October 11: Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes

11 Oct

October 11: If you could change one thing about your personal appearance, what would it be and why?

I have to say upfront, that I am actually pretty satisfied with my appearance. I wasn’t always this way. As I mentioned before I struggled briefly with an eating disorder when I was younger and I absolutely hated my nose until about 5 years ago. Now, of course, I would love to weigh 15 pounds less than I do. And no, that is not an unrealistic expectation. But as far as my nose is concerned, I have come to love it in all it’s bumpy glory. I love it because it is my nose on my face–a face that I wouldn’t recognize without that nose.

So all that being said, if I had to change one thing about my appearance it would be the fat on my belly. A combination of getting older and ingesting fertility drugs has piled on a layer of mush that I am none too pleased with. I would love to snap my fingers and have it be gone. A girl can dream…

Be sure to check out these lovely ladies who are also participating in he October Writing Prompts (and it’s never too late if you want to join in as well!)

Arwen Rose @ MRKH Musings

EmHart @ Follow Every Rainbow

futuresoccermom @ Pregnancy 101

Kathryn @ Kathryn Finding Fertility

Rainbow Catcher @ Catching Our Rainbow

StorkChaser @ Dog Mom Chasing the Stork

Jenny @ Sprout

Amanda @ Reading Each Page

Jennifer @ Waiting For Baby

JB @ Bickerstaff Blog

How We Are Learning To Be Parents

KelBel @ Tales From Our Yellow Brick Road

Stupid Stork @ Stupid Stork

Sunny @ Cease and Decyst

BethanyKenyon @ A Work In Progress

4 Responses to “October 11: Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes”

  1. laughingpromises October 12, 2012 at 5:08 pm #

    I have struggled with my nose, too! The older I get, the more I’ve embraced it as my nose, though. And, like you said, I wouldn’t recognise myself with out this nose. Plus, I can breathe quite well through it and don’t have any deviated septums, and not everyone can say that. Thankful.

  2. Arwen Rose October 12, 2012 at 6:42 am #

    i relate to so much you have written here! As a teenager I HATED my nose, then I was whacked round the face with “you have no womb” and i began to hate every other bit of me and have struggled with anorexia then just general weight yo-yoing and stuff ever since. You sound so strong and you are beautiful!

  3. Sarah October 11, 2012 at 11:24 pm #

    I don’t think I could list one thing….but if I did, I’d say everything from the neck down….Is that one thing? I by no means think I’m pretty, but I’m not butt ugly. However my body has been my biggest struggle my whole life…so yeah, I’d change the body, but leave the head…

    I love that you have come to love your nose….it is what makes your face your face…like the whole jennifer grey nose job….unrecognizable…

    I swear one of these days I’m going to actually participate in one of these monthly things…

  4. bethanykenyon October 11, 2012 at 7:50 pm #

    I hear ya sister….. I’ve gained 15lbs in the last year and half…wtf’s of infertility!!!

Click Here to Comment

