Operation: Happy Living Child-Free in the Meantime

20 Sep

Welcome to installment two. You can read more about this project and installment one by clicking here.

Another reason that I know I am called to be a mother is that I have a huge amount of love to give. It is the one part of me that never runs empty regardless of how many different directions I am pulled. One of the things I want most out of my life is to be someone’s refuge, to be known as that safe place where he/she is always welcome. I want to feel like home to someone. I want to be someone’s warm blanket when they are wrapped in my arms and I want my very presence to be that reassuring fact that everything is going to be okay.

If I could bottle happiness and unconditional love then that would be my signature scent.

I have decided to be a volunteer as a Wish Granter for the Make A Wish Foundation. I asked me husband to do it along with me because they require teams of two but I think he is still on the fence because, you know, the child that you are paired with only has so much time left. He isn’t sure that he can handle getting to know and then grieving for a child in such a short period of time. It certainly isn’t something that I am looking forward to experiencing, but I feel I can overlook that part because of all the wonderful things that will happen in the meantime.

I believe that children are much wiser than we give them credit for. Who knows, maybe the child I am paired with will end up teaching me a little something. This is something that I have wanted to do for years and I am finally ready to step up to the plate. I have already submitted my request for more information and now I am just waiting for my local chapter to match me with a child in Baltimore.

So far, I have learned that this what I will be responsible for:

“This involves conducting an initial interview with the wish family to determine the child’s wish, helping the family fill out the required paperwork, working with Make-A-Wish® staff to help fulfill the wish, sending small reminder gifts to keep the child engaged while waiting for their wish and throwing a wish party for the child when the wish is granted.”

Easy right? At least compared to the wonderful payoff that the child will be receiving.

Not to mention that huge payoff that I will be receiving as I focus on this in my time of need a.k.a the meantime. I’ve been told that volunteering is not as altruistic as one might think. Rather it is a mutually beneficial relationship where in both parties take something away in order to fill a need. So, yes, I am doing this for both myself and the future family that I am paired with. It feels good 🙂

9 Responses to “Operation: Happy Living Child-Free in the Meantime”

  1. K.Smitty September 21, 2012 at 7:07 pm #

    Love this post! Sorry I’m a little late catching up, but I’m so excited to hear you’re having some new adventures! I’m sure it will be an emotional journey but I think you’ll both find it so rewarding and unforgettable. Best of luck, Jen! xo

  2. The Benda Family September 21, 2012 at 6:36 pm #

    Sooo great! ❤

  3. jell jell @ I'll Sleep When They're Grown September 21, 2012 at 3:47 pm #

    Love it love it love it. That’s a perfect way to spread this goodness inside of you. Keep us posted!

  4. amy September 21, 2012 at 12:45 pm #

    Wow…that’s so awesome 🙂 Can’t wait to hear all about it! And, I love your description of what you want to be to someone. I say that ALL the time! I don’t have anyone in my life (not even my dear hubs) who truly NEEDS me. I want to be needed so bad, I feel the love you are talking about…all bottled up, ready to fill a little someone’s life with it. Made me tear up….you are good at that 😉 I need to go back and read your others posts, I’ve popped in but can’t seem to finish what I start to read! xoxo

  5. Theresa September 20, 2012 at 7:59 pm #

    cool!!! Keep us posted! Can’t wait to read about it!

  6. Detour September 20, 2012 at 7:01 pm #

    Um, I love this. What an amazing opportunity for you, and I really admire you for taking the step. This post has me smiling. 🙂

  7. Pcosbarrenness September 20, 2012 at 5:12 pm #

    That is so amazing! I’ve been volunteering as a foster at our local humane society for kittens who are sick and I think I benefit from it almost as much as they do too. It is a good feeling to be needed!

  8. Shelley September 20, 2012 at 4:26 pm #

    Good for you, Jenn! I never heard of a Wish Granter before but it sounds completely amazing. Please continue to share as much of that journey as you’re allowed. It really does sound amazing.

  9. storkchaser September 20, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

    Wow this is awesome!!! I’m so proud to “know” you. Keep us updated on how this goes!

Click Here to Comment

