I’ve Been Here Before

21 Mar

So, I’m back in the two-week wait. I think I am about 4 DPO (days past ovulation). That means there is about 10 days between me and those fateful pink lines.

My goal is be as healthy as possible within the next week and a half and do what I can to aid in implantation. There isn’t a whole lot I can do. Mostly it’s up to my uterus and all it’s wonderful, perplexing hormones to do their job.

I went to the market and stocked up on pineapple and spinach mostly because they sounded really yummy to me, but also because I read they are foods known to assist implantation. They are foods that encourage a fertilized egg to make my uterus it’s cozy home for the next nine months. Pineapple contains bromelain, an enzyme that breaks up the proteins that inhibit implantation. Spinach contains tons of folic acid which ensures healthy implantation and can even prevent certain birth defects. Besides spinach is my absolute favorite food in the world, so I bought enough bags of baby spinach to keep me satisfied for the next week.

I also bought the ingredients to make a caprese salad because that is my second favorite food of all time. As far as I can tell it won’t do anything to help me get pregnant, but it certainly can’t hurt!

So that’s what I am eating. I have learned that what a woman eats (or doesn’t eat) directly impacts her ability to conceive, so there are also items that I am avoiding as best as I can.

  • Lots of protein to increase my iron levels. However, limiting meat is a good idea. Guess I will have to find those proteins from another source….
  • No tuna since it is known to contain high levels of mercury which can be toxic to an unborn baby. I actually cut tuna out about 6 months ago because mercury can stay in your bloodstream for up to year.
  • It’s good to eat food high in Omega-3 fatty acids, such as salmon, in moderation. Unfortunately, I don’t really care for Salmon. Perhaps this is something I can learn to like? I am even considering grilling it for the dinner I am making for the ladies on Tuesday.
  • No artificial sweeteners, which is totally fine by me. I try to avoid them anyway.
  • No caffeine. Easy. I haven’t had caffeine in 7 years.
  • Lastly, no soy products. Soy can mimic estrogen and confuse the hell out of the natural cycle of a woman’s body.

I figure that at the very least, it can’t help to eat a little healthier….

My anxiety surrounding this process has been up and down. Mostly I am excited, but there are also moments of anticipation that overwhelm me. They mostly come at night for whatever reason. They are the same old “what-if” questions that I have shared previously.

I am trying hard to contain these thoughts. It’s important that I address them or else I risk avoiding the anxiety and not really getting anywhere. I still get scared that I can’t handle this, but those thoughts are becoming more and more fleeting. I have this thing about me where when someone tells me that I can’t do something or I can’t have something, it only makes me try harder to do or get that something. Granted, no one has told me that I can’t have a baby, but after two months of unsuccessful attempts I am more fired up that ever.

That drive to get what I want has really done well by my anxiety disorder. It’s allowing me to enjoy this process and take charge of (as opposed to control) my world.

I suppose we’ll just have to wait and see what happens….

One Response to “I’ve Been Here Before”

  1. amy March 28, 2011 at 11:18 am #

    Hi 🙂

    First….so glad about T’s results!! I know that was a relief for sure, it’s nice to mark that off your list.

    I hear you on all those great things to eat! I’ve heard most of them before, but thank you for the other ideas. I love how passionate you are about the whole process 🙂 I don’t do caffeine either, at all, for obvious reasons 😉 But, I do like my wine…and that’s the only thing I’m “convicted” of in the whole TTC thing, but I know it has antioxidants LOL. I just hope it doesn’t hinder anything…and I only have maybe 2 glasses once or twice a week.

    I hope THIS is the month for you…keeping you in my prayers 🙂

Click Here to Comment

