Weight Loss Advice Needed

9 Feb

I decided that since I am not pregnant I might as well try to get into the best shape as possible in the meantime. My ideal weight is 125 pounds and I have 7 more pounds to go until I meet my goal. I have already lost 8 pounds and it came off rather easily through diet and exercise. For the past month I have been counting my calories using My Fitness Pal, which is seriously the best app ever. Check it out….I have been eating between 1000 and 1200 calories per day. I have also been going to the gym and doing cardio 3-5 times per week for 30-45 minutes each time.

The problem is that I haven’t lost a single pound in the last week despite my best efforts. Not a single additional pound! I know that those last few pounds can be quite difficult to take off, but I am at a loss at to what I can be doing to help that happen as fast as possible.

So, any advice to help me lose those last 7 pounds? Much appreciated!

xoxo

11 Responses to “Weight Loss Advice Needed”

  1. Jenn February 19, 2012 at 8:07 pm #

    I thought I would just give you guys a quick update…I tried a lot of your advice this past week. I upped my calorie intake every other day so as to keep my body guessing and I started eating every two hours while paying close attention to fat intake. Well, something worked. I lost two more pounds!! Thanks so much 🙂

  2. futuresoccermom February 12, 2012 at 7:33 am #

    Just found your blog – glad I did! I probably can’t offer too much advice on weight loss as I suck at it myself, but I would like to lose about 10-15, and I’ve just started with the MFP app as well. I suck at that, too! Anyway, good luck with your progress, and I’m signing up to follow your journey!

    • Jenn February 12, 2012 at 10:28 am #

      Thanks for following! I’m going to hop over and check out your blog too 🙂

  3. Melissa February 11, 2012 at 9:12 pm #

    Have you tried using a pedometer? You are meant to do 10 000 steps a day to maintain your weight (not put on, not loose). If you are trying to loose weight you need to do 15 000 steps a day.
    How many are you doing?
    Food + excerise

    • Jenn February 12, 2012 at 10:28 am #

      I don’t have a pedometer, but perhaps I will pick on up. Thanks for the advice!

  4. K.Smitty February 10, 2012 at 7:44 pm #

    Yep. Been exactly where you are. And can a fellow shortie (5’1″!) just add that 1200 calories a day sucks and it’s hard to lose and eat less than that. I feel your pain!!!

    What I can say is that the only thing that has really helped me is learning my body. I agree that the kind of food you eat matters and it’s not all about calories, but every body is different too. Personally, my body doesn’t handle fat well. I will lose more weight if I go as low fat as possible. The average person consumes upwards of 60 to 80 grams of fat per day, while the average person on a diet hovers around 30 to 40. I don’t do well if I go over 20. Doesn’t matter if it’s good fat or bad fat, my body just seems to hold on to every ounce. I’m not saying this will work for you, but if MyFitnessPal tells you that info, (fat vs. carbs vs. protein) maybe start tracking that info as well on top of calories and see if you find a pattern that worked well for you.

    I also love the theory of eating every 2 to 3 hours to keep your metabolism going, but that didn’t work for me either. I only eat when I’m hungry, which is usually only between the hours of 9 AM and 4 PM. I know that sounds weird, but if I eat when I’m not hungry, just because it’s dinner time or just because it’s lunch time, it’s not good for me.

    I guess my point is, learn all the tips and advice you can, but ultimately, remember that not every piece of really good advice will work for you, so pay closer attention to the details and learn what does and stick to it.

    A final reminder….even while doing what works, everyone will plateau every now and then. Especially if you’re exercising. You may be building muscle while burning fat, which won’t show up on the scale but will in your pants! If you’re new to My Fitness Pal or anything like it, there are other amazing websites out there with lots of tips and advice. I lost all the weight for my wedding with a site called The Daily Plate, which is now owned by livestrong.com. I also was on SparkPeople.com for a while too. Both are filled with amazing articles that are very informative. Good luck! (Whew, sorry for the long comment!)

    • Jenn February 10, 2012 at 9:06 pm #

      I have such a hard time consuming 1200 calories! I just I just don’t eat that much. Especially now with the meds I am barely ever hungry, so I have to force myself to eat and it is much less frequent than every 2 hours. But I will try 🙂

      I think I am also going to switch up my gym routine. Thanks SO MUCH for the advice lady!!!

  5. amy February 10, 2012 at 11:07 am #

    I totally agree with KatyBug…sounds strange, but my husband is so serious about the eating every two hour thing to keep your metabolism at optimal pace. I, for some reason, MUST eat every two hours or else I starve…not sure what that’s about. I try and eat as healthy as possible as well, but sometimes that doesn’t always happen. I’m 5’0 (SHORTY) and I’m 123…so I have a good 10 lbs to lose myself. I was 109 when we got married, much better for my petite frame. I love myfitnesspal too…pretty awesome. I think you should totally eat something every 2 hours and keep up with the workout…it will come off…but I also think you probably don’t have too much to lose either, you sound good size to me 😉

    • Jenn February 10, 2012 at 1:35 pm #

      Ok, I will definitely try eating every two hours. I’m pretty terrible about eating breakfast.

      I had no idea you were so short 🙂

      I was 115 on my wedding day, which was good because I have a very small frame too, but I would be happy to just get down to 125. Hopefully I can do it!! Thanks for the advice 🙂

  6. KatyBug February 10, 2012 at 8:27 am #

    GIRL. You are way (way way way WAY) under your calorie needs. I know it sounds counterintuitive to eat more and lose weight, but I am positive your body is in metabolism shutdown — it basically thinks you have no access to food, so it’s hanging on to fat.

    I would google your active metabolic rate, STAT, and get a sense of what you need to consume to lose, maintain or gain. The very minimum any woman should be eating is 1,200 calories a day and that’s still pretty low. That’s for non-active, sedentary people.

    Step 1) Eat more. Trust me. Try it for a week and if you aren’t convinced, I’ll get off my soap box.

    Step 2) What kind of foods are you eating? Weight loss is calories in/calories out so you can lose weight eating junk food and gain weight eating veggies. BUT to me, weight loss is not really the goal — health is. I eat super clean, with no processed sugars or grains, limited caffeine and lots of organic, fresh fruits and vegetables and whole grains.

    Look into the timing of your food, too. Are you having a little protein before/after your workout?

    • Jenn February 10, 2012 at 9:59 am #

      I looked it up and I should eat 1135 calories per day to lose 1 pound per week. I’m short, only 5’3″, so maybe that has something to do with it being so low?

      I have been eating very healthy…whole grains and lots of fruits and veggies. I cut down on sugar unless it comes from fruit or something natural. I don’t drink caffeine at all and I usually work out right before eating dinner so my workout is followed by some kind of lean protein.

      I will try eating more and see what happens. Thanks so much for your advice!!!!

Click Here to Comment

