The Weight Loss Challenge Is On!

21 Jun

Within 30 minutes of my last post I have already gotten 4 people (5 including me) that are interested in the weight loss challenge. So here is how this is going to work:

1. The Challenge will begin on Monday, June 25th with initial weigh-ins. Subsequent weigh-ins will occur every Monday until The Challenge ends on Monday, July 30th with the final weigh-in.

2. Everyone is welcome to participate, but you must “sign-up” by Monday, the 25th.

3. In order to officially “sign-up” I will need you to do the following:

  • Email me your “before” photo(s). I will be posting these on my blog, so feel free to crop out your head if  you would like. Ideally I would like to have a front and a side photo.
  • Email me a link to your blog with a little blurb about who you are, your 5-week goal, and why you are participating. If you do not want me to link back to your blog or to use your name, mention that in the the email.
  • If there is any part of this (photo, blog link, blurb) that you wish to not include, that is fine. Just email me with a pseudonym. The only part that is required is weekly weigh-ins.

4. I will send out an email on Monday morning reminding everyone to send me your weight for that day.

5. Once everyone has signed-up, I will post on Monday night with the intros, photos, and starting weights using some kind of handy-dandy spreadsheet.

6. We’ll repeat this each and every Monday for the next 5 weeks. At the end, I will post after pictures, ending weights, and perhaps a little blurb about how each of you feels about her progress.

7. I will mail the winner something awesome at the end of the challenge. I have no idea what it will be…..but it will be worth it!

Lastly, I know we are all classy, kind ladies here so I don’t anticipate this being a problem, but it must be said. We are doing this to encourage and motivate ourselves and and each other. We are not doing this is to judge or compare ourselves to each other. Let us keep in mind that we are all different heights, different body shapes, and have different reasons for our particular situations. Weight is really an arbitrary number, but it’s a concrete goal we can focus on for now. The only thing we have to lose is a few pounds. Let’s focus on getting our bodies healthy and in primo knock-up-able condition 🙂 Or if that’s not your thing, at least you’ll look better in your bathing suit!

If I left anything out please let me know and I will update this page.

My email address is jennford919@gmail.com Put “Weight Loss Challenge” in the subject line. I am so excited that you guys are doing this with me. I can already feel the drive building! xoxo

 

18 Responses to “The Weight Loss Challenge Is On!”

  1. Monika August 23, 2012 at 7:20 am #

    I carry out fully understand such matter. I believe it’s vital to keep mastering and striving to do precisely what we can do the most. Everyone has abilities and we want to increase our skills as ideal as we may.

  2. Sunny June 23, 2012 at 3:02 pm #

    Check your email! I’m in! Will the “winner” be determined Biggest Loser Style w/ percentage body weight and not pounds lost?

    • Jenn June 24, 2012 at 12:51 pm #

      Got it! And yes, the winner shall be determined by % lost, not pounds 🙂

  3. St. Elsewhere June 23, 2012 at 2:27 am #

    Good Luck with the setting up and following through the challenge…

    • Jenn June 24, 2012 at 1:03 pm #

      Thanks! Will you be joining us?

      • St. Elsewhere June 25, 2012 at 2:11 am #

        Nopes…

  4. Syringe Sisters June 22, 2012 at 4:30 pm #

    Such a GREAT idea! I lost 76lbs between Fall 2007 and Summer 2010 with WW…it was tough but worth it!! GL to everyone participating.

    • Jenn June 24, 2012 at 1:03 pm #

      Thanks lady! Will you be participating?

  5. Rochelle June 22, 2012 at 9:50 am #

    I am so in! I lost 30lbs, started back on Clomid, gained almost 10 of them back! I ran a 5k in March, April, and then again last week, and I have one on July 21st too so I’m hoping that will serve as some extra motivation (but could always use more!) I’m away from my house until Sunday but I will take pictures then and send them to you Sunday night. Super excited to get to know you! Although, I do have to say, give yourself time to recover after your lap!!! I tried to jump right back into things and really over did it, got an incision site infection which prolonged healing and just, yeah, refused to slow down.

    • Jenn June 22, 2012 at 11:46 am #

      Sounds good! So happy you’re participating. I definitely plan to slow down around the surgery and focus on just eating well until I am recovered enough to resume exercise. Thanks for the advice and good luck!

  6. Jennifer June 21, 2012 at 10:02 pm #

    Oh man…pictures?! LOL.

    • Jenn June 21, 2012 at 10:30 pm #

      Haha! You don’t have to if you don’t want to 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. LPC #2 & The WLC Continues! | Dog Mom Chasing the Stork - September 9, 2012

    […] for the WLC. Jenn has been wonderful enough to host a Weight Loss Challenge for us for the last 9(?) weeks and did a wonderful job with it. I really need this to keep going so […]

  2. Catch up from 8/29/12 | Dog Mom Chasing the Stork - September 2, 2012

    […] the next Lazy Pinner’s Challenge category. ALSO, if anyone is interested in taking over Jenn’s Weight Loss Challenge, please let her know (so I don’t have to […]

  3. WLC Week #5 « The Future Fords - July 24, 2012

    […] 2. I will be accepting new participants up until next Monday, so if you want to join in email me or check out this post How To Join the WLC […]

  4. My apologies… « The Future Fords - July 23, 2012

    […] Today has been so crazy busy that I haven’t had time to post this week’s WLC results, but I promise I will get it up tomorrow! In the meantime, we have decided to extend the challenge until August 27th. If anyone else wants to join, please feel free to let me know. Just leave a comment and check out this post How To Join the Weight Loss Challenge […]

  5. WLC (weight loss challenge) Reminder « The Future Fords - June 24, 2012

    […] that are participating…if you haven’t done so already, please email me your info. Check this post if you need a refresher in just what to send. Also, anyone with an email address is welcome to […]

  6. Sadness & sweat | Dog Mom Chasing the Stork - June 23, 2012

    […] thing, besides Magic Mike, that helps though is working out! Jenn’s challenge and my motivation to get my body ready for a sticky pregnancy has me working out already! I did […]

Click Here to Comment

