TTC Update and March Photo Challenge Day #6

7 Mar

6:30 am: I reluctantly get out of bed 2 hours earlier than normal to get to the sonogram clinic by 7:30. I am pleasantly surprised to find that my husband has set his alarm to get up early and come with me!

7:30 am: Arrive to clinic and wait to be seen.

7:40 am: Legs in stirrups…still 4 follicles present and all but one are measuring large enough to be potential babies. The doctor explains that I will need to go have blood drawn to have my FH levels checked to see whether I need the HCG trigger shot or if I will ovulate on my own.

7:50 am: I head out, prescription is hand, uterus full of big, beautiful eggs.

7:55 am: Get blood drawn. In and out. Easy peasy.

8:00 am: Drop prescription off at the only pharmacy in the area that can fill it just in case I end up needing it. Head home.

8:15-9:00 am: Lay on the couch and wish I could fall back asleep if only for a little while. It never happens.

9:00 am: Get up and get ready for work.

10:00 am: Get to work and try to accomplish some thing even though my head is somewhere else.

11:00 am: Doctor calls with FH level results. It’s low. A 5.6 when they were hoping it would be around 25. Doesn’t look like I will ovulate on my own. The good news is that we may have found the “problem.” It’s likely that my body is producing healthy eggs but they aren’t being released from their follicles. The trigger shot should take care of that.

11:10 am: Call the pharmacy to tell them to go ahead and fill my prescription.

11:30 am: Pharmacy calls back to tell me that I will have to pay for it out pocket because my insurance doesn’t cover it.

work work work work work

3:00 pm: Race to the pharmacy and back on my 30 minute lunch break because I don’t get off work until 6 and that’s when the pharmacy closes and I need that shot TONIGHT!

3:35 pm: 5 minutes late back from lunch. No one seems to notice.

6:00 pm: Head out for happy hour with my 3 best ladies. MUCH NEEDED!! After the day I had, I’m not lying when I say that mojito was the best thing I had ever tasted. The nachos didn’t hurt either…..

9:00 pm: Get home from happy hour/dinner with the ladies and hop in the shower.

9:30 pm: Husband gets home, gives me the trigger shot in my stomach. We get it on and I go straight to bed, more than ready to put this day behind me.

Which brings me to:

Sorry for the terrible phone picture…

Everything about this photo represents “Challenge” to me. The challenge of trying to get pregnant. The challenge of stress-filled days, months, and years. The challenge of letting my husband inject me with a needle. Last time I checked, he does not have a medical license. But like most challenges, we got through this one. Together.

This photo also represents hope to me. Hope that it might actually work. Hope that my eggs are currently getting busy. Hope that I can get through two more nights of baby making because let me tell you. that was a challenge in and of itself. I guess one of the side effects of the Clomid is what it does to your lady parts. The side effects don’t exactly make baby dancing the easiest or most fun/pleasurable thing in the world. And yet, we march on. Thank goodness for Pre-Seed πŸ™‚ And that’s all I have to say about that.

On Friday I start the progesterone suppositories for the remainder of this cycle.

And then we wait….

11 Responses to “TTC Update and March Photo Challenge Day #6”

  1. amy March 8, 2012 at 1:05 pm #

    Preseed is def an IF girl’s best friend…Clomid was baaad to me in that way as well. I’m so excited and hopeful as well…girl, if it weren’t for HOPE, we’d be lost little souls! I always took my shot in the butt/hip area, haven’t heard of the stomach…but it all goes to the same place! Have you heard of the Instead cups? And I feel like I may have asked you this before? I’ve used them and it seems like a neat idea, obviously it hasn’t worked for me, but I see where it could be really beneficial for TTC. Anywho, can’t wait to follow you the next couple weeks. PRAYING AND CROSSING WHATEVER NEEDS TO BE CROSSED πŸ˜‰

    • Jenn March 8, 2012 at 1:35 pm #

      I have heard of the instead cups and I actually tried them for a couple of month. Obviously, they didn’t work for me either but that could be for a number of reasons. Perhaps I should try them again? THANKS soooo much!!! xoxo

  2. Belle March 8, 2012 at 6:01 am #

    The shots are hard at first. I sincerely hope that plan A works out and you never have to become a pro at them πŸ™‚

    And I second, third, whatever to preseed! It is the IF gals best pal!

    • Jenn March 8, 2012 at 12:34 pm #

      Thanks so much Belle!!! We’re really hoping for Plan A as well. But even if that doesn’t work out we know that we might have at least figured something out. I have a good feeling about this month πŸ™‚

  3. robin March 8, 2012 at 12:23 am #

    I ❀ PreSeed. IT IS THE BEST. I think I actually prefer it to regular kinds, even for non baby-making sexy time. Maybe that's TMI!

    I hated giving myself those shots. I definitely felt the same way – I am totally not supposed to be giving injections! I asked the nurse, can't I die if I have an air bubble in it or something? She replied, don't have an air bubble in it. THANKS.

    GOOD LUCK!!!

    • Jenn March 8, 2012 at 10:36 am #

      I totally agree wit you! I like it better than other kinds as well. I thought about the air bubble…and the horror stories I’ve heard. We definitely made sure there was no air bubble in it! Thanks πŸ™‚

  4. K.Smitty March 7, 2012 at 9:45 pm #

    GREAT post! How amazing would this be if, A: you get pregnant with ONE baby this month or B: you don’t get pregnant but they figure out that your problem is low FSH and have a brilliant plan for you for next month? My fingers and toes are crossed for plan A. Xoxo

    • Jenn March 7, 2012 at 10:02 pm #

      Thanks lady! I would gladly accept either of those options! But I really really hope it’s plan A! I need an update on your ttc status πŸ™‚ I feel like I haven’t heard anything about that or Sunday school lately…. Thinking about you πŸ™‚

      Sent from my iPhone

  5. futuresupermom March 7, 2012 at 8:40 pm #

    Amen to preseed!!! It’s a godsend. Good luck to you!!

    • Jenn March 7, 2012 at 8:50 pm #

      It so is! Thanks πŸ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. MPC Day 8: Heal | Daydreaming in Progress… - March 9, 2012

    […] -Jenn,Β  Danielle, and A from Operation: Baby are on the clomid train and are hopeful […]

Click Here to Comment

