October 2: The Proposal

2 Oct

October 2: How did you husband/spouse/partner propose?

My husband and I first met when I was 15. We met at the lake next to the mall in the next town over. We also went to the same high school but he was a grade ahead of me. He asked for my phone number and I gave it to him. Shortly thereafter he called to invite me to a party, but I declined because I already had plans with my then-boyfriend for the same night.

The following year we were in the same lunch period and he used to torment the hell out of me. Some might call it flirting, but it drove me insane. My BFF and I had a thing where we gave everyone nicknames in order to talk about them behind their backs and he was known as ‘orange shoe-lace boy.’ Original, I know.

The following year, my junior, I dated his best friend. I got to know Tim (my husband) pretty well that year since we all spent a lot of time at my then-boyfriend’s house. Tim quickly became one of my dearest friends. Even though I knew all along that he had a pretty major crush on me, I was hopelessly in love with his best friend.

By my senior year of high school, I was single again and Tim and I would spend a lot of time together when he came home from college on the weekends. One night we were at a party together but I had a midnight curfew so I left shortly before that. As I was getting into bed about a half hour later, the phone rang and it was Tim. He asked me if I could sneak out and meet him out front of my house. Naturally, I did. About 20 minutes later he pulled up, got out of his car, and the first words out if his mouth were “I’m in love with you.” To which I immediately replied, “Let’s just be friends.”

It all gets a little blurry at that point, but eventually we did begin dating and breaking up, dating and breaking up over the course of a few years. In the winter of 2003 we were hit with a huge blizzard–I’m talking 3 feet of snow in one night–and I got stuck at his house for a few days. I think it was this time that really cemented us together. With no TV, pre high speed internet, and the inability to drive anywhere we were really forced to get to know one another. That’s when I fell in love with him. We’ve been inseparable since.

Fast forward to the fall of 2007 and we had been dating for about 4.5 years. One day, out of the blue, he tells me that his mom needed some help hauling some things to the dump. So we hopped in his car and made the 30 minute drive back to our hometown. However, instead of driving to his mom’s house he drove us to my mom’s house and asked me to get out of the car. By now I knew exactly what he was up to.

He asked me to sit down on the stoop, then he got down on one knee and asked me to marry him. He remarked how in that very same spot 6 years ago he had declared his love to me only to be shot down. He brought me back to that same place to give me a chance to say yes this time. And that is exactly what I said…through many tears and stifled sobs.

We had finally come full circle.

And just for the hell of it…a few pre-married photos of us.

Bah. We look so effing young here!

Not sure why he never looks at the camera…..easily distracted, I suppose.

Be sure to check out these lovely ladies who are also participating in he October Writing Prompts (and it’s never too late if you want to join in as well!)

Arwen Rose @ MRKH Musings

EmHart @ Follow Every Rainbow

futuresoccermom @ Pregnancy 101

Kathryn @ Kathryn Finding Fertility

Rainbow Catcher @ Catching Our Rainbow

StorkChaser @ Dog Mom Chasing the Stork

Jenny @ Sprout

Amanda @ Reading Each Page

Jennifer @ Waiting For Baby

tchgrl05

How We Are Learning To Be Parents

KelBel @ Tales From Our Yellow Brick Road

18 Responses to “October 2: The Proposal”

  1. bethanykenyon October 9, 2012 at 8:27 pm #

    what a wonderful love story..I feel like I just watched a movie…love love!!!

    • Jenn October 9, 2012 at 11:58 pm #

      Thanks lady!

  2. tchrgrl05 October 3, 2012 at 8:51 am #

    Love the story! The pics too πŸ™‚ I don’t know why my blog won’t show up when I comment 😦 It’s bickerstaffblog@blogspot.com…so JB at Bickerstaff Blog πŸ™‚ Sorry about that!

    • Jenn October 9, 2012 at 11:58 pm #

      Thanks! I fixed your link.

  3. futuresoccermom October 2, 2012 at 7:51 pm #

    Love this story! Adorable!

    • Jenn October 9, 2012 at 11:58 pm #

      πŸ™‚

  4. storkchaser October 2, 2012 at 1:33 pm #

    Awww Jenn!!!!! I love this! How sweet and I love all the pics. Too cute!!!

    • Jenn October 9, 2012 at 11:58 pm #

      Thanks lady!!

  5. nonsequiturchica October 2, 2012 at 11:45 am #

    What a great story!

    • Jenn October 9, 2012 at 11:58 pm #

      Thank ya, thank ya!

  6. Kathryn October 2, 2012 at 11:40 am #

    awww, this is adorable. I love the young pictures of you two πŸ™‚

    • Jenn October 9, 2012 at 11:59 pm #

      Thanks hon. Those pictures bring back such good memories.

  7. Arwen Rose October 2, 2012 at 11:30 am #

    Aww how lovely!! You two are gorgeous together!

    • Jenn October 9, 2012 at 11:59 pm #

      Thank you, we like to think so πŸ˜‰

  8. Jenny October 2, 2012 at 10:45 am #

    What a beautiful story! It almost made me cry (happy tears, of course!).

    You’re a very cute couple. πŸ™‚

    • Jenn October 10, 2012 at 12:00 am #

      You guys are all just too sweet. Make me feel all warm and fuzzy inside.

  9. babylopez8410 October 2, 2012 at 10:37 am #

    I love the early picture! So cute!!

    • Jenn October 10, 2012 at 12:00 am #

      Thanks momma!

Click Here to Comment

