Weight Loss Challenge Introductions

25 Jun

The Contestants:

1. Jenn from The Future Fords

Hey there, I’m Jenn–the writer in this here corner of the internet known as The Future Fords. Back in February I had lost about 13 pounds and got down to a healthy 127, but since then I have done 3 cycles of Clomid, IUI, and progesterone which has caused me to gain about half of that back. I am now up to 135 and would love nothing more than to lose 10 pounds in the next five weeks. I plan on counting my calories using the MyFitnessPal app. If any of you are on there let me know and we can be buddies! I also plan to get up before work 3 days per week to go to the gym and also one day per weekend. I am scheduled for lap surgery next week so I know I will have to take it easy for a bit, but I plan to still watch what I eat and get back into the gym as soon as I am feeling up to it. I want to get my body both bikini and baby ready–I think 10 pounds lost is just the thing that I need. I decided to be super brave and post pictures of me in my new bathing suit (eeek!) since my short term goal is to look better in it. Perhaps decrease those love handles and increase the space between my thighs 🙂

2. Annabelle from Infertility Sucks

Hi I’m Annabelle, I’m a school teacher and I am 27 years old. I’m married to my high school sweetheart and we are very happy together. I’ve wanted to be a mom ever since I can remember, I’ve always dreamed of having babies, and lots of them. My dreams were shattered when I was diagnosed with endometriosis at 17 and told I may not have any babies and that I would need to try before I turned 30. Fast forward many years to last April when my husband got diagnosed with Male Factor Infertility, my world was crushed and I became a mess. He had a varicocele and had it removed but we’re yet to see improvements. The RE has told us that IVF with ICSI is our only chance of conceiving (though we proved him wrong in December but sadly miscarried in January). For many years, I’ve lived my life one step ahead preparing for the what if’s of I’m pregnant and avoided many things in life but no longer. This summer is for ME! I’m taking back my life and going to enjoy doing things that I put on hold each cycle thinking, ‘what if I’m pregnant.” I realize there is no time for what if’s in life, you just have to live life to the fullest! Which brings me to why I’m doing this challenge, not only am I’m hoping my new weight and body will help with pregnancy some day, I’m doing it because it’s what I want and I know I will feel good about myself. My plan of action is to cut back on sugar and sweets, eat more healthy vegetables and fruit as well as more lean proteins. I’m going to attempt cutting back on gluten (some sensitivity issues) in hopes that I will feel better and help lose weight too. For exercise, I plan to continue and increase mountain biking and yoga plus introduce pilates and running into the mix. I’m more active now then I’ve ever been and I plan to increase that some more. I will be using my heart rate monitor to monitor my calories burned and will try to observe but not obsess over calories taken in. I am looking forward to seeing where I am in 5 weeks with my goals. Good luck to everyone and have fun!

3. Storkchaser from Dog Mom Chasing the Stork

My 5-week goal is to lose 10lbs.

4. Lisa from Hapa Hopes

My name is Lisa, I’m really short, so the 10 pounds I gained during the last IVF cycle are super apparent.  We’re just about to start IVF #2, so my goal is really not to gain any more weight over the next 5 weeks.  Losing something would be a bonus!

5. Kathryn

I’m Kathryn, and I blog about my life being married to my husband who came out to me as being transgender a little over a year ago. It’s been a very rocky ride in our marriage since (we’ve been married over 4 years). We’re trying to make it work, even though my spouse will one day be living full time as female. I’m in a place in my life I never thought I would EVER be in. However, as we are a team as we journey together through this uncharted territory. I want to do the weight loss challenge because we have been talking about TTC  for awhile. Currently, my spouse is still unemployed, so we don’t feel financially ready to have kids. But I’ve been off the pill for almost 2 years and been tracking my cycle and had some tests done to find out that I am not ovulating. My doctor said when I want to start trying that he will put me on clomid. Last December I lost about 10 lbs and had my first “normal” cycle ever, and am about 99% sure I ovulated that cycle. If being at a healthier body weight means I might ovulate naturally, shouldn’t I put the time into that why I can, instead of turning to clomid unless I have to? So, my plan is to try to get to an even healthier weight and kick start some ovulation so that when we do decide to start ttc, things will possibly be smoother. I’d also like to improve my body image a bit 🙂

Current weight: 166.5 and I am 5’6
Goal for 5 week challenge, lose 8-10 lbs. I have always wanted to get into my “ideal body weight” category, even just the top range. It’s always been a struggle for me.
 6. Emily from A Blanket To Keep
 I decided to participate because I want to lose weight and get healthy for myself and my future children. I have been doing pretty good so far I have lost 15lbs over the past 6 months and got back down to 200lbs, but then gained some back during the last 2 medicated IUIs. I don’t really have a goal weight, just to lose weight and feel more comfortable in my own skin. I want to wish everyone good luck!
 7. Sunny from Cease and Decyst

My ovarian cysts are many. My stomach is jiggly. My arms are wiggly. I’m hoping that this exercise challenge will take care of at least two out of three of those problems. PCOS stinks, and it’s causing me a lot of excess weight in my mid section (a cruel joke to make me LOOK pregnant, without being able to properly ovulate. Awesome!) My goal in this 5 weeks is to lose the 8-10 pounds I’ve gained over the last two years, and to regain my strength/cardio endurance. I perform pretty well under pressure/competition, not so well when left to my own devices, so in this way, I hope that this challenge will help me stay on track with my exercise goals. I will be doing the Insanity DVD program 6 times per week.

8. Rochelle from for all the things we hope for

I’m joining the challenge because Clomid has killed my weight loss lately and I am running my 4th 5k on July 21st. I just graduated nursing school in May and we are about to start the process of adopting out of foster care. We’ve been married since May 2007 and been ttc almost that whole time, save a few breaks for sanity.

My goal is to lose 10lbs by the 30th. And my weight today was 195.4 so my goal is to be at least 185 by the 30th.

The Numbers

Name

Week #1 (6/25)

% Lost

Jenn

136

Annabelle

127.4

StorkChaser

151

Lisa

136.2

Kathryn

166.5

Emily

203.4

Sunny

126.5

Rochelle

195.4

24 Responses to “Weight Loss Challenge Introductions”

  1. miracle garcinia cambogia extract July 8, 2013 at 7:27 pm #

    I would not possibly discover how I finished up listed here, even so imagined this specific submit was previously great. I not really know whom you may very well be even so absolutely ensure the famous writer when you are never witout a doubt. Many thanks!

  2. jell jell @ I'll Sleep When They're Grown June 27, 2012 at 11:21 pm #

    Good luck, everyone! I’m very impressed.

  3. K.Smitty June 26, 2012 at 5:00 pm #

    Yay! Good luck ladies! I’m cheering you all on!

  4. TheStorkWhisperer June 26, 2012 at 3:21 pm #

    Good luck to all of you!

  5. Kristin June 26, 2012 at 12:27 pm #

    I’m so proud of everyone! I will be cheering all of you on! Go, team, go!

  6. Belle June 26, 2012 at 10:29 am #

    I chickened out 😦 Now I wish I had been more brave. Oh well, I’ll still play along, just not in a public fashion 🙂

    • Jenn June 26, 2012 at 10:40 am #

      I’ll make an exception for you, Belle, if you still want to join. After all, you were the first to bring up the idea of getting your body baby ready 🙂

      • Sunny June 26, 2012 at 11:26 am #

        I concur!! Belle, this challenge needs you!!

    • Emily @ablanket2keep June 26, 2012 at 11:24 am #

      Join Belle, Please! I just got brave and emailed my pics.

      • Kathryn June 26, 2012 at 11:35 am #

        Yes we’re all supportive here!

        • Jenn June 26, 2012 at 11:41 am #

          Gotta love peer pressure used for good 🙂

  7. Emily @ablanket2keep June 26, 2012 at 9:12 am #

    This is going to be awesome! Everyone getting healthier together! I’m the only one who didn’t do a picture. I should have done one. Wishing everyone success!

  8. myjourneythruinfertility June 26, 2012 at 9:02 am #

    good for all of you!!! wishing you only the best!!

  9. veetamia June 26, 2012 at 5:11 am #

    You ladies rock!!! Best of luck with this challenge!!!

  10. storkchaser June 26, 2012 at 1:15 am #

    i’m SO excited to be doing this with you ladies! and glad to meet the new faces, ummm bodies, i haven’t yet met! we got this. =)

  11. ablanket2keep June 26, 2012 at 1:07 am #

    This is gonna be awesome! Thank you for the kick to get back on track. I’m the only one who didn’t do a picture! I should have done one!

  12. annamartin84 June 26, 2012 at 12:09 am #

    This is great!! I’m still battling a nasty cold but as soon as I feel better (soon I hope) I’m kicking up the exercise and I cannot wait!!! I already started with a very healthy smoothie this morning and plan to have it every day!

  13. babylopez8410 June 25, 2012 at 11:37 pm #

    Good luck everyone!!! Looking forward to see all your results.

  14. Kathryn June 25, 2012 at 9:41 pm #

    I’m already so proud of all of us 🙂

    • Jenn June 25, 2012 at 10:01 pm #

      Me too! I’m so excited about this!

      Sent from my iPhone

    • Sunny June 25, 2012 at 11:09 pm #

      I’m PUMPED!!! Let’s do this, Ladies.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Formula Samples: 1 Jessica: 0 « From My Bathtub - June 26, 2012

    […]  And I’m retaining water like a boss.  Jenn over at Future Fords is holding an infertility weight loss challenge.  I really wanted to participate and keep chipping away at this excess weight, but I knew starting […]

Click Here to Comment

