That’s What Friends Are For

7 Jun

Yesterday evening I opened my email only to find this from my best friend:

Subject: Miracle Babies

“You can click on the blue links within each paragraph to read more about that particular story. Miracles happen!  Sometimes things just take a while:)”
And even though I was at work, I found myself on the verge of tears. It just touched my heart in way that so few people are able to do. It wasn’t a mushy, wordy email, but it showed that she was thinking about me and my current plight. And she’s right, miracles do happen everyday and sometimes they take longer to arrive than is expected.
I wrote back to my friend to tell her just how much that email meant to me and to thank her for thinking of me. She wrote back simply, “That’s what friends are for, silly.”
Again, she was absolutely right. That is exactly what friends are for! To pick you up when you don’t even realize that you are feeling down. To think about you in your time of need. And to share their love like only a best friend could. This is the same friend who sent me this picture during my last 2ww
Today I am choosing to be thankful. For my friend, for the ability to hope month after month, and for miracles.
15 Responses to “That’s What Friends Are For”

  1. jell jell @ I'll Sleep When They're Grown June 10, 2012 at 8:03 pm #

    That’s super sweet. Friends are the best!

  2. Meela June 8, 2012 at 7:10 am #

    Great post and love that pic 🙂

  3. babylopez8410 June 7, 2012 at 7:11 pm #

    Very sweet!

    • Jenn June 8, 2012 at 2:03 pm #

      🙂 Counting down the days! I hope you are feeling good!

      • babylopez8410 June 9, 2012 at 9:40 pm #

        I’m feeling good. But I don’t “feel” pregnant or have any symptoms. 😦 Trying not to focus on it though. How bout you?

  4. K.Smitty June 7, 2012 at 5:00 pm #

    What an amazing article! When I saw your post, though, my first thought was “OMG it’s Thursday!” (In reference to your previous post) Did you test yet? I know you were toying with the idea of testing Wednesday. Love u!

    • Jenn June 7, 2012 at 5:22 pm #

      I wish! I don’t test until next Wednesday 😦 I still have a while week to get through.

      • K.Smitty June 7, 2012 at 5:44 pm #

        oh NEXT Wednesday! Ok. Got it. I was worried for a minute. I’m still sending all kinds of positive vibes your way!

  5. Shelley June 7, 2012 at 3:13 pm #

    Thanks to you and your friend, I’m now feeling very hopeful indeed. These are just exactly the kinds of stories I want to be reading right now as we head into IVF. Thank you soooo much for posting this!

    • Jenn June 8, 2012 at 2:03 pm #

      Glad I could help in a small way! Fingers crossed for you lady 🙂

  6. storkchaser June 7, 2012 at 3:03 pm #

    It makes complete sense and i’m so glad you have such a wonderful friend. Even if they aren’t struggling the way we are, their love and support helps to keep us going! (((hug)))

    • Jenn June 8, 2012 at 2:04 pm #

      She really is sweet. And the funny thing is, she is actually my friend who expected to care the least. She has no intentions of ever having children, but she has been there the most for me. Sometimes people can surprise you 🙂

  7. Jenn June 7, 2012 at 2:42 pm #

    Uggh, WordPress jacked up the formatting. Hope it still makes sense!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. This Is Not What Friends Are For « The Future Fords - June 11, 2012

    […] stark contrast to one of my recent posts, I thought it prudent to share that I also have a friend who is absolutely effing clueless as to […]

  2. Now look at me « tales from the waiting room - June 8, 2012

    […] stories! I’ve read a few. Jenn shared some great ones today that really made me happy – go check them out here! I am going […]

Click Here to Comment

