Plans For the Future

7 May

I had an appointment with my RE on Friday to discuss my prognosis and to make a treatment plan. I’m a girl who needs to see a plan laid out before me. I have never been one to jump in head first and that feels like what I have been doing for the past few months. I have officially been diagnosed with unexplained infertility. Everything that they can possible test for looks fan-freakin-tastic and yet, it’s been 16 months and my eggo is still not preggo. Based on her recommendations we are faced with three options. I can’t really decide which is the best plan so I figured I would let you all weigh in.

Plan 1

1. 2 more months of 50 mg of Clomid in conjunction with IUI.

2. If that doesn’t get me pregnant, then 2 months of Femera (I think that’s what she said) in conjunction with IUI.

3. If I am STILL not pregnant, then a laproscopy even though I show no signs of endometriosis. But I guess you never know.

4. Depending on the results of the laproscopy then she will recommend a new treatment or suggest we move to IVF.

Plan 2

1. 2 more rounds of Clomid with IUI.

2. Laproscopy if I’m still not pregnant.

3. 2 rounds of Femara with IUI.

4. IVF

Plan C (a combination of the 2)

1. 1 more round of Clomid with IUI.

2. 1 round of Femara with IUI.

3. Laproscopy.

4. 2 rounds of Femara with IUI.

4. IVF

I realize that these are essentially the same plan but arranged in different orders. I just can’t decide which is best.

Either way I look at, I realize that I have about 6 months lefts to be treated before I am instructed to move onto IVF. I know that so many of you have gotten your BFPs through this wonderful intervention, but I just haven’t been able to let my mind go there yet. But 6 months seems so close. Too close. I don’t even know how I would begin to afford IVF without taking a serious amount of time to save up for it, thus prolonging this journey even further.

The only thing that I know for sure is that I am ready for my period to start so I can get back on Clomid and eagerly anticipate my IUI. Step one doesn’t change in any of these plans so it seems that May is as far out as I am able to think.

I just want answers. Why am I not pregnant? No one has been able to find anything wrong! It just doesn’t make any sense to me.

Blah. I ‘m so over it that I don’t even feel like writing about it. My brain is exhausted.

15 Responses to “Plans For the Future”

  1. amy May 10, 2012 at 10:51 am #

    Hmmm…lots to think about. I like a good plan, and I’m glad you are working on one! Not remembering (and too lazy to scroll up) which plan this would be…I say try a couple more IUI’s and then def explore endo. I explored it by chance (no symptoms really) and I had it everywhere except for my bowels, my doc “cleared” it up…but with no success for me. But I def think it’s worth looking into! Then try at least 1 or 2 more IUI’s…if no success…IVF straight away! As always…keep us posted…hoping for the VERY best Jenn!!

  2. K.Smitty May 8, 2012 at 9:11 am #

    Yay for making plans! Personally, I lean towards option B or C because it means getting another test sooner. I can only imagine how scary all of this is to think about. Hugs and good vibes are being sent your way for an easy decision-making process and hopes that you don’t need a step 4! 🙂

    • Jenn May 8, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

      Thanks so much!!! I like the idea of another test as well, so we shall see 🙂 Hope all is well with you!

  3. A Sweet Life May 7, 2012 at 11:08 pm #

    Good luck in making a decision that fits you and your lifestyle. I heard femera is a little gentler on the body than Clomid. I will say some prayers for you while you try to make the best decision. I know for us, insurance played a big role in what we chose.

    • Jenn May 8, 2012 at 4:55 pm #

      Yeah, I still need to check with insurance about the Femera. Since it’s technically not an infertility drug I am hoping that they might cover it. Thanks for the prayers!

  4. storkchaser May 7, 2012 at 11:02 pm #

    Hmmm I’m not quite sure doing a lap is necessary. I know the “unexplained” part is so frustrating and you want some answers, but it seems overkill maybe. I guess I would suggest asking your doctor why that’s a step in every plan option you were given. Other than that, if you don’t mind the expense and want to delay IVF, I would suggest skipping over Clomid altogether and try Femera+IUI. You and your husband should probably also decide if you want to limit your IUIs and when to move to IVF, should your next IUI not work or if you just want to “play it by ear” and decide as you go. I’m not good at the limit thing myself because both Hubster and I are eternal optimists and I am thoroughly impatient. I also feel like IVF is a decision that you need to be ready to make. When you are you’ll know. 😉 And even without knowing why you’re not getting pregnant, there’s still plenty of hope! My cousin and her husband got the “unexplained” diagnosis and after 3 failed IUIs they decided they couldn’t take the disappointment anymore and did IVF. One round of IVF later and they have a beautiful little girl who is so smart, funny, charismatic and loving. So as daunting, unromantic and unpredictable IVF is, it does have a much better success rate. Keep that in mind should you two start discussing it. Sorry to ramble and I hope i’m not being too lectury. I’m just so sorry you’re going through this. I get that it’s so hard to be doing everything in your power only to feel heartbreak month after month and no one can tell you why. Still crossing my fingers for you!

    • Jenn May 8, 2012 at 4:57 pm #

      The hard part is that insurance will cover the IUIs at 100% after our next one, but they never cover IVF at all, so I prefer to exhaust as many IUIs as possible. However, I am definitely leaning towards trying thr Femera. Thank you!!

  5. Theresa May 7, 2012 at 7:48 pm #

    Ugh. I’ve always thought unexplained infertility is the absolute worst kind. I agree that it seems odd your doc wants to do a lap with no signs of endo – will your insurance cover it? For what its worth, I like plan C the best also, though of course it’s not up to me 🙂

    • Jenn May 7, 2012 at 9:56 pm #

      Thanks everyone for weighing in. It’s comforting to know I’m not alone and that so many of you have walked this path as well. Not that I would ever wish this on any of you. But you know, from one infertile to another, how much your comments mean to me.

      Does anyone know the benefits of femara over clomid? Why even use clomid if femara has better success rates? Also, how does femara work? How many days do you give yourself injections? So many questions!!!

      Sent from my iPhone

      • storkchaser May 8, 2012 at 10:46 am #

        Femera has less side effects, but its not approved for infertility. It’s a med used for something else, I can’t remember what. I opted for clomid again because of price. $5 at Target vs. $200. 😉

        • Jenn May 8, 2012 at 4:58 pm #

          I think that I read it’s used for breast cancer??? I think I need to do a little more research.

  6. 35life May 7, 2012 at 7:30 pm #

    I wish I had answers for you, but like other posters have said, taking it one cycle at a time is probably the way to go. The big picture and setting a timeframe gets overwhelming when things don’t go your way. Right now I’m trying to think about a much needed vacation, figuring I need a break from the obsessing. Thought for sure I’d go right from finishing my degree to IVF again, but I think I’m ok with the decision to wait. But it’s good to see you have some options laid out.

  7. Shelley May 7, 2012 at 7:28 pm #

    For what it’s worth, Jenn – I like Plan C, if for no other reason then it gets you trying injectables sooner and longer and I know it’s different for everyone but I seem to have the impression that people have more luck with injectables than with Clomid. It’s interesting that your doc wants to do a laproscopy even though you don’t have an symptoms of endo? My doc never brought that up. We went right to injectables (no Clomid) for 1.5 cycles (2nd cycle cancelled) and are now waiting on starting our 1st IVF. It is scary, and hopefully you won’t have to go there, but if you do you can console yourself with the fact that it the highest success rates of all of these treatments.

  8. futuresoccermom May 7, 2012 at 6:32 pm #

    Thank you for sharing all the possible plans! It is helpful to me, as someone in the exact same place as you, I am curious if I will fall down the same path. But just take it one cycle at a time!

  9. robin May 7, 2012 at 6:12 pm #

    OMG That would also make me start to cross my eyes. I can only really think one, maybe two months in advance. It seems so overwhelming. 😦 My doctor and I also made some kind of plan like this after my 2nd failed TIC, like how many more TIC would I do before IUI, how many IUIs would we do before talking about IVF, etc. I came away feeling so completely overwhelmed and sad, like why were we planning for all those things to fail…

Click Here to Comment

