No Need to Worry

22 May

I haven’t fallen off the face of the Earth.

There just isn’t a whole lot going on in this corner of the internet. My period showed up on Saturday, so today is my third day back on 50 mg of Clomid. I’m not really having any side effects to speak of–a mild headache but that could also have something to do with my raging seasonal allergies. I have been trying to avoid allergy medication just in case it has a negative effect on TTC. Does anyone know anything about that?

We’re gearing up for IUI #2 which should be sometime late next week. I’m looking forward to it, but not getting my hopes up. We already know I respond well to Clomid, so we just have to keep our fingers crossed that there aren’t more than 4 follicles growing in there.

I stopped taking my BBT about 5 months ago because the daily pressure was just too much for me (it was the best decision I ever made). I knew that I ovulated on my own around CD 14 so BBT wasn’t really doing anything for me. However, I decided to take it back up again this month. I’m curious as to what my chart will look like between the Clomid, trigger shot, and Progesterone. It’s more of an experiment than something I assume will give me any kind of answers.

Last IUI I got my hopes up really, really high. I mistakenly thought that I could will myself to be pregnant through the power of positive thinking. Boy, was I wrong! This month I plan to operate under the assumption that I won’t get pregnant. I know this will be hard for me because for some far out reason I find myself giddy with hope each and every 2ww. I’m going to try so hard not to get excited this month; although, I will definitely be symptom spotting since I now have VIP status with Fertility Friend 🙂

Cycle Day 4. 24 days until I can POAS. May and June are going to be such long months….

28 Responses to “No Need to Worry”

  1. Mrs. Wuestewald May 26, 2012 at 9:14 pm #

    This is a small article i read about allergy meds http://www.babycenter.com/406_is-it-safe-to-take-allergy-medications-during-pregnancy_1245294.bc

    • Jenn May 27, 2012 at 9:40 am #

      Awesome! Thanks!

  2. jell jell @ I'll Sleep When They're Grown May 23, 2012 at 12:01 pm #

    You have the best attitude ever.

    • Jenn May 23, 2012 at 12:45 pm #

      For now…let’s just hope it stays that way 🙂

  3. queenelizabethi May 23, 2012 at 8:48 am #

    My naturopathic doctor told me that antihistamines, because they are drying-out drugs, can have an effect on cervical mucus which could in turn affect chances of conception. I don’t know that it made a difference for me, but I stopped the OTC drugs anyway bc they weren’t working for my allergies. So if your own doctor says it’s fine and you trust his opinion, that’s the important part. Good luck!

    • Jenn May 23, 2012 at 10:26 am #

      I had a feeling it might have some effect on CM. I am trying to avoid as best as I can since it doesn’t help too much anyway. We are doing the IUI so CM doesn’t matter too much although we will be trying on our own around the IUI, so we’ll see. Thanks for the info!

  4. robin May 23, 2012 at 12:54 am #

    It was interesting to see my chart the month I did the femara+progesterone vs just femara, vs no drugs at all. I guess enjoy the experimentation process, and hopefully this cycle will be better than the last… good luck!!!!

    • Jenn May 23, 2012 at 10:24 am #

      I definitely enjoy the experimentation process too. My temp dropped way low this morning so I don’t know if it’s a fluke or as a result of the Clomid.

  5. babylopez8410 May 22, 2012 at 10:35 pm #

    I was just wondering where you’ve been!

    Hope everything goes well with the IUI and fingers crossed for only 4 follicles! 🙂

    We will almost be cycle buddies since your IUI will be at the end of next week. Hopefully it will be our turn to get some of that BFP luck.

    • Roxxroxx May 23, 2012 at 12:45 am #

      I am really excited for you girls! Hoping really hard that it’s your time! 🙂

  6. Jennifer May 22, 2012 at 9:24 pm #

    Best of luck with the IUI – we are not too far apart with our cycle! I am on CD3, have my baseline ultrasound tomorrow, and start Clomid on Thursday. So weird to think you are finishing up your Clomid before I even start!

    • Jenn May 22, 2012 at 9:33 pm #

      ooh, I love a cycle buddy 🙂 My doctor has me take Clomid in cd 2-6 since I already ovulate on my own. Apparently, if I took it later than that it wouldn’t work as it’s supposed to. Good luck at your ultrasound tomorrow and I hope Clomid treats you well this month!

      • Roxxroxx May 23, 2012 at 12:46 am #

        It’s great to have a cycle buddy, I’m happy for you!

  7. K.Smitty May 22, 2012 at 9:11 pm #

    I still don’t have much to say on my own blog, much less for insightful and inspiring comments, so I’ll just say I’m thinking of you and sending virtual hugs! 🙂

    • Jenn May 22, 2012 at 9:21 pm #

      That’s enough for me 🙂

  8. storkchaser May 22, 2012 at 8:56 pm #

    Good luck and I’m crossing my fingers for FOUR PERFECT follicles! 🙂

    Since I have asthma that really flares up with my allergies, I take Singulair. All of my doctors (PC, OB/Gyn & RE) say it’s ok to take while TTC/pregnant. It won’t mess with conception. Maybe you can ask about your specific medicine at your next appt or just call?

    I’m really hoping this is it for you! (((HUGS)))

    • storkchaser May 22, 2012 at 8:57 pm #

      PS- your posts were missed. 🙂

      • Jenn May 22, 2012 at 9:21 pm #

        Thanks lady 🙂 I will ask my doctor about that. God knows the last thing I need is for one more thing to hinder conception!

        • storkchaser May 22, 2012 at 9:25 pm #

          Hahaha I’m sure it’ll be fine, but I know the peace of mind you’ll have after talking to him. 😉

    • Theresa May 23, 2012 at 1:02 pm #

      ah me too! My asthma flares up super bad when my allergies flare up. I should look into that!

  9. veetamia May 22, 2012 at 6:05 pm #

    Best of luck with your IUI!! Getting your hopes up every time and not having positive results can be challenging and draining….maybe this reverse psychology approach will be better?? 😉

    • Jenn May 22, 2012 at 7:18 pm #

      We shall see. Either way I won’t be as debated as last time…I hope.

      Sent from my iPhone

    • Roxxroxx May 23, 2012 at 12:46 am #

      I think this approach is much better – but it’s a challenge too. All the best! x

  10. TheStorkWhisperer May 22, 2012 at 5:33 pm #

    Sorry about the IUI. I also try to use positive thinking to get myself pregnant, but as you know, this does not work. Just curious, why do you want less than four follicles?

    • Jenn May 22, 2012 at 5:48 pm #

      If I have 5 or more follicles they will cancel the IUI because of the higher risk of multiples. The first time I had four and the second time I had three, so hopefully we should be good!

      • Roxxroxx May 23, 2012 at 12:48 am #

        Is it compulsory to cancel the cycle? Would you be unhappy with multiples? I understand the issues, but I think it is fair that the clinic lets you have the final say on this. Anyway – have my fingers crossed for your perfect 4 follicles!!

        • Jenn May 23, 2012 at 10:21 am #

          Thanks lady! I;m not really sure if it’s compulsory or not. We are okay with twins and okay with selective reduction if it came to that, so if we were to end up with more than 4 follicles I will let my doctor know i’m okay with it and hopefully she will be too.

          • Roxxroxx May 23, 2012 at 11:54 am #

            Yeah, that all sounds good! fingers crossed!

Click Here to Comment

