I *think* I Finally Have A Diagnosis

29 Jun

First, I must apologize in advance if this is all over the place. I’m on painkillers from the surgery and definitely feeling pretty loopy.

My surgery went really well. I don’t remember much about it, but it was nowhere near as bad as I had built it up to be in my head.  I hope I never have to do it again, but if I do I know that I can totally handle it…thanks to a lovely drug called Ativan 🙂

My RE started with the laparascopy. She said my abdomen looks fantastic. There were a few spots of endometriosis on my right tube, but not enough to effect fertility so she just left it there. Other than that, everything looked good so she moved on to the hysteroscopy.

Apparently, she had a lot of trouble getting the camera into my uterus. Something was blocking it’s entrance. Turns out that something was tons of polyps! My RE said that this was the absolute last thing she expected to find seeing as they have never shown up on a sonogram or my HSG test. Nonetheless, they were there. Since she couldn’t get the camera in, she has to make two incisions on my stomach and go in that way to scrape out the polyps. In about three weeks I have to go in for a saline ultrasound to make sure they removed all of them since she had to do it blindly. If there are any left then I will get a D & C to remove the rest of them.

If that is the only thing wrong (which it seems to be) then I should be able to get pregnant perhaps sans fertility drugs!

From what I understand, polyps can prevent an egg from even getting fertilized in the first place. If an egg manages to get fertilized then polyps prevent implantation. If implantation manages to happen then polyps cause miscarriage. They say one polyp is the equivalent of a natural IUD. And who knows how many I had in there!?!?

I am so happy that I decided to listen to my inner voice, nagging me to pursue this surgery. I had no signs, symptoms, or indications that this surgery was necessary but turns out that my inner voice was correct.

I am even more happy to move out of the category “unexplained” and into one that is so much more cut and dry. I hope that I am not being overly optimistic about the road ahead of me, but I think that I should being seeing those two beautiful pink lines very soon.

Thank you all for your prayers, support, and love. Your emails and comments mean the world to me and have helped me more than I could ever express to you. I haven’t been commenting much lately, but I have been reading. I’m feeling a lot better in my recovery today so I should be back to blogging and commenting very soon! Until then, it’s time for another pill and another nap…

 

xoxo

21 Responses to “I *think* I Finally Have A Diagnosis”

  1. Emily @ablanket2keep July 7, 2012 at 12:24 pm #

    Hey! just catching up. That is awesome news!! So glad the surgery went well and you now know what is going on. So encouraging to hear that might have been it and hopefully there will be no more bump in the road to your beautiful baby.

  2. amy July 2, 2012 at 10:08 am #

    Great news Jenn!! I’m just now getting to your blog, I read a little bit, but haven’t been able to comment. Anyhow, I’m sooo glad the surgery went so well…it’s not bad at all 😉 I pray the polyp situation is what’s been inhibiting pregnancy for you!! Get some rest and keep us posted 🙂 xoxo

  3. myjourneythruinfertility July 1, 2012 at 9:42 am #

    who knew polyps would be good news, lol! heal well!!

  4. K.Smitty June 30, 2012 at 7:12 pm #

    How encouraging! OMG I hope this solves your problems FAST and you and your hubs are on your way very soon! 🙂 xo

  5. @ErinHiscocks June 30, 2012 at 11:37 am #

    I hope that this surgery was just what you needed to get on track with building the family you so obviously are dreaming of.
    Good luck to you!
    In fact, good luck to us both. Maybe this summer will bring us both the positive results we are waiting for, and we will be expecting Spring 2013 babies together!

  6. Roxxroxx June 29, 2012 at 9:14 pm #

    Sorry about the last post- my phone is obviously half asleep! I started to write that this is a fantastic step forward and sure sounds like an explanation! I’m so happy that there’s new hope for you, and as someone else pointed out, that polyps are so easy to treat. Imagine that the little spermies couldn’t get inside!! Well no more! I have a great feeling about this.
    Xoxo

  7. Roxxroxx June 29, 2012 at 9:10 pm #

    Th

  8. Meela June 29, 2012 at 6:39 pm #

    So glad you’re finally in the land of the explainable and more importantly the treatable! Rest up and I look forward to hearing even more good news from you in the not too distant future!

  9. robin June 29, 2012 at 6:03 pm #

    Hooray for finally having a diagnosis! I hope that’s really “all” that was preventing pregnancy, and you get knocked up really quickly 😀

  10. Don't call me Brenda June 29, 2012 at 5:14 pm #

    Oh my gosh. I am so happy to hear this!! Take good care of yourself. I’m looking forward to a “We’re Pregnant” post in the coming months. ❤

  11. babylopez8410 June 29, 2012 at 5:04 pm #

    See told you that it wouldn’t be too bad! 🙂 I’m glad they found something, especially since its so easy to treat. I really hope you get pregnant in the next couple of months once you are all in the clear! Rest, relax and enjoy your weekend.

  12. storkchaser June 29, 2012 at 2:34 pm #

    Ok!!! That’s definitely getting you somewhere! My RE actually suggested doing the saline if I don’t get pregnant within 3 cycles to check for polyps so I guess I just assumed you had already gotten that done! 😦 I’m really hoping this is it for you and you will get your bfp naturally!!!

  13. Sunny June 29, 2012 at 2:10 pm #

    I love this!! Not the polyps, of course, but the diagnosis. Finally! I have followed a woman for a while on a blog who had been TTC for a couple of years when it was discovered she had polyps. She had the surgery to remove them, and was pregnant within a few months after that!

  14. A Sweet Life June 29, 2012 at 2:05 pm #

    Wonderful news(for getting a diagnosis)! Hopefully it is only a matter of time now! Feel better soon!

  15. Kristin June 29, 2012 at 1:35 pm #

    Great news and great information. I had no idea that one polyp could be as effective at preventing pregnancy as a IUD. Bananas! I hope they are all cleared out and the saline ultrasounds shows that everything is all clear.

  16. veetamia June 29, 2012 at 1:27 pm #

    Those are great news!!! So glad to hear that your surgery went well and you are recovering and above all that there was a huge benefit from this step! Hoping as well that you see those two lines soon!!!

  17. Detour June 29, 2012 at 1:26 pm #

    That is crazy about the polyps! I had one that didn’t show up on an HSG, either. They’re sneaky. I’m glad you got a diagnosis and can try on your own!

  18. queenelizabethi June 29, 2012 at 1:06 pm #

    That’s so great to have a concrete reason, and more importantly, one that’s easily fixable! I so hope that removing the polyps is the only step you have to take. Thinking of you!

  19. taradawes June 29, 2012 at 12:33 pm #

    That is awesome news – and actually gives me some questions to ask my RE myself. Hopefully those lines will be showing up for you really soon!!

  20. 35life June 29, 2012 at 12:31 pm #

    This is great news! Sounds promising!

  21. Jessica June 29, 2012 at 12:16 pm #

    Oh, Jenn! That’s great! I’m so happy that you finally know what’s going on! =) Hope you’re feeling 100% soon!

Click Here to Comment

