So Much To Do, So Little Time

21 Nov

My husband and I throw a Christmas party each year for all of our friends and this year will mark the seventh year of this tradition. On December 10th we will have 30 of our closest friends over for food, drinks, and general merriment. I love that it gives us an opportunity to host a party for our friends to show them how thankful we are to have them in our lives and I wouldn’t change that for anything in the world…BUT this means I have A LOT to do in the next 19 days. Aside from deep cleaning my house, cooking tons of food, decorating for Christmas, and preparing to host this party, I have many DIY projects on my to-do list that I would really like to finish before the party. I plan on posting about them here so you can look forward to before and after pics in the upcoming weeks.

1. The Basement

We are lucky to have nice, finished basement. Unfortunately this space has served as storage for the past year and it’s about time we get some use out of it. I purchased 6 yards of fabric so that I can make curtains for the sliding glass doors that lead to our backyard. I can’t find it online so you’ll just have to wait to see a picture. We’re going to paint the walls a plum color and get a gray slipcover for one of the couches. I think we are going to leave the other one white for now.

2. Basement Bathroom

This is my husband’s bathroom. I very rarely go in there because I am rarely in the basement. He’s responsible for cleaning and maintaining it, which also means he gets to decorate it as he pleases. He has chosen a space theme. On a side note, I must tell you that we have pretty bold, modern taste. We aren’t afraid of color, we love graphic geometric prints, and like to have fun when we decorate. That being said he’s picked out an interesting fabric for me to make him a shower curtain out of.

Enough said??? I have no idea what color he wants to paint the walls or when we’ll get around to that, but for now making a shower curtain out of this fabric in on my to-do list.

3. Kitchen

Our kitchen is pretty much finished, we just need somewhere to hang our keys. I spied this on Pinterest and my husband and I decided that we could definitely make it ourselves.

We have all the materials. Now it’s just a matter of sanding, painting, and putting it all together.

4. Powder Room

This project seems to be taking me forever to complete! This bathroom is pretty small and is located under the steps leading to the third floor so the ceiling is slanted. I have already painted the walls a pinky-purpley color now I need to do the stencil on the slanted wall and the wall behind the toilet. I have the stencil. I need to trace the pattern onto the wall and then hand paint what I draw. Trust me, this sounds way worse than it actually is.

5. Artwork

This is another great idea I found on Pinterest.

There is a seller on Etsy who makes these prints, but my husband and I decided we wanted to try it for ourselves. I already have the images. I just have to edit them, print them, frame them, and hang them. No big deal, right?

6. Dining Room

Our dining room joins our living room separated by a half wall. I have decided to tackle making my own pendant lamp to hang above the dining room table. I need to buy the light kit and a drum shade. I already have the tutorial and the fabric:

I think that’s it? It certainly seems like a lot, but I think I can accomplish it. Luckily, I have my husband’s help and a deadline I can use to my advantage. I’ll keep you posted as I check these items off of my list.

Any DIY project on your list?

3 Responses to “So Much To Do, So Little Time”

  1. K.Smitty November 21, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

    What a cool idea to host the party early in the season! That way, you’re not bidding for everyone’s time…I like it! Might have to follow suit when we get a bigger place.

    LOVE the key hooks with the flower in the glass jar…too cute! It’s not over-the-top feminine, but I love it when you can add a pretty thing in an unexpected place. Can’t wait to see the finished work of all your projects!

    • Jenn November 22, 2011 at 2:36 pm #

      Thanks! i just can’t wait to be finished with all of them…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. DIY Key Hanger « The Future Fords - December 15, 2011

    […] and we are truly lacking in that department. If you remember back to what seems like forever ago, I made plans to make this (and other) DIY projects. Well, I have accomplished most of them and will be sharing them in the upcoming […]

Click Here to Comment

