There’s Hope (However Small) For Me Yet

20 Aug

Welp, I had my CD 12 u/s this morning and I think it went better than CD 10’s.

This RE told me that she read in my chart about all the cysts that were present on CD 10 but that she was only going to measure the ones that were likely to mature. There are 8 of them, all measuring around 13mm. I go back on Thursday (CD 15) for another ultrasound in the hopes that only two or three have matured. If that’s the case then I will trigger on Thursday. If there are more than 4 then the cycle will be cancelled. Lucky for me (sense the sarcasm?) I am leaving for the beach on Thursday night. Nothing better than being super bloated in a bikini, except maybe being super bloated and trying to get in the mood for sexy time.

One thing that is definitely different for me in the game of Clomid vs. Femara (other than the Perdue factory I am currently incubating) is that with Clomid I was always ready to trigger on CD 12. It’s really weird to be waiting until CD 15. But I guess we’ll see what happens….

A few of you warned me about ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome (OHSS) in my last post and now I am starting to get worried! I really do appreciate the heads up, but now I need the facts šŸ™‚ What can I expect? How long will it last? On a scale of 1-10, how painful will it be?

In other news, I have decided to discontinue taking Pregnitude. When I initially read that it causes an “additive effect” when combined with an SSRI, I thought, GREAT! I’m going to make super eggs AND get an extra boost of Zoloft-like effects. Bonus! Well, I don’t know if the Pregnitude had anything to do with the bazillion follicles I made this cycle, but I do know that it amped up my Zoloft side effects. And not in a good way.

I had a few drinks on Saturday night and ended up blacking out. I ate plenty of food, had maybe 4 drinks in the course of 3 hours, and yet I don’t remember much after 10pm. This is not okay with me and since I need the Zoloft more than the Pregnitude, it has to go. I know that ordinarily alcohol intake should be monitored when taken with an SSRI, but I have NEVER had this issue before. Logic would lead me to believe that the combination of these two things do not mix well in my body.

However, this is good news for one of you…I have about 20 days supply left and I would like to give it away to the first person to email me and claim it for themselves. My email is jennford919@gmail.com. A word to the wise, if you are on an SSRI I would suggest staying far away from it. Unless you’d prefer to stay far away from alcohol instead. But, seriously, who are we kidding? Wine is an infertile girl’s best friend šŸ™‚

**Update: Pregnitude has been claimed.

6 Responses to “There’s Hope (However Small) For Me Yet”

  1. Emily @ablanket2keep August 22, 2012 at 1:21 pm #

    Oh the blacking out sounds scary! I hope that was it and it never happens again! Come on follies! Only 3 of you grow!

  2. storkchaser August 20, 2012 at 8:41 pm #

    ok I’m really hoping only a couple of those follies mature!!! my friend went through this while on her injectable cycles and it was so stressful for me to wait for each U/S to find out the count and number lol!!!! so i need updates woman! good luck and have fun at the beach! maybe you can paint a picture of the baseball team you’re growing in there on your belly! šŸ˜‰ Crazy about the Pregnitude, btw!!! Maybe I’ll stick with it and stay off the drugs for another month! I just started taking it a couple of days ago and i’m already almost mid-cycle…

  3. jell jell @ I'll Sleep When They're Grown August 20, 2012 at 1:43 pm #

    Good luck, ladycakes! You know I’m always rooting for ya!

    • Jenn August 20, 2012 at 3:09 pm #

      I know you are lady, and it is MUCH appreciated!

  4. robin August 20, 2012 at 12:39 pm #

    Whoa that is scary about blacking out! Glad you are okay though!

    I don’t know if 8 follicles would turn into OHSS. Maybe mention that you are worried about it to your dr next time you go in, but if only 8 of them are measuring 13mm then maybe it’s not a concern anymore. I reaaaallly hope you only have 2 or 3 mature so you don’t have to cancel the cycle. šŸ˜¦

    • Jenn August 20, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

      I’m hoping you are right. There are at least 20 in there, but only 8 are large enough, so I don’t really know what that will mean. Oh well, guess there’s no going back now šŸ˜¦

Click Here to Comment

