Achooo….Excuse Me, My Uterus Seems To Have Caught a Cold

30 Mar

I went to my first acupuncture appointment two days ago. All in all, it was quite interesting. She asked a lot of poignant questions and even took my pulse using some bizarre three-finger method and then looked at my tongue.

In the end, she “diagnosed” me with a cold in my uterus. Huh? Yeah, I said the same thing. Apparently, “cold feet equal a cold uterus” and my feet are ALWAYS cold! Really though, I’m pretty sure this just amounts to poor circulation, but I decided to just go with it. It can’t hurt, right?

I mean, I’ve tried BBT, OPK, timed BD, and every other acronym you can think if. I’ve tried Clomid, HCG trigger shots, and progesterone. And I’m about to add IUI to that list. Remedying the cold in my uterus certainly couldn’t hurt matters, right?

Basically, I have been instructed to stop consuming anything that is cold. No more salads or ice water. Everything must be cooked or at room temperature. It’s harder than one would think to consume beverages at room temperature; they are almost always served cold. Somehow, I have been managing. She also encouraged me to keep my feet covered at all times. Yesterday I wore tights, socks, and my boots to work….did I mention it was 70 degrees outside? Today I purchased knee-high stockings we wear with my shoes so that my feet stay a little warmer. I feel like I am 80, but in all honestly, they really make my shoes much more comfy. This may or may not be something I continue to do even once the cold clears up. I’ve even been sleeping with socks on! Now you must imagine that for someone who sleeps in the buff this is neither very comfortable nor very attractive.

Look at me…already making sacrifices for my unborn child(ren). I’m going to be such a good Mom πŸ™‚ And you better believe that they will hear about it one day!

So, that’s that. I’m not sure if I will proceed further with acupuncture or not. I’m having a hard time determining whether it is helpful or not. Has anyone else had a really good experience with it? And by really good experience, I mean, has acupuncture led directly to the conception and subsequent birth of a healthy child? Yeah, I know that’s blunt…but it’s exactly what I am wondering right now….

My RE had me get a TB test because I was apparently exposed to it as a child. I got the test done today and then I go back on Monday to have it read. Apparently, TB can cause infertility if it travels to the uterus. But like I said, I’m sure I don’t have it. I’ve been working with children for the previous 10 or so years so I must have been tested along the way even if I don’t remember it.

Other than that, I have a sonogram bright and early on Monday morning to see how many follicles my BFF (clomid) and I managed to produce this month. Wish me luck! We’re hoping for three or four!

Happy Weekend Loves!

 

21 Responses to “Achooo….Excuse Me, My Uterus Seems To Have Caught a Cold”

  1. Roxxroxx April 1, 2012 at 8:03 am #

    I love this post, but I would imagine that scientifically there isn’t much evidence that your uterus has ‘a’ cold… Lol. It is true that due to correctly functioning hormones the temp of the uterus is important, but I don’t know about socks etc will do the trick! X

  2. Lyndell March 31, 2012 at 10:31 pm #

    It’s good to try different things, so well done. I tried hypnotherapy – nothing like it sounds, I didn’t leave the office clucking like a chook whenever someone clicked their fingers, but I just learnt relaxation techniques and visualisations – did it work? well I am currently pregnant and all is going well πŸ™‚

    • Jenn April 1, 2012 at 12:52 pm #

      Congrats on the pregnancy!! Hypnotherapy sounds interesting…maybe something to add to the list?

      • Lyndell April 1, 2012 at 6:36 pm #

        maybe πŸ™‚ stress was a huge issue for me and that’s what we focused on, I am a tad less neurotic now haha

  3. robin March 31, 2012 at 10:21 pm #

    It is really hard not eating anything cold! I guess give it a try and see how long you can / want to keep it up. I’m not eating any cold meat and that is actually REALLY hard! So anyway, my point is, give it a try, see how it goes, if it is totally impossible then don’t feel bad about reassessing.

    • Jenn April 1, 2012 at 12:53 pm #

      Yeah, I’ve already had a few cold drinks. It is much harder than it sounds! Thanks πŸ™‚

  4. operationbaby2012 March 31, 2012 at 6:22 pm #

    I reckon if it relaxes you then it’s worth it, for me I think the cost would put me off (and undo all the relaxation!)

    • Jenn March 31, 2012 at 7:11 pm #

      That’s pretty much how I am feeling. It was too expensive for my tatse and to be honest, it didn’t even relax me all that much.

  5. K.Smitty March 31, 2012 at 12:41 pm #

    I have actually heard of this before and suspected I might have the same problem, but convinced myself I didn’t for some reason or another. I am ALWAYS cold but it’s not my feet. It’s my neck/shoulder area. Nonetheless, I do find myself preferring warmer foods lately, even though it’s clearly already summer in Florida, with 80 degree temps by 9AM.

    It’s worth a try! If it works for you this month, I’m definitely gonna try it next month! πŸ™‚

    • Jenn March 31, 2012 at 5:25 pm #

      I don’t care what works just as long as SOMETHING does! I’ll keep you posted.

      Sent from my iPhone

  6. veetamia March 31, 2012 at 11:02 am #

    Love this post! ja,ja can’t hurt right?

    • Jenn March 31, 2012 at 5:24 pm #

      That’s what I’m hoping πŸ™‚

      Sent from my iPhone

  7. Ess March 31, 2012 at 10:31 am #

    Wishing you heaps of luck this month!! I’ve been doing acupuncture for about three months now and have really enjoyed the relaxation aspect. Interesting about her diagnosis of cold uterus. I definitely have poor circulation – cold hands and cold feet. However, isn’t there that nice saying about cold hands – warm heart. Hope you have a great weekend too.

    • Jenn March 31, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

      Thanks so much! That’s the other strange thing…. I had a very difficult time relaxing. My mind just kept wandering.

      Sent from my iPhone

  8. Shelley Greenberg March 31, 2012 at 9:05 am #

    For what it’s worth, I did about two months of acu back in early 2011. They said the same thing about my uterus, because my feet and hands are usually cold. I think over those two months they did get a little warmer but I did not conceive while going. I did find my treatments relaxing but they were expensive and a hike for me so I stopped. Also, the herbs were yuck. I think they recommended 3 months to see the benefit though. Depending on the outcome of the natural cycle we’re currently on btwn IUIs, I might go see a reflexologist in the area that has been recommended to me. I no longer think these additional therapies hold my lost key to fertility but I look at the reflexology as a nice foot rub that may help my circulation! And, for what it’s worth, I do still try to keep my feet warm during the 2WW especially. Can’t hurt!

    • Jenn March 31, 2012 at 5:27 pm #

      Thanks for the honest reply! It’s a bit expensive for my taste as well. But it really doesn’t put me out too much to keeps feet warm, so I’ll give it a try πŸ™‚

    • Jenn April 2, 2012 at 3:01 pm #

      Thanks for the reply! I’ll be trying to keep my feet as warm, it certainly can’t hurt??? But I don’t think I’ll be going back for acupuncture, I didn’t really find it all that relaxing. A massage sounds like a much better use of my time πŸ™‚

  9. operationbaby2012 March 31, 2012 at 8:52 am #

    and by acupincture, I of course mean acupuncture!

  10. operationbaby2012 March 31, 2012 at 8:51 am #

    That’s hillarious – I’m not medically qualifed (in any way whatsoever) but I’m fairly confident your uterus does not have a cold! I’ve wondered about acupincture as well and if anyone feels it’s actually worked. I guess it’s all good if it makes people feel relaxed…

    • Jenn March 31, 2012 at 5:28 pm #

      You’re right. It can’t hurt, right?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Questions Without Answers « The Future Fords - June 19, 2012

    […] septum, the HSG, and my husband’s varicocele. I put my trust in Clomid, trigger shots, acupuncture, IUIs, and progesterone suppositories. All of which has led me nowhere. I’m a textbook case […]

Click Here to Comment

