April 30 Day Challenge–Days #1-10

10 Apr

on a side note before I begin…5DPO. 10 days until POAS!

DAY 1 – What is the meaning behind your blog name?

Well, if you don’t already know, my last name is Ford. When my husband and I were engaged everyone referred to us as the future Fords since we would be Mr. and Mrs. Ford once we got married. I just really liked it and it stuck out to me as I thought about who the Fords would be in the future. My husband and I will always be in the future, but what about our children? Are there anymore Future Fords to come?

DAY 2 – How did you and your partner decide when you were ready to start trying to conceive?

I don’t exactly remember…we bought our house about 4 months before we started trying. We naively thought it wouldn’t take us so long to get pregnant at all and that the fall would be a wonderful time to have a baby so we started trying in December. Little did we know…..

DAY 3:  What is in your handbag?

The question is, what ISN”T in my handbag? My bag is more of a giant purse than a handbag. I have my wallet, Kindle, medicine bag, keys, cell phone, snacks, bandaids, Burts Bees, gum, and so much more! I have a problem in that I am a notorious over-packer, which would be find if it didn’t bleed over into every aspect of my life including what I need when I leave the house. When I go to work I bring my giant purse, as well as another tote bag for my lunch, an extra pair of flats, a brush, and deodorant because well, you just never know. I really like to be prepared.

DAY 4 – Besides Mother’s Day, what is the toughest holiday for you as an infertile?

Christmas. I didn’t see it coming at all, but as my husband and I were decorating our tree this past December, I had a total breakdown. I couldn’t stop sobbing that “our baby should be here with us.” I was a blubbering fool who had absolutely no control over her emotions.

DAY 5:  List 15 facts about yourself.

1. I am a Taurus through and through.

2. I met my husband when I was 14. We became better friends a few years later when I was dating his best friend.

3. My favorite color is gray. I have to be really careful to not use gray in every single room in my house as well as in every item of clothing that I buy.

4. Thanks to my acupuncturist, I have become obsessed with keeping my feet warm. Last night I sat with two pairs of socks and a heating pad under a blanket and my feet still felt     cold! Currently, I am sitting at my desk with a space heater aimed directly at my feet. I am determined to make this go away.

5. I haven’t had caffeine in 8 years. I stopped drinking it when I started having panic attacks and haven’t looked back since.

6. Until about a month ago I had also never had anything decaf either. Recently, I discovered decaf iced mochas at Starbucks and I am obsessed.

7. I have a serious addiction to shopping. I have worked at my new job for two months now and have yet to repeat an outfit. I have worn a few of the same peices twice, but never the same outfit.

8. I prefer to write in blue ink over black ink.

9. I am the spitting image of my mother and I couldn’t be happier about it. Clearly I didn’t get her fertility so hopefully I least have her good genes.

10. I used to be a bellydancer. I took classes for three years and performed a couple of times.

11. The Gieco commercials where the guy is singing and the picture is all blue and white? Yeah, that’s my husband singing and I am so proud of him every time those commercials come on.

12. I have never been on a team sport in my life. I am so unbelievably unathletic.

13. My great-grandmother is 95, alive, and well. Besides being mostly blind, she is healthy as can be. I’m on the fence as to whether or not I want to live that long.

14. I love being outside, but I hate gardening. My husband is responsible for all the yard work at our house.

15. I drink so much during the day! On an average day, I have a juice box, hot lemon tea, 2 cups of room temperature decaf green tea, a cup of hot green tea, and about 4 additional cups of lemon water. It’s no wonder that I pee every hour!

DAY 6:  Talk about how you chose your RE (Reproductive Endocrinologist).

I pulled up my insurance’s website to see the REs that were closest to me. Turned out that the only REs in my network and in my immediate area were at a Johns Hopkins campus about 10 minutes from my house. From there, I called the office to schedule an appointment with whomever had the next available time slot. Turns out that it didn’t really matter anyway because the only time I have ever seen her was at my initial consultation. Since then her nurse practitioner calls me to deliver the RE’s messages and all my tests have been conducted by whoever was in the office that day.

DAY 7:  What is in your makeup bag?

My makeup bag doubles as my medicine bag so it has pressed powder, blush, oil blotting sheets, Clomid, progesterone, tylenol, zoloft, and my prenatal vitamins as well.

DAY 8:  If an observant stranger were to walk into your house, what clues could lead them to believe that you have struggled with infertility (fertility)?

OPKs and pregnancy tests in the bathroom trashcans. Progesterone wrappers and applicators in the trash. My copy of Taking Charge of Your Fertility. And most obviously, the lack of a baby.

DAY 9:  If you won the lottery what would you blow your money on (after charity and bills, of course)?  List 10 things you would buy or spend money on.

1.  A new car.

2. I’d let my husband purchase everything on his “want” list.

3. Charter my own private plane and go on an amazing tropical vacation.

4. I’d give some away to close family and friends.

5. Personal trainer.

6. Make an appointment with the best fertility doctor in the world…as soon as I determine who that is.

7. A decorator for my house.

8. Weekly full body massages.

9. A maid.

10. A house with a swimming pool and a pool boy.

DAY 10:  If you are no yet pregnant/a parent: What are you MOST and LEAST looking forward to after that first beta?

Most: The huge sigh of relief that I will be able to take. The smile on my husband’s face.

Least: The worry of hoping that the baby(ies) stick. Always something to worry about….

5 Responses to “April 30 Day Challenge–Days #1-10”

  1. jell jell @ I'll Sleep When They're Grown April 12, 2012 at 9:24 am #

    Grey is my go-to color too!

  2. Theresa April 10, 2012 at 9:56 pm #

    You’d love our living/dining room. I painted them gray!

    • Jenn April 10, 2012 at 10:26 pm #

      I would absolutely love it. You should post a picture!

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. laughingpromises April 10, 2012 at 8:17 pm #

    I totally looked up that commercial. So cool that that’s your hubby!

    • Jenn April 10, 2012 at 9:05 pm #

      Haha thanks! I’m very proud of him!

      Sent from my iPhone

Click Here to Comment

