some of the popular cocktails…especially margartitas, which I have quite a fondness for. Good thing I usually stick to alight beer as my drink of choice.

In light of my recent calorie-filled discover, I have decided to choose a cocktail that is cute, tasty, and easy on the waistline. Meet the Raspberry Cocktail:

The website on which I found this drink offers two great tips, that I am going to try my best to remember when in the face of such yumminess.

1) Frozen drinks blended with ice have less calories, since a good portion of the glass consists of ice.

2) Using taller glasses means that you will refill less often.

So, here is the recipe as I intend to try it:

  • Several ice cubes
  • 8 ounces  Minute Maid Light Raspberry Passion (although I may try to substitute this with a something that is 100% juice)
  • 1.5 ounces of vodka
  • Combine ingredients into a blender and garnish with several fresh raspberries….and maybe an umbrella or a cute straw!

And the best part is that this drink is only 115 calories per serving!

So, drink up because you know I will.

Click Here to Comment

