I Have an STD and I Couldn’t Be Happier!

27 Sep

But I will get to that in a moment…

I briefly mentioned that this past Monday I went to a new RE for a second opinion infertility consultation. I wasn’t exactly wowed by the the guy, but he did suggest two things:

1. Retest my prolactin levels. When I first started on this journey many, many moons ago the first red flag was the my prolactin levels were slightly elevated. However, since I am ovulating on my own anyway then it really shouldn’t be a problem. I have to go get a fasting blood test which I plan to do next week just to see if those levels have come down into the normal range.

2. Test my cervical mucus for a bacteria called ureaplasma.

Usually it takes about 2 weeks to get the results from the culture, but this morning the RE’s office called me to tell me that I am positive for the bacteria. I have an STD! This bacteria can live in one’s system for years without any symptoms. It is rarely tested for in a routine STD work up because not many doctors are familiar with it which is why it was never found before this point. Now, I have been monogamous with my husband for about 9 years so who knows how long it’s been chilling in my CM, but nonetheless it is there.

I’m being a little facetious about it being an STD because it can also be transmitted through blood, sweat, and saliva so who knows how I got it. But the good (???) news is that this bacteria has been known to cause infertility and miscarriages and it is simple to treat. Both my husband and I have to take a 10 day course of antibiotics and it should eradicate it from my system. He has to be treated concurrently just in case the pesky little bug is also chilling in his urethra.

I know I have said this before, but I can’t help but think that this may explain the otherwise unexplainable infertility. And the timing couldn’t be more perfect. A 10 day treatment has me taking my last dose on 10/8 a.k.a CD 1 of my next cycle. Just in time to start my next round of Clomid and schedule my IUI. I’m feeling good about this ladies.

My PSA for the day: Ask your doctor to test you for the ureaplasma bacteria because you just never know. I certainly didn’t!

*On a totally unrelated note, don’t forget to join me on the October Writing Prompts. <—-Click that link to read more about it.

26 Responses to “I Have an STD and I Couldn’t Be Happier!”

  1. Christina @ According To C September 28, 2012 at 5:31 am #

    Well who knew?? I’m glad it’s easily gotten rid of and that it might be the missing link! 🙂

  2. alie September 27, 2012 at 10:47 pm #

    I totally understand being happy about it — problems (like weird unknown stds) have solutions; mysterious unexplained things don’t. Glad to hear the solution for your problem will be an easy one… and will hopefully also be the solution for getting pregnant as well!

  3. Shelley September 27, 2012 at 7:34 pm #

    This is so interesting, I’ve never heard of it! Of course, I can’t help but wonder if I have it too. I’m definitely keeping this in mind – thank you so much for the enlightenment!

  4. Stupid Stork September 27, 2012 at 6:44 pm #

    Reading that title in my newsfeed made me sooo…. happy….

    And now I hope I have one.

    • Jessica September 28, 2012 at 12:20 pm #

      lol! I’m feeling the same way. 😉

  5. Theresa September 27, 2012 at 6:42 pm #

    YAY for STDS!…..uh, right?
    But for real, YAY for finding a REASON!

  6. Lindsay September 27, 2012 at 6:34 pm #

    Holy cow!!!! This may be the answer to your prayers!!! I had high prolactin and they put me on bromocriptine and that helped even out my cycles and ovulate earlier…yay for getting answers!!!

  7. jell jell @ I'll Sleep When They're Grown September 27, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

    It seems so simple! As simple as a needle in a haystack. Good luck!

  8. nonsequiturchica September 27, 2012 at 3:06 pm #

    It feels odd to congratulate you on finding out you have an STD, but hopefully that is the obstacle that has been keeping you from getting pregnant! I’ll have to talk to my new RE about getting this test done myself…. Thanks for the info!

    • Jenn September 27, 2012 at 4:37 pm #

      Definitely get tested. It’s super easy and you never know. I’m not pretending it’s a cure-all, but hopefully it’s a big step in the right direction. Thanks for stopping in and commenting 🙂

  9. Kristin September 27, 2012 at 2:21 pm #

    That’s really good to know! Thank you!

    • Jenn September 27, 2012 at 4:36 pm #

      Just doing my good deed for the day 🙂

  10. Kelly September 27, 2012 at 2:03 pm #

    Oh my goodness! Fingers crossed this is the miracle answer you have been looking for!!!

    • Jenn September 27, 2012 at 4:36 pm #

      Thank ya lady! I certainly hope so! Hope all is well with you and the babe 🙂

  11. Jessica September 27, 2012 at 2:01 pm #

    That’s awesome! It feels so weird to congratulate you on that, but YAY! 🙂

    • Jenn September 27, 2012 at 4:35 pm #

      Definitely weird, but I’ll take it if it’s a possibility of an easy solution.

  12. JustHeather September 27, 2012 at 1:17 pm #

    Ugh, so sorry about the STD, but it’s great that it has been discovered. May this be what you need.
    I’ve known someone who got an STD from sitting on a public toilet. Yucky stuff happens…

    • Jenn September 27, 2012 at 4:34 pm #

      No worries…I’m not really too concerned about it because who even knows where it came from?

  13. Sunny September 27, 2012 at 1:01 pm #

    Holy CRAP! This is awesome news! And a very good PSA, m’dear.

    • Jenn September 27, 2012 at 1:05 pm #

      Haha, who’d have thunk I would ever celebrate such a thing 🙂

  14. Kathryn September 27, 2012 at 12:47 pm #

    A fixable diagnosis is always a wonderful thing! I hope it helps and clears everything right up!!! I feel like I need to write this information down and keep a journal of “things to tell people to check for when they are struggling with getting pregnant.”

    • Jenn September 27, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

      Definitely add it to the list. While I am really really hoping that this is the problem, I might be slightly annoyed if the whole infertility thing could have been fixed 2 years ago with a swab and a prescription. Would have been a hell of a lot cheaper!

  15. storkchaser September 27, 2012 at 12:42 pm #

    Yay for STD!!!! I am so happy and excited for you! How did they test it? Just like a pap? I want to get tested too!!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. In Other News « The Future Fords - October 8, 2012

    […] I finished my 10 day antibiotic regiment to cure the ureaplasma. […]

Click Here to Comment

