I Just Shot Up In The Bathroom At Work

3 Apr

Talk about awkward…

I had another sonogram and more blood work done this morning. Still four follicles in there. Two that are already large enough, one that is a little smaller but could be large enough by the time I ovulate, and one that is probable too small. Great numbers and odds in my opinion! My blood work came back that my LH was still really low (6.6). It didn’t change from yesterday and this is the second month in row that my LH levels were low indicating that I might not be releasing eggs on my own. The RE explained that it doesn’t necessarily mean that I’m not releasing eggs on my own, just that I’m not doing it within their ideal time frame.

Enter the Ovidrel. I raced to the pharmacy and back in my 30 minute lunch break, refrigerated the shot in my lunchbox in the staffroom fridge, and removed it an hour and half before I used it in order to bring it room temperature. Then I put on my big girl panties (or slid them down, rather) and injected myself right in the stomach in the bathroom at work. I had to take the shot between 4pm and 6pm and I don’t get off work until 6, so I really had no other choice.

Now it’s home to attempt baby-making the natural way ASAP! Then IUI first thing Thursday morning.

I’ve called in favors to everyone I know (that is aware of our situation) to either pray for me or keep their fingers crossed, depending on what it is they believe in. I even called my friend who believes that she talks to our spirit guides. Gotta cover all my bases, right?????

According to Dr. Google, I have about a 25% of getting pregnant this cycle with 4 follicles. I’m going to try and ignore that number for now.

15 Responses to “I Just Shot Up In The Bathroom At Work”

  1. Christina @ According To C April 5, 2012 at 11:46 am #

    Excellent odds! My fingers are crossed for you!

    • Jenn April 5, 2012 at 11:51 am #

      Thanks so much!! Hope you are doing well!!

  2. searching for middle ground April 4, 2012 at 11:26 am #

    Sending up prayers all day and crossing everything I possibly can!

    • Jenn April 4, 2012 at 11:33 am #

      Thank you so so so much!

  3. Roxxroxx April 4, 2012 at 6:27 am #

    Good luck! You are mre of a woman than I, managing to actually self-administer… I don’t know how I would have coped if A hadn’t been willing to do it. Thinking of you!

    • Jenn April 4, 2012 at 10:40 am #

      No other choice…just kept reminding myself that I had to do it for my baby šŸ™‚

  4. robin April 3, 2012 at 11:42 pm #

    That is exactly what my eggs were like! Two big ones, one medium one, and one itty bitty one… GOOD LUCK!!!!!

    • Jenn April 4, 2012 at 10:40 am #

      I’m telling you, I’m always 2 steps right behind you!! Thanks šŸ™‚

  5. Theresa April 3, 2012 at 9:47 pm #

    fingers crossed!!!

    • Jenn April 3, 2012 at 9:55 pm #

      Thank you thank you thank you!

      Sent from my iPhone

  6. TheStorkWhisperer April 3, 2012 at 7:51 pm #

    Shooting up in the bathroom sounds just like something I would do (with fertility drugs, of course, not the bad ones). Good luck with your cycle and treatments.

    • Jenn April 3, 2012 at 8:03 pm #

      Gotta do what you gotta do šŸ™‚ thanks!

      Sent from my iPhone

  7. K.Smitty April 3, 2012 at 5:44 pm #

    Whoo hoo! Proud of you for giving yourself the shot! I don’t know if I’d had the nerve, but then again, I guess you’ll never know what you’ll do until you know what you’re faced with.

    a 25% chance sounds good. I heard somewhere that, even with all the odds in your favor the average fertile couple really only has a 20% chance of conceiving every month, so in comparison with that, it looks like your odds just went up 5% which could be a good thing!!! Who knows, maybe it’s the edge you need! I’ll be praying for ya on Thursday!!

    • Jenn April 3, 2012 at 5:48 pm #

      I almost lost the nerve, but I just kept reminding myself that it was to help me get pregnant and that calmed me down so much! I read about the 20% for a perfectly fertile couple, as well. With all the people I know who get pregnant the first time they try, then maybe that 5% edge does boost my chances. I’ll think about it that way šŸ™‚ Thanks for the prayers!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Questions Without Answers « The Future Fords - June 19, 2012

    […] the potential uterine septum, the HSG, and my husband’s varicocele. I put my trust in Clomid, trigger shots, acupuncture, IUIs, and progesterone suppositories. All of which has led me nowhere. I’m a […]

Click Here to Comment

