Addressing the Awkwardness

14 Mar

So now that I have finally decided to share my blog with a few people that I know in real life, I am feeling a little…awkward. The biggest reason I hesitated sharing my blog in the first place was because I worried that if I knew you all were reading this then I would feel the need to censor what I write about. That I wouldn’t feel comfortable writing about whatever I felt like writing about.

You all know me pretty well and therefore, you know that there is very little that I won’t talk about. I’m kind of an open book. I can’t keep secrets  (especially my own) and I ask inappropriate questions about things that are probably none of my business. I am nosy and I like details.

The trade-off, in my mind, is that I welcome other people to be nosy and pry for details about my own life. I will tell anyone who asks (and sometimes when they don’t) all about my anxiety disorder, my family history, fighting and making up with my husband, and even what I ate for breakfast. However, I have an easier time doing this face to face where I can see and react to other people’s signals. It is virtually impossible to do that via blog.

I guess what I am trying to say is that I am going to try to continue to write about whatever I feel like writing about. I discussed this with Mr. T because obviously a lot of this has to do with him as well. I wanted to make sure that he was okay with me talking about things like the analysis of his sperm, our conception efforts, and other things of a personal nature. Surprisingly, he was okay with it. He acknowledges that these things are the truth in our lives and there is no shame in sharing them. I just have to give him a heads up first, which I think is plenty fair.

So. That being said, I just want to let you know that I will be talking about sex, my period (or lack thereof), ovulating, babies, anxiety, depression, and whatever else strikes my fancy. If you don’t like this or you don’t want to know these details of my life, then simply choose not to read my blog. It will make me feel better knowing that I can trust you to make that decision rather than concerning myself with how you might judge me. I do not like being judged. I am self-conscious enough as it is and I do not need any assistance in that area.

Also, I can tell when you’ve been here by looking at my blog stats, so you might as well say hello 🙂

Welcome!

3 Responses to “Addressing the Awkwardness”

  1. Beth Deschenes October 19, 2012 at 9:30 pm #

    This is why I have ALWAYS loved you, and probably why we were the bestest of friends. I am proud of you!

  2. Jenn March 17, 2011 at 1:47 pm #

    I love your blog too! I seriously get so excited for you every time my google reader shows that you have a new post. I just know that one of these days it’s going to be GREAT news 🙂

    I say you just write about whatever you want. It’s kind of nice to have an outlet for the things that I don’t always get a chance to talk to someone about, especially you since you’re my only commenter, haha. Plus I enjoy looking back and watching how far I have already come in this journey. It’s been great to be able to see my personal growth.

    Anyway, keep it up lady!! And thank you 🙂

  3. amy March 15, 2011 at 7:47 am #

    I’m a verrry open person as well, don’t keep much to myself and if you ask me…I’ll tell you!! I love blogging, it is a way to vent, praise, journal, give advice, seek advice etc. I think it’s good that you have shared this blog with people in your personal life. I think it’s easier for people to pop on my blog to “check in”, especially if I don’t see them much (although I don’t blog enough, and I certainly don’t blog about anything than infertility, ugh!). However, there have definitely been times when I want to just let out a lot more than I do or vent a little more aggressively about certain things…but I do use discrection because a lot of people IRL read my blog, so that’s kinda frustrating.

    Anyhow, I love reading your blog and I hope you stay at it!!!

Click Here to Comment

