Operation: Happy Living Child-Free In The Meantime

7 Sep

I had a great discussion with a friend of mine the other day about how different my life looks right now than what I had imagined. We also talked about my life’s purpose. I have always maintained that deep down in my heart I know my life’s purpose is to be a mother. I am coming to terms with the fact that that just isn’t where I am right now, but that doesn’t mean I can’t be happy right now. I made a list of all the parts of me, emotions, feelings, and life-goals that I associate with becoming a mother and decided that there are other ways in which I can fulfill those desire without being a mother. Thus Operation: Happy Living Child-Free In The Meantime was born. Pun Intended. Today is the first installment.

No offense to all my pregnant readers, but one thing that I can be happy about right now is that my body is still my own. I have no stretch marks, uncomfortable pains, or any of the not-so-great things associated with being pregnant. I can drink wine, eat deli meat, and do sit-ups. So my first goal is to mold my body into what I have always wanted it to be. I am doing this by taking up running as a hobby and I just signed up for my first 5k on September 22nd. I WILL run the whole thing. And whilst I am doing so I will love my body because it can run. Because it is my body and the freedom of running makes my heart and my muscles happy.

Plus, I have a really cool team name: Rapid Thigh Movement.

I can do this, ladies. I can stop living life like I might be pregnant at any moment. Instead I can live in that moment and make the most of what it has to offer. I have a whole list of things I plan to do in the “meantime” space and I must admit that I’m really looking forward to all of them. I am living and loving my life as Jenn. Just the Jenn of here and now. Not Future Jenn or at least what I have conjured her up to be.

Thanks so EACH and EVERY one of you for your unwavering support. xoxo

 

19 Responses to “Operation: Happy Living Child-Free In The Meantime”

  1. bohemian blonde September 8, 2012 at 8:10 am #

    hope you don’t mind but i linked to this entry in a blog post. if you mind let me know and i’ll delete it. i just felt it was so powerful. thank you for writing it πŸ™‚ http://bohemianblondelife.blogspot.com/2012/09/30-days-of-truth-something-you-hope-to.html

    • Jenn September 8, 2012 at 10:39 am #

      Go for it! I don’t mind at all πŸ™‚

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. jell jell @ I'll Sleep When They're Grown September 8, 2012 at 12:14 am #

    Oh that is so powerful. “I can stop living life like I might be pregnant at any moment.” This is a time for you, Jenn. I’m so glad you’re looking at it that way!

  3. robin September 7, 2012 at 6:50 pm #

    I love that team name!

  4. Theresa September 7, 2012 at 5:53 pm #

    HAAAAAAAAA love that team name!! So excited you’re going to run a 5k!! I get excited when people decide to start running…..its the best therapy. And I love your plan. The most important thing is that you take care of yourself.

  5. K.Smitty September 7, 2012 at 4:41 pm #

    Your team name is AWESOME!!! Best of luck on the 5k!
    I hope this break is a good thing for you. I can tell you….it certainly was freeing for me when I finally gave up on treating my body like it was an empty shrine. I was so much happier and finally felt like myself again. I hope this works out for you too πŸ™‚ I’m happy for you! You sound like you’re happier with yourself too. Keep it up!
    xo

  6. bohemian blonde September 7, 2012 at 4:08 pm #

    add reading “eat, pray, love” to your list because it is a feel good story and better than the movie which was ehhh

  7. bohemian blonde September 7, 2012 at 4:07 pm #

    i’m in the same boat. decided to make the most of my “me time” that i have before we are three because it has been taking too long and was too depressing (literal depression) living like i might be pregnant and then not being pregnant. too much to handle. i loved the book ‘the happiness project’ and she has a second book that just came out. make a list of things you love to do and do them. i tell my husband if we’re still not pregnant in 2 years we can talk about adopting but until then i’ll be damned if i’m going to let life pass me by with nothing to show for it. good for you! go enjoy the world!

  8. Shelley September 7, 2012 at 3:03 pm #

    What an inspiration this post is! Can I join the operation? For reals, I’m all about this.

    • Jenn September 7, 2012 at 3:11 pm #

      Absolutely! Everyone is free to join. The more the merrier!! Can’t wait to read about it πŸ™‚

  9. RainbowCatcher September 7, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

    I just had a follow-up appointment after my third mc in six months, and I was told that we should wait about six months before we TTC again to give my body a break. So I’ve been thinking about what I’m going to do in the meantime, and I absolutely love this post. I’m totally going to make my own list–hubby and I were already planning on doing P90X after my bleeding stops, and sitting here, I can already think of some more things I want to do. Thanks for the inspiration :o)

  10. Sunny September 7, 2012 at 2:36 pm #

    LOVE this post. lady! I’m right there with you. Signing up for the Malibu Marathon in November, and starting to train! There is a NY Times non fiction best seller called The Happiness Project which I think you might enjoy. Keep doing things that make you and your body feel good!

    • Jenn September 7, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

      Thanks lady! I;ve actually meaning to check out that book. Good luck marathon training. That shit is brutal!

  11. Jen September 7, 2012 at 2:27 pm #

    I LOVE this! I have been working on the same thing myself – if we’re not pregnant right now, why not have some FUN while we’re in this crappy waiting period? I decided last month to live it up while I can! I’m running as much as I want, going skydiving, I even smoked pot for the first time! Good for you for making the choice to enjoy yourself while still “not pregnant” !!!

    • Jenn September 7, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

      That all sounds like so much fun! It’s really funny because I’ve been noticing a trend this week of a lot of TTCers admitting to smoking pot. Guess we all do just need to relax πŸ™‚

      • Sunny September 8, 2012 at 10:20 am #

        Haha! I second that whole pot smoking thing πŸ™‚

  12. EmHart September 7, 2012 at 1:09 pm #

    This is a really inspirational post for me at the moment as working out how to make the most of ‘the meantime’ is something I am struggling with. You have inspired me to write my own list. I love the tone and the message of this post and I hope we can both really find ways to embrace and enjoy the now.

    • Jenn September 7, 2012 at 3:09 pm #

      I hope so too! Feel free to share your list if you’d like πŸ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Operation: Happy Living Child-Free in the Meantime « The Future Fords - September 20, 2012

    […] Welcome to installment two. You can read more about this project and installment one by clicking here. […]

Click Here to Comment

