Weight Loss Challenge?

21 Jun

Three cycles of Clomid and my mid-section is looking worse for the wear. Seriously, I’ve gained 5 pounds and I’m pretty sure it’s all in my belly. I tossed around the idea of showing you guys a picture, but then I was too lazy to get up and get my camera. Maybe that’s also contributed to the weight gain….

Anyway, all this is to say that I need some weight loss motivation! And, like most things, I’m coming to you lovely ladies for help.

I am by no means overweight, but I could definitely stand to lose 10 or so pounds and I am figuring that this is the month to do it. We aren’t TTC this month since the surgeries are next week, so this gives me about 5 weeks until my next IUI. At 2 pounds per week, 10 pounds lost is totally doable.

And this is where you all come in….

Just throwing this out there as an idea for now to see what you guys think and who would even be interested since you preggos can’t participate. But what about some kind of weight loss challenge? Maybe based on % of weight lost? Maybe with some kind of prize for the winner? Maybe it only lasts for 4 or 5 weeks since that seems to be the cycle we all live our lives in?

Drop me a note in the comments to tell me what you think about this idea. Would you participate? Would you be willing to share you start and end weight? A before and after picture? Any ideas to make this work would be appreciated.

Hopefully this could be the motivation we all need to put down the cake and get our butts on the elliptical!

16 Responses to “Weight Loss Challenge?”

  1. Kathryn June 22, 2012 at 10:08 am #

    I’m in! I’m not ttc yet… but preparing my body to do so, and I think losing some weight might help jump start ovulation. I have about 15-20lbs to lose so I could use ANY motivation. I just sort of lost all of it, this would help!

    • Jenn June 22, 2012 at 11:45 am #

      Yay! so excited to have you join!

  2. dopingforbaby June 22, 2012 at 12:38 am #

    Ok, I might be in. Comic, an IUI, and a failed IVF did me in. Like you, I am not overweight, but i have put on some pounds that I HATE! But I am starting IVF next week … Those soft serve cones are my saviors. But maybe some strict food guidelines will help. More to come. And, btw, hi from ICLW. Love your blog and voice.

    • Jenn June 22, 2012 at 11:47 am #

      Thanks 🙂 It definitely can’t hurt to use it as motivation to improve your diet!

  3. Shelley June 21, 2012 at 9:37 pm #

    Wish I could, Jenn! But probably not a good idea now that my cycle has just started. But I’ll be rooting for ALL of you!!

    • Jenn June 22, 2012 at 11:47 am #

      I wish you could too, but you have other things to focus on 🙂 Thanks for the cheers!

  4. storkchaser June 21, 2012 at 9:34 pm #

    I love it!!! When you mentioned this idea I was trying to telepathically will you to do it. Fun!! I’m down to do a 4 week challenge but it has to start now. (I’m also willing myself to get a bfp that sticks this month. ;))

    I have a good 20 lbs to go, but I would and feel good at minus 10. Yay!

    • Jenn June 22, 2012 at 11:48 am #

      Oh it starts now! Glad your joining in and more than anything, I hope you get that sticky baby this month!

  5. Lisa @ hapahopes June 21, 2012 at 8:45 pm #

    Here from ICLW and I just posted about this same kind of thing! Count me in!

    • Jenn June 21, 2012 at 9:09 pm #

      Welcome! What’s your blog address?

  6. Annabelle June 21, 2012 at 8:31 pm #

    Count me in too! I could lose 10 pounds too! I’m using this summer to get my body back and enjoy life again while we put TTC on hold for a while. Great idea!

    • Jenn June 22, 2012 at 11:49 am #

      Awesome! I got your email so you’re all ready to go!

  7. Jennifer June 21, 2012 at 8:31 pm #

    I will go along for the ride more so for moral support and to motivate myself to continue losing. I know that 2 pounds a week is probably not doable for me, so chances of winning will be low. 😛

    • Jenn June 22, 2012 at 11:50 am #

      Winning aside, every pound helps right? Glad you along for the ride!

  8. Belle June 21, 2012 at 8:13 pm #

    Sign me up! I think having others participating would help keep me accountable during my BRB challenge (baby ready body).

    • Jenn June 22, 2012 at 11:50 am #

      Yay! Glad you’re joining Belle!

Click Here to Comment

