October 6: Music

6 Oct

October 6: What is your favorite band?

I’m a little bitter about this question. What I should be doing right now is checking out some great bands at the Virgin Mobile Free Fest, but instead I am sitting at home. Alone. And in serious pain.

I fell down the stairs this morning. I don’t know if it’s because of my broken foot, the antibiotic that I am on, or just plain clumsiness but I can’t seem to stop damaging parts of my body. I was coming down from bed this morning and as soon as I took the first step down the stairs I slipped, landed hard on my butt, and rode about halfway down on my ass. Thump. Thump. Thump. Now my tailbone hurts like hell and I’m afraid I may have broken it. No point in going to the ER though because 1) I’m alone and can barely sit down let alone drive. And 2) They can’t do much about a broken tailbone except give my painkillers. While that does sound like a fun way to spend my Saturday day, see reason #1.

So, yeah I won’t be seeing any of those bands today. However, I will leave you with a list of a few of current faves because I could never pick just one. Here is my top 10 (in no particular order):

1. The Avett Brothers

<iframe width=”420″ height=”315″ src=”http://www.youtube.com/embed/1F2zl4LqSlg&#8221; frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen>

2. Band of Horses

<iframe width=”560″ height=”315″ src=”http://www.youtube.com/embed/JK716RqoUms&#8221; frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen>

3. Beta Radio

<iframe width=”420″ height=”315″ src=”http://www.youtube.com/embed/80udQlLGwdg&#8221; frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen>

4. Bright Eyes

<iframe width=”420″ height=”315″ src=”http://www.youtube.com/embed/zwFS69nA-1w&#8221; frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen>

5. Tanlines

<iframe width=”560″ height=”315″ src=”http://www.youtube.com/embed/kKJ3z9Pa7AU&#8221; frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen>

6. The Head and the Heart

7. Iron & Wine (This is the song I walked down the aisle to)

8. The Lumineers

9. Noah and the Whale

10. Old Crow Medicine Show

14 Responses to “October 6: Music”

  1. bethanykenyon October 9, 2012 at 8:22 pm #

    I heart your music taste!!

    • Jenn October 9, 2012 at 11:47 pm #

      Thanks. Me too šŸ™‚

  2. Jen October 9, 2012 at 12:18 pm #

    You have AWESOME taste in music! Avett Brothers are number one on my list too. In fact, I love all these bands except for the two I’ve never heard of (Beta Radio & Tanlines), but I’m going to check them out because we must have the same taste in music!

    • Jenn October 9, 2012 at 11:48 pm #

      Yay! Beta Radio and Tanlines are two of my more recent discoveries. I love meeting people with similar taste in music. If you have an suggestions, please send them my way. Thanks!

  3. Lindsay October 8, 2012 at 8:07 pm #

    Yikes! Take care of yourself!! Maybe you would be better off just laying on the couch 24/7 for the next few days!!!

    • Jenn October 9, 2012 at 11:48 pm #

      My boss offered to buy me a bubble šŸ™‚

  4. Kelly October 7, 2012 at 5:44 pm #

    Oh my goodness! Im so sorry you fell! I bet that hurts a ton and double sucks because of your foot and triple sucks because you have to miss your concert. Well I hope its not broken and that all your injuries heal fast and hope that finding all these links for your favorite bands was almost like being at the concert. I hope your hubby is taking good care of you!!

    • Jenn October 9, 2012 at 11:49 pm #

      I think I’m getting better already. Either that or the painkiller are actually doing their job!

  5. EmHart October 7, 2012 at 5:23 am #

    Oh no, that sucks, I hope you are not in too much pain. I am very ignorant about all of this music, but I am going to check them all out. Huge hugs and get well soon, and stop breaking yourself!

    • Jenn October 9, 2012 at 11:50 pm #

      Haha, I would LOVE to stop breaking myself. I’ve had it with being incapacitated. My mission in life is to pay attention to every step I take.

  6. jell jell @ I'll Sleep When They're Grown October 6, 2012 at 11:12 pm #

    Oh no! Quit hurting yourself, girl!

    • Jenn October 9, 2012 at 11:50 pm #

      I’m trying so hard Jell!

  7. drunnermom October 6, 2012 at 8:34 pm #

    LOVE LOVE LOVE The Lumineers!

    • Jenn October 9, 2012 at 11:50 pm #

      Me too!! I just saw them a month or so ago and fell in LOVE! I have been listening to the album on repeat ever since.

Click Here to Comment

