HSG Test

4 Feb

So glad that is behind me. I was really dreading getting this test done mostly because I didn’t know how bad it would hurt, but also because I was afraid of what they would or would not find. Part me wanted to everything to be perfect. Another part of me wanted them to find something wrong, something easily treatable.

I spent the day all riled up with anxiety. I took one ibuprofen before I left the house and brought my anxiety medication….just in case. I ended up not taking the meds because with each step closer and closer to test I somehow found my anxiety dissipating. A little less once we actually got downtown. A little less once we got to the hospital and checked in. A little less while I waited in the waiting room. And then very little once I actually got back to the room where the procedure to be. I have a nasty habit of building these things up in my head, anticipating the worst, and then somehow pulling through with nary a panic attack. Anticipating is always the hardest part.

I can’t speak highly enough about how great everyone I encountered at Johns Hopkins was that day. From the girl that checked me in, to the nurse who held my hand, to the doctor that did the procedure, every single person was fantastic. The doctor gave me his full medical background and walked me through the procedure before he even started. Then he talked me through it the entire time he was doing it. It went quite a long way towards making me feel at ease.

Now, as for the test itself, it definitely hurt. But not nearly as bad as I had anticipated. It felt like one 3 minute long (really intense) menstrual cramp. But the whole thing, from start to finish, only took 5 minutes at the most. One the catheter (I think that’s what it’s called) was removed my uterus gave one more cramp for good measure to expel the dye and then that was it. Really, it wasn’t bad at all. Not that I want to do it again, but if I had to I know that I could do it with no problem.

Well except for the minor allergic reaction that I had later that night. I’m not 100% sure the reaction was due to the dye or not, but I did break out in a slight rash from my waist to my thighs, got a few hives, and was pretty itchy overall. Nothing a little Benedryl couldn’t help. It’s weird because I have never been allergic to anything before starting Zoloft. Now I get one hive every time I drink alcohol and I had this reaction to the HSG test. I guess my body chemistry is changing, let’s just hope it’s for the better.

Now onto the results: Everything was picture (or X-ray) perfect. The shape of my uterus was perfect, no septum to speak of. My fallopian tubes are wide open and also the perfect size. No polyps or any other abnormalities whatsoever. The doctor even asked me to sign a consent form to allow them to use the images from my HSG to teach med students what a textbook uterus and fallopian tubes should look like.

I’m really on the fence about these results. Like I said, a small part of me was hoping for a septum because it is both fixable and a cause for infertility. They could snip it off (obviously I know it’s more complicated than that) and then I could go on to get pregnant easily. As of now, here is where we stand with all the testing:

Hormone levels: textbook

Ovulation: textbook

BBT charts: textbook

Uterus and F. tubes: present and accounted for and textbook.

Seriously, I have heard that word EVERY. SINGLE. STEP of the way.

So can someone please explain to me why, if everything is so “textbook,” am I not pregnant yet?!?!

I don’t really know what the next step is. I have a prescription for Progesterone that I suppose I should fill and get started on this month. IF there is even anything to start this month. My husband will most likely be across the country for work during those ever so important days known as my fertile window.

Now, if you excuse me, I’m going to go bang my head against a wall. Hopefully that will be more productive than trying to get pregnant has been thus far.

10 Responses to “HSG Test”

  1. Amy February 6, 2012 at 9:32 pm #

    Howdy! Soo glad it went well Jenn!! A little uncomfortable, but not awful. I know what you’re saying about finding something; a reason why no baby yet. I do know that an HSG can not only be diagnostic but therapeutic as well…get er’ done girl, this procedure itself my do the trick! Hope you’re feeling ok 🙂

    • Jenn February 7, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

      Thanks 🙂 I read about that. I hope that’s the case!!!

  2. TheStorkWhisperer February 5, 2012 at 6:44 pm #

    Glad your test is finally over. Bet you are feeling happy to be done with it.

    • Jenn February 7, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

      So happy to be done!

  3. K.Smitty February 4, 2012 at 5:50 pm #

    I’ve been missing you, lady! I can empathize your frustration on the lack of answers but abundance of normal “textbook-ness.” I haven’t shared that experience, but I think I can guess how you feel.

    I am sorry to hear about your possible allergies! I do know how that goes. 😦 I’m hoping you still have a good shot this month! ***hugs***

    • Jenn February 4, 2012 at 6:02 pm #

      Thanks 🙂 sorry I have been MIA but I just haven’t had much to write about. Hopefully that will change soon because I miss chatting with everyone! Hope all is well with you!

      Sent from my iPhone

      • K.Smitty February 5, 2012 at 2:57 pm #

        Very understandable! Just glad to know you’re doing ok!

  4. Theresa February 4, 2012 at 5:49 pm #

    I may have missed where you had mentioned this before, but has hubby been tested yet?

    Glad your tubes are open, but frustrating they haven’t been able to find any real concrete reason you can’t get pregnant.

    • Jenn February 4, 2012 at 6:00 pm #

      Yeah my husband was tested last March and he is totally fine. But our RE is having him test again just to be sure. He’ll be doing that next week.

      Sent from my iPhone

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Questions Without Answers « The Future Fords - June 19, 2012

    […] I got my hopes up about the BBT charts, elevated prolactin, the potential uterine septum, the HSG, and my husband’s varicocele. I put my trust in Clomid, trigger shots, acupuncture, IUIs, and […]

Click Here to Comment

