Baby Names

17 Nov

I recently found a new blog that I am kind of in love with. This blog strikes my fancy for many reasons, but mostly because I LOVE the names of her children because the same names are at the top of our potential baby name list…wow, I just used the word name a lot. Where’s my thesaurus when I need it?

Check her out: Dear Baby

Since Tim and I have tried to get pregnant for about 8 months*** naturally the topic of baby names has come up.

For as long as I an remember I have always wanted to name my daughter Harper. My favorite book growing up was To Kill A Mockingbird which is written by Harper Lee. Sometime in high school I decided that Harper would be the perfect name for my future daughter. This name has become super popular as of late (thanks Posh Spice and Neil Patrick Harris). I still absolutely love it, but will probably save it for my second daughter, should I be so lucky as to be blessed with one. While the popularization of Harper is certainly a factor in this decision, the main reason is Tim and I have settled on a name that feels so much more right in our hearts.

Everly.

A little over 6 years ago, my husband’s father passed away suddenly. I didn’t know him very well as my husband and I had only been dating about a year or so at that point. But I do know that he was an amazing man. Kind, generous, and always went out of his way to make me feel comfortable. And while my husband shares many qualities with is mother, he is truly an image of his father in both looks and demeanor. When we first started discussing baby names we decided that we wanted to honor his father in some way. Unfortunately, neither his father’s first nor middle name was very appealing to us, so we had to think outside the box. Turns out one of his favorite musical groups was the Everly Brothers, a band which my husband also loves. From there we decided that Everly would be the most perfect name for our first daughter. Her middle name would be Gray as a tribute to my side of the family. Gray is my mother’s maiden name. Everly Gray. Perfection.

Tim just informed a couple of days ago that his father also loved the Statler Brothers and that would be an even better fitting tribute. Statler as a name, however, didn’t sound quite so appealing to me. Although I must admit that it has grown on me over the past few days. Maybe as a boy’s name somewhere down the road?

Other girls names that we (and by “we” I mean me because we really haven’t agreed on any other names) like are: Quinn, Piper, Olive, Sawyer, Clementine, and Paisley. The latter two are mostly middle name contenders.

We have a much harder time with boys names. There just isn’t one that has seemed so clear to us, which brings me back to the new blog that I love, Dear Baby. Not only is her daughter named Everly, but also her son is named Arlo. Arlo was on the top of our boy’s name list for some time, tied with Milo. I think, however, that we are leaning towards Milo with a yet-to-be-decided middle name. Obviously this is okay since we have yet to even conceive either a boy or a girl.

Other boys names that we are muddling over: Jude, Oliver, and Sebastian. We also really like Knox, but my sister-in-law has already claimed it.

Please don’t think I am crazy. We certainly can’t be the only couple who discusses the names of their yet-to-be conceived children, right? Right?

It’s just that we dream about these children, our children each and every day. Imagining their names somehow makes it seem more real. Less if  it will happen, and more a matter of when. Giving them names makes it feel like they are simply waiting in the wings for us to be ready for them.

 

 

***I know this number changes slightly from time to time. This is because I’m not exactly sure how many months we have been trying. I think it’s been about 8, so I am just going with this number from here on out.

3 Responses to “Baby Names”

  1. Christina @ According To C November 18, 2011 at 10:00 am #

    I love your blog! We definitely have discussed baby names for our future children. The girls name was easy, Molly. But for some reason boy names are harder!! Why is that??

  2. K.Smitty November 17, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

    Oh yeah… I DEFINITELY have a list of names I like. Actually, I started poking around on TheBump.com and it has a thing that lets you browse names, and save them to your favorites, and even has a thing where you can ask people’s opinions if you’re deciding between a few! And I agree….boys names are harder for me too. Mostly because it feels like it’s harder to be original unless you go farther out of the box than I’m comfortable with.

    But how cool you found a name you both love that’s original and honors his dad!

    • Jenn November 17, 2011 at 6:58 pm #

      I will definitely have to check that out! Glad to see I’m not crazy 🙂

Click Here to Comment

