It’s Like a Freaking Gumball Machine In There

18 Aug

Well, I had my CD 10 ultrasound this morning. This is my first round on Femara which I took on CD 2-6.

My RE has an ultrasound clinic at 7:30 am 365 days per year. All of the doctors rotate so you never know who will be on duty that particular day. This morning I saw an RE that I had never met before and the first thing he says to me is, “Do you have PCOS?” I told him I don’t because, well, I know that I don’t. He asked me if I get regular periods, which I do every 28 days like clockwork. So, instead he labeled my follicles as “polycystic like.”

I’ve done three previous monitored cycles with Clomid in which I produced 4, 3, and 2 mature follicles respectively. Currently, there are at least 20 cysts and/or follicles residing on my ovaries. 6 of which are measuring large enough to become mature follicles within the next 4 days, just in time for ovulation. He measured all the rest at 8mm so who knows what will happen with those. I go back Monday morning (CD 12) for another ultrasound.

If there are still that many in there then they will cancel this cycle—no IUI or timed intercourse.

You can only imagine how upsetting this is to me. I believe that I mentioned before that my RE said we could only do 4 more medicated cycles and this was the first cycle on the ticking clock. That means that if this cycle is a bust then we only have 3 more cycles before my RE will recommend IVF. That’s all well and good except for the fact that baby making will be put on hold indefinitely until we can save the $15000 to pursue IVF. Time is literally of the essence and my ovaries just don’t seem to want to cooperate. Effing unexplained infertility. She’s a bitch.

Here are my thoughts/questions:

  • If there are at least 20 cysts/follicles in there, is it even possible to get pregnant? Meaning do cysts prevent pregnancy or could I have 15 cysts and 5 mature follicles at the same time and go on to get pregnant?
  • Is it the damn Pregnitude? I’m also on Zoloft and one of the warnings on the box is that Pregnitude and SSRIs taken together can cause “additive side effects” meaning that the Pregnitude has the potential to make my Zoloft work better and vice versa.
  • If they decide to cancel this cycle and tell us to avoid timed intercourse, what would happen if we did it anyway?
  • Why me?
  • This is my first monitored cycle since my laparoscopy and hysteroscopy where they found maybe-polyps. Could this just be a result of my system finally working correctly? Would it be worth it to ask for a monitored all-natural cycle complete with ultrasounds and blood work just to see what my body is capable of doing on its own?

I understand that my RE is following proper protocol for treating unexplained infertility. What I don’t understand is why I am being pumped full of ovulation stimulants when I obviously have no problem ovulating on my own?

Ugggh. I’m so tired of the same old, never-ending, story.

17 Responses to “It’s Like a Freaking Gumball Machine In There”

  1. Roxxroxx August 21, 2012 at 5:32 am #

    Poor thing. I hope you get some good luck soon xx

  2. Emily @ablanket2keep August 20, 2012 at 10:02 am #

    I’m sorry that is so frustrating! I had 5 follicles on our last cycle and some of the Drs wanted to cancel because of the risk of multiples. My RE however, brought up the fact that we also have MFI to deal with so our chances are lower. I’m glad they didn’t cancel because it worked! One of the blogs I read ended up having I think it was 8 follicles and they canceled the IUI and was told not to have sex. Well they did and she is now pregnant with 4 healthy babies. Has your Dr said anything about injectables? Sometimes they can control the follicles a lot better because they can adjust the dose depending on what they find.

    Hoping and praying you have 2 or 3 food mature follicles in there and the rest are too small.

    • Jenn August 20, 2012 at 11:00 am #

      Thanks for the hopes and prayers! My doctor has yet to mention injectibles–I’m not sure why, I’ll have to ask her about that. I just hope the cycle doesn’t get cancelled altogether.

  3. robin August 19, 2012 at 10:02 am #

    That is a lot of stuff growing in your ovaries … I hope they self-select and you only get 3-4 mature follicles. 😦 Can you send those questions to your RE somehow?

    • Jenn August 20, 2012 at 11:01 am #

      That’s what I am hoping for. I had another u/s this morning, so I’ll update the blog shortly 🙂

  4. Lindsay August 19, 2012 at 9:26 am #

    Ughh…I can only imagine!!! I had 4 maybe even 5 mature follicles at the time of my IUI and we almost cancelled because we were so concerned about multiples. Any more than that and we defiintely would have cancelled. Nothing worse than hearing news like this, but better to take care of your body and get ready for the next cycle. Thinking of you and hope it all works out.

    • Jenn August 20, 2012 at 11:02 am #

      Thanks lady. The most I have had before this is 4 and no one ever said anything about cancelling. I think my RE would like to see 5 at most but even then she’ll still talk to us about potential selective reduction 😦

  5. amy August 18, 2012 at 9:54 pm #

    Oh Jenn, you are prob soo frustrated!! I’m sorry 😦 Man, I don’t know about those meds if you seem to ovulate ok? I totally say go for the monitored all natural cycle…that would be so interesting to do and see what your body is doing on its own! As far as doing timed intercourse if they cancel, I prob would…but yes that’s risky. I can’t answer any hyper stimulation questions or whatever you call it, as I don’t have that issue…I don’t have enough little eggies to have that issue lol. Good luck and keep us posted 🙂

    • Jenn August 20, 2012 at 11:03 am #

      At the rate I’m producing the eggs, I’m afraid I’m going to run out soon 😦 I think I am definitely going to try for the monitored natural cycle, but I guess we’ll see what my RE has to say.

  6. A Sweet Life August 18, 2012 at 9:41 pm #

    I understand your frustrations. Our first cycle on Clomid I was totally hyperstimulated! I had produced 13 follicles! So we canceled because we didn’t want to become octo-mom. Just as a fair warning, if you have multiple ovulations like that, it will be painful. I had a hard time walking the next day as I was in so much pain. You will have tons of free fluid in your abdomen, and you will be bloated!
    Anyway, I am sorry that you may have to cancel this cycle. I understand that pain. But it sounds like maybe doing a natural cycle to see how it goes could be a good idea.
    Best of luck on everything!

    • Jenn August 20, 2012 at 11:04 am #

      Ah, I’m totally freaking out about the pain. I’m expected to ovulate the day we have to drive 3 hours to the beach. I’ve been looking forward to this vacation for so long….at least I won’t be at work and I can sit down and rest. Thanks for the heads up!

  7. veetamia August 18, 2012 at 5:41 pm #

    Same here – I don’t have PCOS but “polycystic looking ovaries” like you described yours. Same thing happened on our first IUI cycle, got prescribed 100mg of Clomid and 1000 (!) of Metformin (looking back I should have been more involved and outspoken about the treatment….seems to me that doctors are very quick to diagnose PCOS even though all the sx are not present). I ended up with 5 huge follicules, horrible sideffects (mainly tiredness, and mood swings), and a cancelled cycle. We still went ahead and had sex, and it hurt like hell! Apparently it was the pressure from the enlarged ovaries. I called the nurse on call and got an earful about our “irresponsibility”. We didn’t get pregnant though. Didn’t even get a positive OPK – either I missed the testing window or the follicules didn’t rupture b/c I didn’t trigger. Sigh…I’m sorry your going through something similar.
    Sending hugs

    • Jenn August 20, 2012 at 11:06 am #

      Ugggh, that sounds terrible lady! I’m not sure if I will ovulate without the trigger or not, but I do usually get positive OPK each month, but who freaking knows at this point???

  8. drunnermom August 18, 2012 at 1:42 pm #

    wow i could have written this post a year and a half ago!! same (sort of ) thing happened to me. I was given follistim (even though i had NO egg quality issues- just ovulation ones) and when i went for a ultrasound on day 10 I had 8 full size eggs and they cancelled the cycle- and yes I lost out on the insurance coverage for the monitoring and drugs, but not on the IUI since we never got to that point.

    I know exactly how frustrated you are- especially if you are feeling that you are on some generic protocal they follow for everyone, but you def do not want to be in a sitauation where you have timed intercourse if you have the possibility of many eggs- unless you are willing to selectively reduce any pregnancies. I just knew that if I had 3 fertilized embryos (or what could have been 8) that I would not be able to reduce and then I would be putting my health and the health of our babies in jeopardy. selective reduction is done AFTER you see ultrasounds and hearts beating and everything- I just couldnt do it. FYI from what I understand Kate (from john and kate plus 8) was told not to proceed knowing there was a lot of eggs and she went ahead anyway- not sure if this is fact of not 🙂

    I can’t speak to the cysts much other than I know of many people with PCOS who had no infertility issues and were able to get pregnant- although they are select cases. I think the cysts could get in the way, but they may not hinder a pregnancy either.

    As far as the pregnitude- how long have you been taking it? It would have to be some strong strong stuff to make that big of a difference if you have only being taking it a month or so.

    The day my cycle was cancelled was the lowest point of my journey. I was so overstimulated and in pain added to the every other day monitoring (with a 1 hour drive at 6 am)- not to mention the shots my husband was giving me. With that said, it was a turning point for me to look into other routes to get pregnant- but that is just my journey.

    Try as hard as you can to stay in the moment and not worry too much about the insurance. One of the things I tell myself when I am on a long run and want to give up is to remember to “stay in the mile I am in.” You can’t go back and it doesn’t do you any good to go too far ahead (I know this is hard).

    Sorry for the novel . . . .I just SOOO know where you are. Feel free to email me if you want to vent or you want to call me. I am curious to see what clinic you are going to . . .
    hugs from here- take deep breaths.

    • jell jell @ I'll Sleep When They're Grown August 18, 2012 at 3:01 pm #

      You’ve got some good insight there.

      • Jenn August 20, 2012 at 11:25 am #

        Thanks Jell!

    • Jenn August 20, 2012 at 11:25 am #

      Thanks lady! I’m starting to get really worries about the pain associated with overstimulation. We got a little glimmer of hope at this morning’s u/s, but I’ll write more about that later.

      My husband and I have discussed selective reduction. I think I could do it for 4 or more, but three would be a REALLY difficult decision. It’s a possibility we are open to, but would much prefer to avoid. Plus my husband said he is staying as far away from me as possible if there are more than 4 follicles in there 🙂

      My RE is at the Fertility Center at Johns Hopkins at Greenspring Station in Lutherville. Luckily it’s about a 10 minute drive from my house.

      Thanks for everything, it help so much to know I’m not the only one what has experienced this. Good luck on your first day back to work! xoxo

Click Here to Comment

