News That is Both Good and Bad

3 Nov

Yesterday: I got the results back from my blood work. My prolactin has returned to normal. It is still at the high end of normal, but normal nonetheless. This means that I do not have Prolactinoma and that this is not the reason why we haven’t gotten pregnant. All of the rest of the tests they ran look great.

Today: I met with my endocrinologist to discuss my new test results, my BBT charts, and what happens next.

Test Results: Look great, as I said above. Absolutely no hormonal issues.

BBT Charts: Textbook. In fact, he said they look so great that if he didn’t know any better he would think they were fake. Clearly I am           ovulating and all of my hormones are doing their jobs at the appropriate time of the month. Progesterone levels appear to be right on target judging by the chart. No luteal phase defect or progesterone deficiency up in this body.

What Happens Next: Moving on to more invasive (and more expensive) possibilities. Now I make an appointment with a Reproductive Endocrinologist (RE) to run more tests on the “mechanics” of my reproductive system. Or at least that’s how my doctor phrased it. These tests include, but certainly are not limited to, making sure my fallopian tubes are clear and testing what happens when Tim’s sperm meets my CM. How do they do that, by the way?

Good News: All of the above. I am ovulating. All of my hormones are balanced and where they should be. Progesterone is present and accounted for.

Bad News: All of the above. We still don’t have an answer. My doctor said that had it been any of the aforementioned issues, then he could have simply prescribed medication to assist where my body was lacking. Now we’re back to the drawing board and no further than we were two months ago.

I guess that I am still processing this information. I mistakenly had my hopes up really high this morning. I really, really thought that we would leave that office with a solid plan that ended with pregnancy. I didn’t even think to prepare myself for no news. I’m great with good news. I eventually cope with bad news. But NO news? It’s doesn’t compute.

Onwards and upwards, I suppose.

2 Responses to “News That is Both Good and Bad”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Questions Without Answers « The Future Fords - June 19, 2012

    […] than later. I am well aware that this method has failed me before. I got my hopes up about the BBT charts, elevated prolactin, the potential uterine septum, the HSG, and my husband’s varicocele. I put […]

  2. An Informal Poll. I Need Your Advice. « The Future Fords - December 14, 2011

    […] -I made an appointment with an endocrinologist (not an RE) who had me start taking my BBT which he determined showed that I was ovulating and he called my charts “textbook.” […]

Click Here to Comment

