Happy New Year!

2 Jan

2011 already? I can hardly believe it.

I have decided to not make a resolution this year. I never stick to them anyway. And if I were to make one then it would be to lose 10 pounds, per usual. This year, however, I don’t want to lose 10 pounds; I want to gain about 25! And then lose that 25 pounds in about 10 months….plus the extra 10 I am starting with. Does that count as a resolution?

I have been on winter break for the past two weeks and Tim has been homeΒ  with me for last week. Unfortunately, our vacation has been plagued by sickness. Poor Tim got the stomach flu immediately followed by bronchitis. I got off easy with just a cold and a sore throat which I am currently battling. Despite being under the weather, we opted to go out for NYE. We went to the same bar where we spent last NYE. Last year we had a fantastic time. This year, not so much…

It started when one of my BFFs, Jackie (who is 6 months pregnant), inquired as to whether or not she would have to pay the $40 all-inclusive cover charge since, for obvious reasons, she would not be drinking. They brought over the manager and told her (and I quote),

“You can come in without paying, but don’t let me catch you with anything.”

To which she calmly replied, “I’m pregnant. I can’t drink.”

And then, like the jerk that he is, he said, “It’s happened before.”

Poor girl. He made her feel like she couldn’t even ask for a glass of water and that she was already a bad mom for being pregnant in a bar. Um, can’t pregnant ladies celebrate NYE too??? You don’t have to drink to party. My SIL, Kate, will be writing a very strongly worded letter addressing both his treatment of us and the terrible service we received that evening.

They only employed 2 bartenders and it took an average of 20 minutes to get a drink at the bar. There were no available plates when we attempted to eat from the buffet. And only 2 out of our party of 8 got champagne at midnight. All of these things were supposed to be included in the price of our tickets. Needless to say, I think we’ll be making different plans for next year.

Here are some pics from the night:

Me, Jackie, and Kate before we headed out.

Tim, his goofy face, and me celebrating 2011!

My obligatory picture with Wyatt πŸ™‚

In the end, we had a great time with each other. The six of us seem to do everything together and NYE wouldn’t have been the same if any of us were missing. Just one more thing to be thankful for in the new year!

2 Responses to “Happy New Year!”

  1. amy January 3, 2011 at 11:51 am #

    Jenn,

    You look soo happy and you sound even happier in the last two posts….I love it!! First, thank you for your comment on my blog, you’re the sweetest, I swear πŸ™‚

    If I haven’t said it before (I’m sure I have), I’m soo excited that you are trying to start your little family. I know it comes with a lot of anxiety, par for the course, but it’ll be so worth it! I’m totally going to be stalking you!! I’ll be praying for you that you conceive quickly…odd statement I know, but coming from me you understand πŸ˜‰ YaaaaY!

    So, how is it going at the school…are you still there? How is the writing job going…sounds like something you would be awesome at, I love your writing style!

    Well, Happy New Year, 2011 is gonna be GREAT πŸ™‚

    • Jenn Ford January 9, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

      I don’t know how I keep missing comments and posts….anywho, Thanks!! I feel a lot happier. I think that maybe this whole getting pregnant thing has given me something to focus my energy on.

      And feel free to stalk away!! I will be stalking you too as you continue trying to start your family πŸ™‚

      I am still at the school for now, but looking for a new job. It’s not pressing, but I definitely have my feelers out.

      What are you doing with yourself these days?

      And yes!! 2011 is going to be spectacular πŸ™‚

Click Here to Comment

