Babies!!

20 May

Yes, this post will be all about babies. So if your own clock is not ticking or, as the mother of my friend recently said, you “fucking hate babies,” then I suggest you stop reading now..

I have babies on the brain for quite a few reasons. Not just one that involves the aching of my ovaries, although that is a plausible statement.

#1 My Mister and I are planning on trying to get pregnant starting in September!! We were aiming for August, but B.I.L. and Kate are getting married on 9.25 so we figured we’d make that our last hurrah. Besides, who wants to be a morning sickness, hormonal bridesmaid attempting to squeeze her bloated uterus into a pretty dress? Anywho…I’ve started the prenatal vitamins (which don’t seem to disagree with me at all), am quitting smoking on 6.1, and am attempting to get my body into the best shape it has ever seen….only 7 more pounds and lots of toning to go!

I have also declared this “The Summer of Doing Whatever The Hell We Want.” For reasons that I have previously discussed. So, there’s that.

#2 I am dying to see this movie:

I think my Mister and I are going to try to catch it this weekend.

#3 For as long as I can remember I’ve always known that I want to give birth naturally (no drugs), midwife assisted, and preferably in water. The human growth process, particularly from conception through age two has always been such an interest of mine. I guess it could possibly even explain my love for my job….I do a lot of reading on the subject and consider myself to be extremely knowledgable when it comes to most things having to with babies. Naturally, these two things led to me to check out the documentary, The Business of Being Born.

From there I decided to read Pushed: The Painful Truth About Childbirth and Modern Maternity Care by Jennifer Block.

I absolutely plan on recommending both of these to everyone I know who plans who conceiving children.

From Publisher’s Weekly:

“According to writer and editor Block (Our Bodies, Ourselves), “the United States has the most intense and     widespread medical management of birth” in the world, and yet “ranks near the bottom among industrialized countries in maternal and infant mortality.” Block shows how, in transforming childbirth into a business, hospitals have turned “procedures and devices developed for the treatment of abnormality” into routine practice, performed for no reason than “speeding up and ordering an unpredictable…process”; for instance, the U.S. cesarean section rate tripled in the 1970s, and has doubled since then. Block looks into a growing contingent of parents-to-be exploring alternatives to the hospital-and the attendant likelihood of medical intervention-by seeking out birthing centers and options for home-birth. Unfortunately, obstacles to these alternatives remain considerable-laws across the U.S. criminalizing or severely restricting the practice of midwifery have led the trained care providers to practice underground in many states-while tort reform has done next to nothing to lower malpractice insurance rates or improve hospital birthing policies. This provocative, highly readable expose raises questions of great consequence for anyone planning to have a baby in U.S., as well as those interested or involved in women’s health care.”

Seriously, go read it.

#4 ….And finally it all comes full circle: I am planning on becoming a certified Doula. It sort of just hit me the other day. The desire to pursue this, that is. Originally, I wanted to study to become a midwife, but upon finding out that you need a M.S. degree in midwifery, I decided that a Doula was more my speed and more within the confines of my budget. Although, who knows, perhaps one day when my kids are grown I will decide to pursue that dream.

For those of you who don’t know, a Doula is someone who provides support, both physical and emotional, for a woman during labor. They advocate for the mother and encourage her every step of the way from prenatal, to labor, to postpartum. Offering advice, pain relief techniques, alternative birthing methods, and knowledge and confidence to a mother-to-be, a Doula is simply a labor coach. And I have never felt so compelled to do anything as much as I feel for this. This job was made for me.

So, I think you can see why I have babies on the brain morning, noon, and night. And also quite literally Monday through Friday between the hours of 8 and 4.

What about you? Anyone have baby fever? Do share….

2 Responses to “Babies!!”

  1. Jenn Ford May 25, 2010 at 2:21 pm #

    Thanks so much for getting back to me! I am the Director at a Childcare Center but I help out in the infant room pretty often. I wear the moby wrap quite frequently when dealing with more than one baby at a time and I freaking LOVE that thing! I am definitely going to have to do more research as it seems like something I might really like. Thanks again for the info!

  2. Sarah @ BecomingSarah.com May 21, 2010 at 12:30 am #

    I always have babies on the brain. I did for years before becoming a mother and I do now that I am one. Poor husband! =P

    So, first and foremost, CONGRATULATIONS on your decision to look into doula work. The world needs more of them! I wish I had known about doulas when I was pregnant.

    Secondly, oh my goodness, that book and documentary are both awesome. I saw the film maybe two days before I delivered. It drastically changed my perspective. I didn’t find the book until more recently. Brilliant picks!

    Thirdly, I want to see that movie too. SO. BADLY.

    Fourthly, good luck with the baby-making =) You’ll love it, I’m sure. Babies are friggin’ awesome. Stinky sometimes, but awesome.

    That said, re: your comment on my site. My understanding of babywearing is that it’s just using a carrier to “wear” your baby everywhere. I think the term was coined by Dr. Sears? We have all sorts of different carriers, and honestly it’s great. I love not having to fold up or unfold a stroller – especially when she’s hysterical and we just need to get home, who needs one extra thing to hassle with? Also, since my trunk is stroller free, I put a changing mat, two packs of wipes, a couple extra diapers and changes of clothes, etc, in there. It’s like a mobile changing station. I hate those koala changing stations in public bathrooms – even though I’m not generally a germophobe, I always wonder how many babies have pooped on them – so it’s nice to be able to change her somewhere comfortable and clean. Also, somewhere where I don’t have to worry about running out of space. Those public stations don’t have much space for you to put your diaper bag. I always drop something. ANYWAY, back to the point, babywearing is great, I highly recommend at least trying it. I know that ring slings and pouches are popular choices, but honestly my favorites have always been the two-shoulder carriers like the Moby Wrap (when Char was an infant) and the Ergo (now). It takes some getting used to – it’s harder to do than you’d think and immediately postpartum your back aches all the time and breastfeeding while walking seems like an impossible task – but it’s well worth the effort.

    If you google blogs that talk about babywearing, you’ll probably find plenty of people who know more about it and talk about it better than I do!!

Click Here to Comment

