Clomid Update and March Photo Challenge Day #4

4 Mar

* I’m doing things a little backwards today, but I will be back later with Challenge day #3.

**Warning: this post does contain a picture of an ultrasound, but I promise there are no babies in it…yet

I had my cycle day 10 ultrasound this morning to see how well the Clomid worked. Turns out my body responded very well because there are four follicles in there! FOUR! One is on my right side currently measuring 12mm. The other three are on my left side measuring 12mm, 15mm, and 17mm. The RE said that my lining was a little thin, but he wasn’t too concerned about it since I’m only on CD10. I go back on Tuesday (CD12) for another ultrasound to see how the follicles matured, bloodwork to check my hormone levels, and an HCG trigger shot.

In honor of today’s Photo Challenge I snapped this picture of the ultrasound machine with my phone. My uterus (and one of my follicles) “illuminated” onto the ultrasound machine:

I’m a little nervous…the RE said that if they had found more than four follicles he would recommend abandoning this cycle due the high risk of multiples. Seeing as there are only(?) four, the choice is entirely up to us as long as we are prepared for the chance of multiples. Obviously, we would prefer a singleton pregnancy as they are the safest with the most predictable outcome. I could get on board with twins, but triplets or quadruplets? It makes me nauseous to even think about. 4 newborns, 4 times the diapers, 4 college tuitions! I don’t know that we could afford that, financially psychically, or emotionally.

On the other hand, I am beyond elated that the Clomid worked. I don’t want to abandon this cycle for many reasons:

1. Whose to say the same thing won’t happen if we tried again next month?

2. It’s taken me a long 15 months to even get to this point. I don’t want to abandon my first real chance at getting pregnant.

3. It would also be a lot of money down the drain. Ultrasounds ain’t cheap!

4. Triplets and quads are so very rare. Four follicles doesn’t necessarily mean four babies. It just means that we have to be aware of the possibility.

5. And this might be the strangest one of all…I already feel some kind of strange attachment to these follicles. Somehow seeing them on the screen made them feel so real. And made me feel so hopeful. After all of the disappointment over the past year that was beyond my control, it seems silly to choose to not take advantage of our situation.

Tim and I definitely have some difficult decisions to make in the next couple of days.

I know that the majority of people that read my blog are infertile and have yet to experience a pregnancy to full term. However, in the off chance that you are reading this and have acheived a successful pregnancy with the aid of Clomid, could you kindly tell me about your experience? How many follicles did you have and how many babies did they produce? Seriously, any insight would be much appreciated.

So, that’s where we are now. I should have another update on Tuesday as far as how many actual eggs are in there and what my hormones are looking like. Wish me luck!!! But this time, I ask that you only keep two of your fingers crossed πŸ˜‰

 

16 Responses to “Clomid Update and March Photo Challenge Day #4”

  1. jell jell @ I'll Sleep When They're Grown March 7, 2012 at 9:15 am #

    One of my best friends had to use in-vitro fertilization (because her partner is female) and she had to take something like Clomid to up her chances. She, too, had several follicles that were ready and her doctor said to just go for it. She ended up with just one baby and it turned out just fine. I say you should go for it, too!

  2. amy March 5, 2012 at 11:50 am #

    Hmmm…very interesting!! Sounds like you are having a great ovulation Jenn! I think it’s awesome that you get monitored so much, even with my IUI’s I only got one US before I started the meds and one mid-cycle to ensure I wasn’t super ovulating. It’s good to know you will have another one before you start the baby dance πŸ˜‰ But, girl, I’m at the point in my infertility that I would just do it….however, I wouldn’t want triplets or quads….that doesn’t help much, lol! Keep us posted!!

  3. A Sweet Life March 4, 2012 at 6:58 pm #

    Hi – I just read your post, and am not familiar with your situation yet (have to go back and read some of your previous posts) but is this your first time on Clomid? My RE will most likely have me starting on Clomid next cycle. Hopefully I wont have to, and I will be a BFP in the next few days, but I am not counting on it.

    How was it – did you have any side effects that you didnt like?

    Isnt it awesome when you see more than 1 follicle on the screen — I think “oooo look at the potential!!” This past cycle I produced 2 follicles on my own – crazy!! The RE said – that is how you make twins! Duh!

    Alright, Im going to go check out your past posts!

    • Jenn March 4, 2012 at 7:37 pm #

      Welcome! This is my first time trying Clomid. We pretty much have unexplained infertility. I actually do ovulate on my own, but I guess the Clomid is supposed to make bigger, better eggs.

      The Clomid really wasn’t too bad. I had a headache for 3 days, but it was really just more annoying than painful. I was also a little more emotional than usual, but I would definitely try it again…although I would rather get a BFP this month instead.

      I hope the same for you! My fingers will definitely be crossed for your BFP!!!

  4. Ess March 4, 2012 at 5:06 pm #

    Hi! I’m glad to have found your blog and very interested to follow your journey. I’m on my second round of clomid at the moment. I ovulated on CD15 first cycle but it resulted in a BFN. No sign of O yet this month (CD16). I’m not being monitored throughout my cycle but do have a ‘check-in’ ultrasound later this week. Interesting how some docs opt for close following while others don’t…

    • Jenn March 4, 2012 at 7:39 pm #

      Welcome!! I am so glad that my doctor is monitoring everything so closely. I love getting the ultrasounds as uncomfortable as it may be. It is just so fascinating to see what’s going on inside my body. Fingers crossed that you O this month and soon πŸ™‚

  5. K.Smitty March 4, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

    Yay for Clomid working! I haven’t been on it so can’t give you advice, but based on other blogs I read, another factor to consider is that, if you don’t get pregnant this cycle and do clomid again next month, depending on your doc, you may or may not get an ultrasound next month so it may be worth asking. But something to consider is that, if you don’t get an u/s next month they your doctor may assume that you’ll have a comparable amount of follicles next month too. And in that case, I’d be asking my doc about what’s the difference between this month and next month? Just a thought. Whatever happens, I’m sending lots of good vibes your way!

    • Jenn March 4, 2012 at 7:40 pm #

      Thanks lady! I didn’t even think about that possibility. But you’re right, who ever knows what will happen next month? I *think* we have decided to just go ahead and see what happens. We don’t have to BD before the next u/s on Tuesday so by then we’ll have a better idea of how many eggs are inside those follicles. xoxo

  6. futuresupermom March 4, 2012 at 12:20 pm #

    I have not gotten pregnant from clomid..yet. That said, if I were in your shoes, as I’ve never been pregnant before I would go for it. But it would be a bit of a difficult decision. I think it’s great that you are being monitored so well! I am not. My RE just gives me the clomid and if I’m lucky I get a blood test. That’s it though, no ultrasounds. So right this second I could have any number of follicles growing and have no idea! Think it over, but if I were you I’d go for it.

    • Jenn March 4, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

      I’m suprised that your RE didn’t monitor you at all. What if you had 10? Or worse, 0? I would think that he/she would want to know the best way to proceed. Have you every asked the RE about monitoring? I think we are going to end up going for it. It seems silly to let this pass us by. Besides triplets or more are soooo rare.

  7. veetamia March 4, 2012 at 12:15 pm #

    Congrats!! The first time I took Clomid I got 5 follicules and our RE cancelled w/o giving us an option. We didn’t trigger with meds but we did have sex (….the nurse was pretty upset about that!), but we had the same mindset that you did: all that time to get to that point and then abandon the ship?! We didn’t get pregnant though…so even that many follicules can result in 0 pregnancy – we do have male infertility, so that’s a challenge in itself. (I’m just sharing my experience, I don’t mean any negative vibes).
    I’d say go for it!! We never know what’ll happen, and in my opinion, I think it’s better to take the chance than not πŸ™‚

    • Jenn March 4, 2012 at 7:44 pm #

      I think I agree with you…it’s my husband who needs the convincing. He is TERRIFIED of having more than two babies πŸ™‚ But like you said, there is still the chance that zero babies come out of this. I truly think the benefits outweigh the risks. We’ll get a much better idea on Tuesday as to what’s really going on in there….Thanks!!!

  8. robin March 4, 2012 at 11:42 am #

    I had three follicles and I currently have 2 embryos in my uterus. When I had my CD10 ultrasound they saw four follicles and told us not to have sex. We waited a few more days and I had another ultrasound, and saw I had two big follicles and one medium one, so we decided to chance it. Hello, twins!

    The thing is, carrying multiples means a lot more than just eventually having a lot of babies all at one time, which I am now really really coming to realize. It is more dangerous, has a less certain outcome (higher rates of having to spend time in the NICU after birth), and also a higher risk of miscarriage/stillbirth, especially for some reason in the 2nd trimester. Also increased risk of gestational diabetes and other maternal issues. So, no matter how excited I am to be pregnant and am looking at potentially two children at the same time, all of this is freaking me out to the Nth degree.

    Have you tried Clomid before or is this your first cycle? If it’s your first, this is what I would do if I were in your situation (knowing what I know now) – don’t have sex until your next ultrasound and if you have 2 eggs, go for it, and if you have 3, well… consider it carefully!

    • Jenn March 4, 2012 at 7:49 pm #

      Thanks so much for weighing in Robin, I was really hoping that you would as I have been following your journey as well. So happy that you are having twins!!!

      I did a lot of research today on the risks of triplets and it terrified me. It just isn’t healthy for me or for the babies. And as much as I want a baby, I want a healthy baby even more. Plus, I’m a pretty small girl and I just don’t think my body is meant to carry that many babies. That being said, I know there are options should three or more embryos implant. They aren’t easy options to consider, but they do exist. I guess that’s another post for another time.

      Luckily we don’t need to BD before my next ultrasound unless I get a positive OPK test tomorrow. The doctor said to go for it if I do. At some point I guess I have to let the professionals take over as long as I am aware of the consequences.

      Thanks again!!! And lots of happy thoughts for you!! I remembered not to use the “c” word πŸ™‚

      • robin March 5, 2012 at 11:43 am #

        Yeah my husband and I talked at length about the options should there be 3 or more embryos, but then when the day of the ultrasound came (and we would find out how many were in there) I don’t honestly know if we could have made those decisions. Thank Gd there were “only” 2. Even 2 is scary enough!

        Good luck on the ultrasound!!!! (And thank you for humoring my superstition hehehe)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Questions Without Answers « The Future Fords - June 19, 2012

    […] the potential uterine septum, the HSG, and my husband’s varicocele. I put my trust in Clomid, trigger shots, acupuncture, IUIs, and progesterone suppositories. All of which has led me nowhere. […]

Click Here to Comment

