Hope.

29 Dec
 

Hope is the thing with feathers
That perches in the soul,
And sings the tune–without the words,
And never stops at all,

And sweetest in the gale is heard;
And sore must be the storm
That could abash the little bird
That kept so many warm.

I’ve heard it in the chillest land,
And on the strangest sea;
Yet, never, in extremity,
It asked a crumb of me.

-Emily Dickinson

I am at the part of my cycle where I find myself desperately clinging to hope. And yet, I find it dwindling as I get closer and closer to my period potentially arriving. My temperature dropped this morning. Not below my coverline, but close enough. I will most likely be getting my period sometime today or tomorrow. The sooner the better in my opinion, although I am still hoping that I am wrong. Or that my BBT chart is wrong. I still have hope, even if that makes me as foolish as Dickinson’s little bird.

2 Responses to “Hope.”

  1. TheStorkWhisperer December 30, 2011 at 5:44 am #

    I’ve always liked this poem and think it is suits us who are going through TTC every month. I particularly like how it talks about how hope never stops at all. We go through so many emotions each month including having hope, then losing it, and then getting it back. Hope is the thing that keeps us going when reality cannot sustain us.

    • Jenn December 30, 2011 at 7:28 am #

      I agree. The morning my temp dropped (it went back up again today!) this poem just popped into my head. I love how it talks about how hope is always there and expects nothing in return. It truly is what sustains us and gives us the strength to keep trying month after month.

Click Here to Comment

