Here We Go Again

28 May

I had my CD 10 ultrasound this morning to check my response to my third round of 50mg of Clomid. I had to get up at 7 am on my day off to get to the RE’s office by 7:30 for the ultrasound clinic. I don’t even get up that early on workdays. Alas, an infertile girl has to do what an infertile girl has to do. It wasn’t so bad though as apparently I’m the only woman that needed an ultrasound today, so I was in and out in a matter of minutes. How great is it that these places are open 365 days a year? I thanked the RE for being available and he told me it was important work and ovulation is not to be missed! I really do love it there.

Even though I am only on CD 10, I had three follicles of substantial size. One on my right ovary, measuring 18mm. Two on my left ovary, measuring at 21mm and 15mm, respectively. I thought I saw a fourth follicle in there, but he didn’t bother measuring so I am assuming that it was too small to matter. I usually don’t ovulate until day 14 so I was a little surprised to learn that the follicles were already that big. However,  we already know that my reproductive organs have a mind of their own so I really shouldn’t have been so surprised.

From there I went down to the lab, which was also open despite the holiday. Again, I was the only one there so I was able to get in and out. 15 minutes from the time I walked into the hospital’s door until the time I was back in my car. It could have been way worse and probably will be when I go back tomorrow.

My FH was only 6.5 indicating that I am most likely not going to surge on my own. Ideally, I would have the Ovidrel trigger shot today and then IUI tomorrow but apparently pharmacies don’t care about my infertility as much as my RE’s office does and there is not an open one to be found today. So I will go back bright and early tomorrow morning for another ultrasound and blood work to re-check my FH levels. Hopefully the follicles don’t get too big by then (what is too big, anyway?).

As of now, it looks like ultrasound and trigger shot tomorrow and IUI on Wednesday.

This scenario actually works better for us anyhow because my husband has an appointment in DC tomorrow to get a rush passport. If the IUI had been scheduled for tomorrow then he would have had to run to office the minute they opened, do his man-business, and then head straight to DC. This would have left me to have the IUI done all by myself. Maybe it’s just me, but if we can’t do it the old fashioned way,  I would at least like my husband to be in the same room as my when our baby is conceived. So Wednesday it is.

In the meantime, I’m planning to do everything I can to aid the process. I booked a massage for Tuesday evening with a message therapist who also gives prenatal massages, but since I’m not pregnant she is going to do a regular/prenatal massage. A little bit of this, a little bit of that all while avoiding the places on my body that should be avoided if I were to be pregnant. I have been doing a lot of reading on the benefits of massage while TTC and thanks to Groupon, I can actually afford to try it out this cycle. At the very least, I should be super relaxed for my IUI.

I’m also going to skip yoga and exercising all together during my 2ww. I know they RE says I can go about business as usual after an IUI, but I just feel better taking it easy.

So that’s the plan. I feel pretty ambivalent towards the whole thing currently. I am pretty much assuming that I won’t get pregnant this cycle so really this is just me going through the motions. I’m doing what the doctors say should be done but instead of being cautiously optimistic, I am choosing to be realistic. I haven’t gotten pregnant in the past year and a half, so what would make me think that it will happen this time? Not a damn thing.

I have also decided that if I don’t get pregnant this month then I will be opting for the exploratory laprascopy next month. The idea that it is inevitable anyway just makes me feel like I would rather do it sooner than later. Patience has never really been my strong suit.

I’m not really sure how this early ovulation/trigger shot effects my luteal phase. I am very regular, every 28 days with a luteal phase of 14 days, but since I am triggering on day 11 I suppose that could shorten my cycle by three days. So my period will be due between June 13th and June 16th. I just realized that also happens to be the weekend I will be at the beach. Should make for an interesting vacation either way. Oy, it’s going to be a long 2 weeks.

6 Responses to “Here We Go Again”

  1. TheStorkWhisperer May 28, 2012 at 7:53 pm #

    Good luck. Your follicles seem to be a good size.

    • Jenn May 28, 2012 at 8:30 pm #

      Thanks lady 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. babylopez8410 May 28, 2012 at 5:47 pm #

    We are still cycle buddies! My retrieval was pushed up to Wednesday. I’m triggering tonight.

    Fingers crossed for you!

  3. veetamia May 28, 2012 at 3:35 pm #

    Best of luck!!

  4. Jessica May 28, 2012 at 2:32 pm #

    Crossing my fingers for you, Jenn!! =)

    • Jenn May 28, 2012 at 3:03 pm #

      Thanks so much!

Click Here to Comment

