Photo Challenge–My Foot Is Still Broken Edition

18 Sep

Still here. Still participating in EmHart’s photo challenge. Still on crutches.

You’ll have to forgive me. I tried to follow the prompts as best I could, but it’s really hard for me to get around these days so I had to use what pictures I already have on my phone.

And we’re off……

Day 13: Roald Dahl

I must confess that I never actually read one of his books, poems, or plays. I have, however, seen the few that have been turned into movies. I must also confess that I did not talk this picture myself unless you count left clicking “save image as” from my computer.  I found this quote and it really spoke to me as did the background. I am sucker for colorful, geometric prints.

Day 14: Grain

So yeah. I actually took this picture about 6 months ago. I was throwing a bridal shower and spilled a whole bag of M&Ms all over my floor right before everyone arrived. Oy. But that has nothing to do with this prompt. Instead, you should focus on the beautiful grain of my wood floors. I belive they are oak and they are the very first thing that made me want to buy our house.

Day 15: Alice In Wonderland

Forgive me. This one is a little bit of a stretch. Now for two background stories that will eventually converge to convey the meaning of this picture.

1. I have always been a beer or wine girl. Never really cared too much for hard liquor in general. That is until I met the Dark and Stormy. This has been my new obsession as of late. It’s really just a bit of dark rum combined with real ginger beer. SO GOOD!

2. I have an old friend from high school who, let’s just say, no one really expected him to do much with his life. Fast forward 10 years later and he is an executive chef in the midst of opening two restaurants in the Baltimore area. One of this restaurants is called Fleet Street Kitchen and it is slated to open for business in 2 days. He invited myself, my husband, and 3 of our friends to friends/family night last night and I must say it was the best food I had eaten in some time. No joke. My appetizer was carmelized sea scallops with lima beans, sweet potato puree, and mandarin orange. Three of those things are things that I would never put in my mouth, but I do not lie when I tell you that I could eat it every day for the rest of my life. When in Baltimore be sure to stop in and grab a meal!

3. And here is where they come together. This particular restaurant also had a great cocktail menu. One of the drinks was called a Kazem’s Mule and is basically a ramped up Dark and Stormy. Dark rum, black lime juice, allspice, and locally made ginger beer. Yum. I also learned that apparently this drink it meant to be served in a copper cup with a metal straw. So it was. It definitely reminds me of something that might have been served at the Mad Hatter’s Tea Party…because you know there wasn’t just tea in those cups 🙂

Day 16: New

Again this was a difficult one for me based on my inability to photograph anything that wasn’t in my immediate view. So I thought I would show you a picture of my Darlin’s new-ish haircut. Oh, and a gratuitous picture of my favorite”nephew” Wyatt. So handsome, the both of ’em.  Yes, the baby is in a bar but it was for a good cause. The Ravens were playing! No worries though, we limited him to one drink. He did have to drive after all 😉

Day 17: Garden

Believe me when I say that you don’t want to see a picture of my garden in its current state. We have barely had time to mow let alone weed the darn thing. I’m sure my neighbors love me. Whatever, I’ll just wave my crutch at them and tell them to suck it.

So this picture is of the great flower mystery of 2012. I broke my foot on a Wednesday. I came back to work on a Thursday and this was sitting on my desk. I asked everyone in my office if they gave them to me. Side note: It’s really awkward to ask someone if they bought you flowers and have them say no. Really I just wanted to thank the responsible party, but no one has owned up to it. I only have about 15 co-workers and not a one of them will take credit or give credit. They weren’t delivered by a company so that’s a dead-end and I checked with my husband, other family, and friends. It appears that I have a secret admirer and it is driving me crazy!

Day 18: Fashion

I really wish I had a better picture of myself to post for this because, well, I love clothes. I believe I have mentioned before that I have a slight shopping addiction. But I have come up with a cure! One of my BFFs (pictured below) decided that she needed a wardrobe update and asked me to be her personal shopper. I get to pick out one article of clothing/shoes per week and she has to buy it, no questions asked. Obviously I keep it reasonably priced and send things that I think would look good on her and so far I have been having so much fun! The one trap I need to avoid is the “one for you, one for me” mentality. So far, I have picked out a wrap dress, a pair of wedge boots (I confess I purchased a pair myself), and a fun tribal-patterned sheath dress. And as an added bonus, I am spending less money on myself.

Here is a picture of me and my future fashionista.

5 Responses to “Photo Challenge–My Foot Is Still Broken Edition”

  1. Lindsay September 18, 2012 at 6:01 pm #

    Are those Christmas m and m’s…my favorite!!!!! Hope your foot heals quickly!

    • Jenn September 18, 2012 at 6:24 pm #

      I think they are 🙂 perhaps this picture is older thank I thought…..

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. EmHart September 18, 2012 at 2:45 pm #

    Well done for soldiering on even whilst incapacitated. I love your floors, really gorgeous and I think the quiff looks fabulous.

    • Jenn September 18, 2012 at 3:21 pm #

      Not gonna lie, I definitely had to Google quiff 🙂 Thanks Em!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Positivity Looks Good on You! | Tales of Magicality - January 1, 2014

    […] As seen on The Future Fords… […]

Click Here to Comment

