IUI #2

31 May

As of 10:45 a.m. this morning, I am officially inseminated!

Hubs made 26 million healthy sperm and I had two good eggs that definitely ovulated. I also have one more that is measuring 22mm but hasn’t ovulated yet. The RE said there was a good chance that one will still release an egg within the next 24 hours. I got a positive OPK yesterday and today, plus lots of egg-white CM, so who knows? We’ll have baby-making sex tonight and perhaps tomorrow night just to cover out bases.

I went into work around 11:30, but was having some intense pain/cramping/weird sensations in my uterus. I’m sure it was just ovulation pain, but since the IUI my pelvic region just feels full. I don’t really know how to explain it; it just feels like I am carrying a large rock in my uterus (and looks like it too). Let’s just hope this is a good thing. I ended up going home from work anyway and rested for remainder of the day, a good 6 hours.

Two week wait officially begins! I’m going to need many distractions to hold me over. Tonight I am heading to a crab shack with my BFF and her son to celebrate her 30th birthday. Mmmm, I love picking crabs 🙂 The only thing is that crabs go so nicely with a cold beer, but obviously I just had an IUI this morning so I know I’ll most likely be drinking lemonade with my crabs….

Question for you ladies: Do you drink at all during your 2ww?

27 Responses to “IUI #2”

  1. Maria June 4, 2012 at 3:16 am #

    Hi,

    My name is Knoll Maria and I am a graduate student at Bar-Ilan University Information Science Department in Israel. For my final project, I am examining anonymity and self-disclosure in infertility blogs. The target population of the study are women bloggers who were or are going through infertility treatments and also blog about their experience. I am kindly inviting you to participate in this research study by completing the attached survey.

    The following questionnaire will require approximately 5 minutes to complete. Your response is very important to me. Your informed consent to participate in this survey is assumed by completing the survey and by submitting it. Participation is strictly voluntary and you may refuse to participate at any time. A copy of the results will be sent to you, if you choose so.

    Thank you for taking the time to assist me in my educational endeavors. If you require additional information or have questions, please contact by email.
    Click here to fill out the survey: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/viewform?formkey=dHY0SC1wT0lHeEFqOGdZN3pXT3p3aHc6MQ

  2. jell jell @ I'll Sleep When They're Grown June 3, 2012 at 11:38 pm #

    I think it’s ok to drink about 2 beers or glasses of wine a night before you get a pos test. I have had the occasional beer while pregnant, but never more than one. If I felt tipsy, I stopped. Just don’t get knocked out drunk and you’ll be fine! The baby’s not attached at first so those 2 weeks aren’t putting it in as much of a risk. Good luck!

    • Jenn June 4, 2012 at 9:42 am #

      That’s the plan! Thanks so much. Hope you are doing well!

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. CBrain June 2, 2012 at 3:14 am #

    I’m trying not to drink at all at the moment. Not sure if it helping with stress levels….that sounds wrong but it isn’t. The problem with my TWW is they end up being three week waits by which stage I’m over it and making false promises to myself.

    • Jenn June 2, 2012 at 12:07 pm #

      I can only imagine a 3 week wait, my hopes shoot up one I’m just one day late 😦

  4. storkchaser June 1, 2012 at 8:57 pm #

    yay!! i feel really good about this one! and the bag of rocks feeling is how I feel after ovulating. sucks! yes, a little wine before implantation is possible is fine with me. 🙂

    crossing my fingers!!!!!

    • Jenn June 1, 2012 at 9:24 pm #

      Thanks lady! I have a good feeling too even though I told myself I wouldn’t get my hopes up this time.

      Sent from my iPhone

  5. 35life June 1, 2012 at 1:32 pm #

    Wow! Good luck! Fingers crossed for you!

    Oh, and I agree on a glass or two of wine being necessary, and then nothing when I enter the second week of the 2WW.

    • Jenn June 1, 2012 at 1:48 pm #

      That’s my plan!

      Sent from my iPhone

  6. Sunny June 1, 2012 at 12:35 pm #

    WWSD–What Would Snookie Do? 🙂 Fuck it. I say, have some wine, live it up, throw a couple of toasts to your cozy uterus, adorable little spermies, and ripe perfect eggs. I am absolutely drinking to your two week wait tonight, and most likely many other nights this weekend and next week! Much much love, girl. Thanks so much for your love on my blog 🙂

    • Jenn June 1, 2012 at 1:48 pm #

      Sounds good to me! Thanks for the love and I hope things start looking up for you soon 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

  7. Jessica June 1, 2012 at 10:17 am #

    Woo Hoo!! That’s so exciting! =)

    I didn’t used to drink at all during my 2ww, but I’ve loosened up a little and will have a glass every now and then. Especially because my 2ww’s always fall on holidays or birthdays. 😉
    I usually won’t drink at all in the last couple days of my cycle just in case.

    • Jenn June 1, 2012 at 10:31 am #

      That definitely seems to be the consensus!

  8. Roxxroxx June 1, 2012 at 9:57 am #

    Really excited and hoping one of those 26million is getting jiggy with your eggie! I have been pretty strict about alcohol but I had begun to losen up about a lot of other stuff for all the reasons the other girls are saying- coz I got pissed off with living that way… Like I was pg but with no baby! You do feel more and more sorry about the situation commandeering your life. I think the odd drink would certainly have started creeping in if it had taken any longer.
    Thinking of you and sending you baby dust!

    • Jenn June 1, 2012 at 10:15 am #

      That’s exactly where I am right now. I am living like I am pregnant without reaping the benefits i.e. a baby. I hope all sorts of baby jigging is going on! Thanks 🙂

  9. laughingpromises June 1, 2012 at 7:47 am #

    I totally got that full feeling in my first 2 ww! Praying you get your bfp this time around. 🙂

    • Jenn June 1, 2012 at 9:25 am #

      I guess that’s a good sign then! I hope so 🙂 Thanks lady!

  10. veetamia June 1, 2012 at 3:19 am #

    Woot woot! Crossing fingers and toes for you! Have a happy and relaxing TWW 😉

    • Jenn June 1, 2012 at 9:25 am #

      Thanks lady!!

  11. B June 1, 2012 at 12:34 am #

    Fingers crossed that those sperm are busy getting down to business right now!! And that the third follicle will release too.
    I used to abstain from alcohol and caffeine during the TWW. Now I drink no more than one cup of coffee per day and drink alcohol when I feel like it. I’ve heard the phrase “Drink till it’s [the pregnancy test] pink.” In all seriousness, there isn’t blood shared between the embryo and mother that early in pregnancy so even if you do get pregnant there isn’t much to worry about that early on.

    • Jenn June 1, 2012 at 9:24 am #

      Drink til it’s pink…I like that 🙂 Thanks for the well wishes!

  12. K.Smitty May 31, 2012 at 7:57 pm #

    26 million!! Whoo hoo! Fingers crossed! I’m excited for you Jen 🙂

    As for drinking in the TWW, I used to be against it, but as I got more and more frustrated, I got tired of living like I was pregnant 24/7 only for it to not work out. But let me tell you, the cycle we got pregnant, (aka, THIS MONTH) I gave up living my life so intentionally. I drank like it wasn’t going to happen, I bought clothes that I hope to God I’ll be able to fit in throughout the summer, and I stopped putting my life on hold because we were TTC.

    Around the time I O’d (I think. I didn’t chart) I got so plastered drunk and loved every minute of it. I also drank almost every day during the TWW, including the day before I tested. I was more moderate though. Not because of it being the TWW but simply because I don’t like being hungover at work. I vote for living your life. It will help you “just relax” and who knows? It could be your last drinks, so I’d enjoy them. I agree 100% with Robin. Good luck!

    • Jenn May 31, 2012 at 8:53 pm #

      That makes me feel so much better because that’s totally my mentality! What’s the point of living like I’m pregnant when I’m not? It just makes me resent my situation even more. I had a couple of beers tonight for my bff’s 30th birthday and I’m not going to feel bad. If I don’t get pregnant it certainly has nothing to do with alcohol consumption. Thanks lady! You made me feel so much more relaxed about it.

      By the way, I still can’t stop thinking about how excited I am for you!!!

      Sent from my iPhone

  13. robin May 31, 2012 at 6:46 pm #

    Yay go spermies and eggies! Enjoy your singles mixer!!

    I drank during my TWW the cycle I got pregnant. I was like, fuck this, until I get a positive test I am not going to abstain because then I am basically abstaining half of the time and that is irritating. I only ever drink a bit of wine on the weekend anyway and maybe a beer during the week if it sounds tasty. Then I got the positive, and I’m sure the babies will be fine and not adversely affected by my few drinks during that first 10 days of their conception (6 of which they weren’t even attached to my body in any way). Think of Snooki, and her baby will probably be fine!!

    • Jenn May 31, 2012 at 8:50 pm #

      Think of Snooki is totally my new motto! I ended up having two beers and I’m not feeling guilty about it. My track record indicates I won’t get pregnant anyway so I will enjoy myself in moderation. Thanks Robin!

      Sent from my iPhone

      • robin June 1, 2012 at 3:03 pm #

        It’s funny to be inspired by Snooki but hey, whatever!!

  14. babylopez8410 May 31, 2012 at 5:42 pm #

    Yay!! Glad it’s done!!

    I try not to drink during my TWW but sometimes a glass (or two) of wine is necessary. But I usually do really good about avoiding drinking during the wait. But every time i would get a negative all bets were off. That’s all I drink though. No hard alcohol.

Click Here to Comment

