October 4: Do I Have An Accent?

4 Oct

October 4: Post a video blog (vlog?) of the following (feel free to get your hubs in on this one):

Say these words:
Aunt, Route, Wash, Oil, Theater, Iron, Salmon, Caramel, Fire, Water, Sure, Data, Ruin, Crayon, Toilet, New Orleans, Pecan, Both, Again, Probably, Spitting image, Alabama, Lawyer, Coupon, Mayonnaise, Syrup, Pajamas, Caught

And answer these questions:
What is it called when you throw toilet paper on a house?
What is the bug that when you touch it, it curls into a ball?
What is the bubbly carbonated drink called?
What do you call gym shoes?
What do you say to address a group of people?
What do you call the kind of spider that has an oval-shaped body and extremely long legs?
What do you call your grandparents?
What do you call the wheeled contraption in which you carry groceries at the supermarket?
What do you call it when rain falls while the sun is shining?
What is the thing you use to change the TV channel?

I have so been waiting for this prompt! I can’t wait to you all animated and actually hear your voices…not to mention your various accents.

Fair warning: laptop light is extremely unflattering.

Be sure to check out these lovely ladies who are also participating in he October Writing Prompts (and it’s never too late if you want to join in as well!)

Arwen Rose @ MRKH Musings

EmHart @ Follow Every Rainbow

futuresoccermom @ Pregnancy 101

Kathryn @ Kathryn Finding Fertility

Rainbow Catcher @ Catching Our Rainbow

StorkChaser @ Dog Mom Chasing the Stork

Jenny @ Sprout

Amanda @ Reading Each Page

Jennifer @ Waiting For Baby

JB @ Bickerstaff Blog

How We Are Learning To Be Parents

KelBel @ Tales From Our Yellow Brick Road

Stupid Stork @ Stupid Stork

Sunny @ Cease and Decyst

BethanyKenyon @ bakersanonymous

16 Responses to “October 4: Do I Have An Accent?”

  1. bethanykenyon October 9, 2012 at 3:46 pm #

    I love that you got your hubs to do it!!! For some reason when I signed up it used my baking blog… I finally caught up today and made up for lost time.

    • Jenn October 9, 2012 at 11:52 pm #

      I fixed the link. Can’t wait to check out your video.

  2. searching for middle ground October 8, 2012 at 9:50 am #

    hubs and I turn on the accent for fun sometimes πŸ™‚ love the video!

    • Jenn October 9, 2012 at 11:53 pm #

      It’s just too much fun not too πŸ™‚ Thanks!

  3. Detour October 6, 2012 at 7:24 am #

    Ok, you and your husband are adorable! This prompt cracks me up.

    • Jenn October 9, 2012 at 11:53 pm #

      We try…I think we scale the line of annoying the crap out of each other and finding each other endearing πŸ™‚

  4. Kelly October 4, 2012 at 6:47 pm #

    LOVED this! Can’t wait to post mine! πŸ™‚

    • Jenn October 9, 2012 at 11:54 pm #

      Thank ya!

  5. Stupid Stork October 4, 2012 at 12:49 pm #

    Yesssss… Look at you! You’re adorable. And you look/sound like a friend of mine from improv awhile back.

    I do not think you have an accent but I’m from D.C., so… I think it would be close to my accent if one exists.

    There’s a term for raining when it’s sunny?!? You learn something new every day. I am doing this one tomorrow when my jaw is a little less wonky.

    • Jenn October 9, 2012 at 11:54 pm #

      That’s really funny that you say that because you remind me of a friend that I went to school with.

  6. EmHart October 4, 2012 at 12:11 pm #

    I have just taped mine, having watched yours though I am wishing I got Kitt involved, although I am not sure he would have said yes. I also think I should have recorded it in the local accent, which is Brummie, um, think Ozzie and Sharon. You two are just too cute. I wish more of your challenges were vlogs, it is so much fun.

    • Jenn October 4, 2012 at 12:18 pm #

      I might rearrange the list and try to add one more in. I just have to come up with a good idea. Can’t wait to watch yours!

  7. Jenny October 4, 2012 at 10:50 am #

    You two are so cute!

    I’m probably going to chicken out on this one because I have a phobia about being on video. Which is too bad for all of you, because I’ve been told that my Canadian accent is hilarious. πŸ™‚

    • Jenn October 4, 2012 at 10:55 am #

      NNNNOOOOO! I love a good Canadian accent! Ay πŸ™‚

  8. Sunny October 4, 2012 at 10:26 am #

    Oh, you bet your ass I’m joining in on this one! I’ll post later today. You guys are sooo cuuuute. I should get my grandmother on the phone, as she has the strongest Baltimore accent you’ve ever heard.

    • Jenn October 4, 2012 at 10:33 am #

      Ha! I can’t wait to see it! You should totally get her on the phone. I would die!

Click Here to Comment

