Photo Challenge–Painkiller Edition

12 Sep

Welp, ladies, here I go again playing catch-up.

I am participating in Em’s September Photo Challenge. September has really gotten away from me so here I am on Day 12 just getting started. Eh, better late than never, right?

So without further ado….

Day 1: Beginning

This is me as a baby a.k.a. the beginning of my life. Obviously I didn’t take this picture, but I’m trying to work with what I got.

Day 2: Fire

Impromptu get together in my backyard complete with candles on the table.

Day 3: White

For some reason this was a really hard prompt for me. I ended up choosing the above picture of me and my bridesmaids on my wedding day because I am wearing a white shirt. Unoriginal? Maybe. But I really love this picture.

Day 4: School

I chose this picture of my desk because it has some of my books in the picture. I was an English major and therefore a hoarder of books. Please pardon my totally unflattering outfit.

Day 5: Pure

Ah. Babies. Is there really anything more pure? This is me holding my BFF’s sister’s (who is like a little sister to me) daughter. There was one moment where I freaked out and felt like I couldn’t handle holding her any longer, but then she nestled into my chest and all was righted in my world in that moment. I really need to get me one those.

Day 6: Book

I carry a book with me everywhere. Well, actually I carry my Kindle with me everywhere and I keep this in my car for back-up. My second favorite book of all time: Still Life With Woodpecker by Tom Robbins. You should read it.

Day 7: Golden

This would be me and the aforementioned BFF who is on town visiting from Seattle this week. We went to Bethany Beach this past weekend and it was amazing. I absolutely love having her around.

Day 8: Music

I should be more ashamed to post this picture. it may very well be the worst picture I have ever taken, but alas I am confined to my couch (more on that in a moment) and I needed to take a quick pic for this prompt. It’s my tank top that reads “Rock me mama like a wagon wheel”–a lyric from one of my favorite bands, Old Crow Medicine Show.

Day 9: Honey

This here is local honey. I have terrible spring allergies and I read that consuming honey that is local to where you live can help reduce one’s reaction. I’ll let you know how this works for me come next spring.

Day 10: Morning

Mmmmmm. Decaf iced coffee.

Day 11: Blue

This. Dress. I. Love. I have to tell you guys about the most amazing service that I found. It’s called StitchFix. Basically you go to their website, enter info about your size, taste, likes, dislikes, price points, desires, etc and then a stylist sends you a box of clothes. You pay a $20 styling fee but that money will then get applied to whatever you decide to purchase from the box they mail you. I purchased this dress from my very first Fix and am so in love with it! I am currently waiting for my second Fix to arrive any day now. It’s like Christmas every time a box arrives and I really couldn’t recommend this service any more highly.

If you want to check it out for yourself, use this link http://stitchfix.com/users/signup/?referrer_id=3022030 The service is still in beta so you might get wait listed for a few days, but it’s easier to get in if you use a referral link. Let me know if you decide to try and what you think.

Day 12: Run

I broke my foot last night (hence writing under the influence of painkillers–I hope you’ll forgive me). I stepped off of a stoop and misjudged the distance to the ground. When I landed my foot twisted and I heard a pop. I broke the outside bone on my foot. The orthopedist said that if the break has been 3mm more then it would have required surgery. Luckily (?!?!) I only be on crutches for 2 weeks and then in the soft cast/boot for 8 weeks. However, I won’t be able to run until it is fully healed which will take about 6 months. Thank goodness that walking with crutches seems to be a major workout. My good leg, my arms, and my abs (ha!) are already sore.

So, there you have it. 13 days worth of photos. I am going to do my best to get pictures for all of the remaining prompts, but it might be difficult given my limited mobility. I also have to call my RE tomorrow morning to see if I should continue with the Femara since I am also on Percocet. We shall see.

 

xoxo

 

22 Responses to “Photo Challenge–Painkiller Edition”

  1. expecting to be expecting September 16, 2012 at 12:54 pm #

    Oh my goodness! I live in FEAR of breaking anything during a run. You poor, poor thing.

    Hugs to you during recovery, that just SUCKS.

    I’ve had good success with the local honey- plus it tastes good.

    Must look up that style site as I love your laser cut detail on the dress!

  2. searching for middle ground September 14, 2012 at 4:51 pm #

    You ARE gorg! Also, when can I come spend some time in that backyard of yours?! I love that table – did you make it? I need deets! Love the backyard!

    • Jenn September 14, 2012 at 4:58 pm #

      You are too sweet! My husband made the table and you are welcome any time! I have a lovely guest room 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. storkchaser September 13, 2012 at 6:17 pm #

    Eeeek!! So sorry about your foot, but glad you escaped surgery. The rest of your post was awesome. Feel free to post on painkillers any time!

    • Jenn September 13, 2012 at 6:33 pm #

      Ha! Thanks 🙂 You might just get your wish a couple times this week.

  4. Shelley September 13, 2012 at 4:50 pm #

    So sorry about your foot – ouch! And I ❤ Still Life so very much. My best friend read a quote from it during our wedding ceremony!

    • Jenn September 13, 2012 at 5:56 pm #

      Thanks lady!

      Sent from my iPhone

  5. Sunny September 13, 2012 at 11:13 am #

    Nooooo!!!! Jennnnnnnn!!! This sucks. I’m so sorry about your foot. Make sure to rest up, and if you haven’t started watching Breaking Bad already, I would highly recommend that as great couch viewing 🙂

    • Jenn September 13, 2012 at 11:20 am #

      THanks Sunny. Sucks big time! I will definitely add Breaking Bad to my queue, my husband has been watching it and love it.

  6. bohemian blonde September 13, 2012 at 10:45 am #

    oh no! you poor thing! guess the 5k will be a walk or not happen. at least this will help you with your goal of taking time to take care of yourself. just trying to find the silver lining here! ❤

    • Jenn September 13, 2012 at 11:04 am #

      yeah, no 5k for me. I’m totally bummed about that. But you’re right in that it will definitely force myself to slow down and take care of me 🙂

  7. Kathryn September 13, 2012 at 9:11 am #

    Oh noes! I’m so sorry to hear about your foot! 😦 Sometimes when it rains it pours. I hope you can use this as an excuse to lie around and watch some of your favorite movies and take naps and just take it easy…. 🙂

    • Jenn September 13, 2012 at 10:36 am #

      Thanks lady! You better believe I have some serious DVR shows to catch up on! And ice cream to eat 🙂

  8. Kristin September 12, 2012 at 10:56 pm #

    It is super fun to put a face to a blog! I’m so sorry to hear about your foot. What a bummer. I hope that the Percocet doesn’t blow the cycle!

    • Jenn September 13, 2012 at 10:35 am #

      Me too. Just waiting for the RE to call me back. Unfortunately I really need the Percocet.

  9. K.Smitty September 12, 2012 at 10:36 pm #

    I cannot believe you broke your poor foot! I hope you heal REALLY fast 🙂
    Your pics are fabulous! Super jealous of your local honey. I also have bad allergies and have heard it helps too, but I’m kind of at a loss on where to find it in my area. Woe is me….
    and ohmygosh, that dress is gorgeous! I really want to check out that website!!
    I’m also kind of jealous of how clean your desk is…
    Well, I hope you enjoy what I’m sure is much needed REST and that those pain killers treat you nice! xo

    • Jenn September 13, 2012 at 10:34 am #

      Thanks lady 🙂 I’d send you some local honey but then it wouldn’t be local to you, haha. Check your natural food grocery stores. That’s where I found ours.

  10. jell jell @ I'll Sleep When They're Grown September 12, 2012 at 10:26 pm #

    Great pics! I feel like I don’t get to see pics of your face very much. It was fun slash you’re adorable. And you broke your LEG last night?! So sorry!

    • Jenn September 12, 2012 at 10:29 pm #

      Why thank you very much, Mrs. Jell Jell. I really should post more pictures but they never seem to relate to what I am writing about. Oh well. Yup. Broke my foot last night. Super lame. And painful 😦

      • jell jell @ I'll Sleep When They're Grown September 12, 2012 at 10:33 pm #

        I have never broken anything but I will admit this: When I was a tween I really wanted to wear a cast so I TRIED to break my arm. This was around the time I wanted glasses and braces. So just think, some version of me is jealous of your cast!

        But I have sprained my ankle several times and it effing hurts for a million years so the current version of me is extremely sympathetic!

  11. Jen September 12, 2012 at 10:12 pm #

    Well, look at you!!! You’re gorgeous!

    And I love these picture challenges – you can learn so much! Such a bummer about the broken foot! Sounds like it could have been worse, but ugh, what a pain.

    AND. I. LOVE. OLD CROW MEDICINE SHOW! Seen ’em in concert, obsessed with Wagon Wheel. Do you know of “the Avett Brothers”? Favorite band ever. Old Crow – esque (but better, I think.).

    Thanks for sharing!

    • Jenn September 12, 2012 at 10:22 pm #

      Thank ya lady, what a sweet thing to say 🙂

      I LOVE the Avett Brothers. Getting super into The Lumineers lately, as well.

Click Here to Comment

