Pregnitude.

7 Aug

I first learned about Pregnitude through the lovely Carrie over at Searching for Middle Ground whose GYN told her that she shouldn’t just be on any prenatal vitamin, but that she should also be taking Pregnitude along with it. Carrie emailed me to let me know that she immediately thought of me (how freakin’ sweet?!?!) and wanted to let me know about it.

The first thing I did was mention it to my husband by relaying it much in the same way that I just did to you. His initial thought was that Pregnitude was some strange new TTC thing that I was trying in an attempt to get a better attitude towards trying to get pregnant. Oh men, why do those always have to be so literal?

The second thing I did was research the hell out of it. Turns out Pregnitude is a relatively new reproductive supplement that helps with ovulatory regulation and egg quality. Yes, ladies, you read that right. It’s a supplement (not a drug) that has been proven to help woman ovulate who don’t do so on their own, regulate cycles, and even improve the quality of the eggs! Sorry if I seem a little over excited, but I am wondering why there isn’t more out there about a supplement that has the possibility to be a miracle for us TTC-ers. Or, if nothing else, an alternative to Clomid.

Here is what I found in my research:

Pregnitude Website

Does Pregnitude Really Work for PCOS?

What is Myo-Inositol?

Pregnitude Study Results

The third thing I did was purchase my own box from their website and start it immediately. Now I had already ovulated by the time I started the supplement, but I figured what the heck? It cost about $35 and was fulfilled through Amazon and on my door step within 48 hours. It’s comes in a powder form that you dissolve into a glass of water and drink once in the morning and once at night. It has absolutely no taste whatsoever and I haven’t really noticed any side effects with the exception of gas. You can also get it at your local drugstore. You don’t need a prescription, but it is stored behind the pharmacist’s counter.

I’m curious…has anyone already tried this or even heard of it? Are any of your considering doing so?

*I was in no way paid, compensated, or even contacted by anyone having anything to do with this supplement. I was just amazed at the possibilities that it offers and wanted to pass it along to you lovely ladies.

42 Responses to “Pregnitude.”

  1. Tasia October 24, 2014 at 7:37 am #

    Anyone stlll there? I want to try Pregnitude but im on metformin and multivitamins by my doctor is ir safe to add Pregnitude to try to gt a period n ovulation to gt pregnant anyone please…just git married n want to give my husband a bundle of joy i have pcos

    • Jenn October 24, 2014 at 9:16 am #

      I wish I could give you some advice on this, but I stopped TTC 2 years ago and haven’t kept up with the research since. Your best best would be to ask your RE. Good luck!

  2. Samantha Faloney September 20, 2014 at 7:25 pm #

    I was just wondering the side effects if pregnitude. I’m 25 married and have been trying to get pregnant for 3 months. I have a tilted uterus and I didn’t know if that would have an issue with me conceiving. I was on depo and have been off for a while but have yet to have a regular period. would anyone know if that could make me regular and to help me ovulate? thank you guys!!

  3. BabyPer August 9, 2013 at 10:52 am #

    Good luck to everyone

  4. BabyPer August 9, 2013 at 10:50 am #

    I had my tubes untied Nov 2011 with sucess of only one tube repaired. I started clomid on the 15th of July after not having a period on my own for 3 months I had my period on the 20th i was suprised and MD put me on 150mg clomid because I haven’t been ovulating I took a OV test and it was positive. I’m having some light pain in my left side thank god that’s my good side I pray this will be our lucky month I’m ready to give up hope 😦

    • Jenn August 9, 2013 at 11:02 am #

      Don’t give up, lady!!

  5. Sara CB June 23, 2013 at 11:22 am #

    We have been trying to get pregnant for 4 years now. It has been an extremely frustrating and emotional process for me.
    I have taken clomid for 5 cycles, had a MC, took a break, started femara, had 1 healthy follicle first time on it, still did not get pregnant. Started Pregnitude the day I got my period and the next time I had a sonogram to check for follicles I had 3! I had only been taking pregnitude for 11 days. I have never had more than 1 healthy follicle at a time. I experience pretty major headaches for the first week of taking it but i assume that was the pregnitude rearranging my hormones (which I was happy about since I have been diagnosed with PCOS).
    I had a HCG trigger shot on day 12 just in case I needed it, I don’t want to waste time or these follicles!
    I also noticed a huge difference in my sugar cravings and appetite (since taking pregnitude). I have had no intense desire for sugar as usual and my appetite dropped significantly. So it was much easier for me to eat primarily healthy foods and lots of veggies which helps you feel better as well! I am excited to see how this month turns out. I am on day 14 and it’s been our favorite time of the month. Sex everyday!!

  6. Macy Whitaker January 22, 2013 at 12:36 pm #

    what if you had no sucess with clomid ? just started the pregnitude the 18th . with meteformin , may even start taking pnv

  7. nicole November 20, 2012 at 2:52 pm #

    I have been ttc for over a year now my ob gyn put me on 1500 mg of metformin, prenatals, and Pregnitude. Ive been on the pregnitude for 2 weeks and my obgyn told me that I did ovulate, Aunt Flow also came early, I would highly recommend any women with pcos to try this.

  8. Megan October 23, 2012 at 4:47 pm #

    I have been using pregnitude for 3 months now while TTC and still no luck. I have had an HSG done, which was TERRIBLE because I have a tipped uterus, and discovered that my tubes are open. We are starting clomid next month. I am wondering if anyone has taken pregnitude with a prenatal vitamin. I am wanting to take something that has DHA in it with the pregnitude as well but didn’t know if it was safe to do since most prenatals have folic acid in them as well. Any thoughts? We have been trying to conceive for 14 months and have had one chemical pregnancy, everything else is Neg. Also, if you are looking for a good, uplifting book to read about the whole fertility process, you should check out a book called, “Every Drunken Cheerleader, Why Not Me.” SO GOOD and pretty humurous about the whole thing. It def. helped me get through the emotional aspect of the fertility process. Baby Dust Yalls Way!!

    • Jenn October 23, 2012 at 5:07 pm #

      Hey there–Sorry to hear that nothing seems to be working out, I know exactly how that is. I only took the Pregnitude for like 2 weeks because it interacted poorly with my Zoloft, but while I was taking it I also took my prenatal vitamin, as well. But, to be safe, you should ask your doctor. Good luck and my fingers are crossed for you, lady!

      • laura February 25, 2013 at 9:56 am #

        Hi Jenn,

        My Dr just told me to start taking Pregnitude but I take Zoloft as well. Do you mind me asking how it intereacted poorlY?

    • Mahogany November 10, 2012 at 2:04 pm #

      I am taking pregnitude, prenatal, maca root, geritol, metformin 1500mg, and just finished my last dosage of clomid 150mg… I been on pregnitude for about a month now and it has helped along with everything else I am taking..

  9. No Baby Ruth September 26, 2012 at 6:09 am #

    So, I clicked over to your blog this morning through another blog and was all set to comment and introduce when I got side-tracked. A bit later I did a random search on pregnitude and you popped up again, so this time I AM commenting!!

    I have PCOS and almost never have unmedicated periods. I have a 15mo daughter from IUI+injects and when consulting with the RE about TTC#2 he suggested I try a “new” supplement. I live in Spain so here it’s called Ovusitol, but it’s the same thing: 2000mg of myo-inositol and 200ug of folic acid in powder form. I’ve been taking two packets (I take both at the same time in a bottle of water in the evening) for about 7 weeks now and got a spontaneous period after maybe 5 weeks! Even more exciting were the results of the CD3 bloodwork I did that showed much improved LH and testosterone (the bane of the PCOSer). I don’t know if I will get another period or not, but I’m excited to see what happens!! If you’re interested in checking it out, I just posted yesterday about my results:
    http://nobabyruth.wordpress.com/2012/09/25/an-update-on-the-hormones-now-with-numbers/

    And, now I’m following you, too, so you’ll see more of me. 😉

    • Jenn September 26, 2012 at 10:06 am #

      Welcome!! And thanks for commenting. I’ll definitely be hopping over to check out your blog. So glad to hear that the Pregnitude is working for you–I have heard great things about it. Fingers crossed you get another period 🙂

      • Gina May 10, 2013 at 1:23 am #

        Can u take clomid and pregnitude at the same time?

        • Jenn May 10, 2013 at 8:09 am #

          Absolutely!!

  10. nina September 10, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

    I just bought pregnitude & plan on starting 2 take it tomorrow . So I’ll keep u updated. Babydust 2 all…

    • Jenn September 10, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

      Good luck!

  11. jo August 8, 2012 at 5:53 pm #

    more info on using insitol and folic acid. http://infertility-fertility.blogspot.com/2009/06/inositol-may-help-egg-quality.html

  12. jo August 8, 2012 at 5:52 pm #

    if you already have folic acid at home you can buy insitol 1,000mg capsuls for $31 for 350 of them at amazon
    http://www.amazon.com/Life-Extension-Inositol-Capsules-360-Count/dp/B000VHV3H6/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1344462587&sr=8-4&keywords=myo+inositol

    • Jenn August 8, 2012 at 6:09 pm #

      Really? I’ll definitely have to look onto that. Way cheaper. Thanks for the tip 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

  13. Kathryn August 8, 2012 at 4:50 pm #

    Gotta love my spouse. I send him the articles that you posted and his reply to me through e-mail was

    “Ah you should just take lecithin then, I have lots of it =)

    Inositol is one of the phospholipids in lecithin, in the form of phosphatidyl inositol, which according to wikipedia is one of the more bioavailable forms ”
    LOL I married a nerd and I love it!

    • Jenn August 8, 2012 at 5:10 pm #

      Ha! That sounds like something my husband would say. At least that means less research for us 🙂

      • Kathryn August 9, 2012 at 9:11 am #

        true. But I don’t know if taking JUST lechithen is going to do the same thing as Pregnitude =( Maybe I’ll splurge on pregnitude in a couple months without telling him. mauahah

  14. searching for middle ground August 8, 2012 at 9:38 am #

    I’m keeping my fingers crossed for you Jenn! I’m hoping it’s a miracle supplement! 🙂

  15. jell jell @ I'll Sleep When They're Grown August 7, 2012 at 11:02 pm #

    I recently heard from a friend that a gal she knows who had been TTC for 5 years tried ONCE with egg whites (yes, literally) and finally got preggs. When she was ovulating, obvs. Maybe another random chance thing? Worth a look into, maybe? Good luck!

  16. Roxxroxx August 7, 2012 at 10:16 pm #

    Yay – I hope this stuff works for you 🙂

  17. drunnermom August 7, 2012 at 8:56 pm #

    We used preseed when we got pregnant.And not to be too graphic, lol, but when you are having as much a sex as you do in the world of infertility (before moving onto the higher tech) it really really helps. Not sure about the pregnitude but I saw remarkable differences in my cycle on the herbal supplement “fertility blend” and a prenatal and got pregnant while on that. But I also was very detailed “charter” and was able to see all of the changes that occurred. A great book to check out if you are interested in the supplement world is Fertility Cycles and Nutrition by Marilyn Shannon (it is from a Christian association but it def is for everyone and give great background on supplements and nutritional changes).

  18. Emily @ablanket2keep August 7, 2012 at 8:23 pm #

    That is pretty cool! I hope it works!

  19. Belle August 7, 2012 at 8:11 pm #

    Dr. B has me on it! It has only been a week so I can’t really report much else, but he did say that as far as supplements go it seems to have a surprisingly good track record.

  20. amy August 7, 2012 at 7:52 pm #

    Very interesting! Thank you for sharing…wish I knew about that sooner! And double crap on the pressed thing, that sucks! I used that verrrry frequently in our second year of TTC. I liked it bc it’s supposed to be water based, as opposed to whatever funky sticky ick the regular lube stuff is! Oh well.

  21. Mrs. Wuestewald August 7, 2012 at 7:37 pm #

    I wanna try it too! Never heard of it before.

  22. K.Smitty August 7, 2012 at 7:09 pm #

    Ooh! I am hopeful this is good stuff for you!

  23. Kristin August 7, 2012 at 6:28 pm #

    Myo-inositol is amazing for PCOS. I have additional research articles that verify its efficacy for treating PCOS and anovulation under my supplements tab. Some results call for it to be used before trying Metformin! It was that effective!

  24. laughingpromises August 7, 2012 at 6:20 pm #

    That looks like such a great option! I hope it helps. 🙂

  25. storkchaser August 7, 2012 at 5:50 pm #

    Whaaaaat?!? That’s awesome. I’m intrigued. Thanks for sharing!

    • storkchaser August 9, 2012 at 5:34 pm #

      Ok my doctor said studies have shown that folic acid and myo-inositol can help women with PCOS. i know you don’t that, but i’m guessing it will help anyone’s ovulatory function. i bought mine today! woop! thanks!!!

  26. Kathryn August 7, 2012 at 5:07 pm #

    This sounds like a great thing for my spouse to research for me! Can’t go wrong with folic acid… FYI, my spouse did a ton of research on “preseed” and supposedly found out that it’s just the same as using any other lube and has no added benefits. I’ll explain later when I have time.

    • Jenn August 7, 2012 at 5:10 pm #

      Seriously?!?! You are definitely going to need to pass that info along.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pregnitude | Lydia Seeks Bebe - June 6, 2013

    […] best blog post I found on the topic was from Jen at Future Fords, check that out here. She highlights some great links, including the scientific studies, that I found really helpful. […]

  2. It’s Like a Freaking Gumball Machine In There « The Future Fords - August 18, 2012

    […] Is it the damn Pregnitude? I’m also on Zoloft and one of the warnings on the box is that Pregnitude and SSRIs taken together can cause “additive side effects” meaning that the Pregnitude has the potential to make my Zoloft work better and vice versa. […]

Click Here to Comment

