October 20: My Grandmom

20 Oct

October 20: Tell us a little something about your grandmother.

Some things about this lovely woman who I am privileged to call my Grandmom:

  • Her name is Joyce. She had 5 daughters with only 8 years in between the youngest and oldest. Can you imagine when they were all teenagers? Clearly infertility doesn’t run in my family….She gave her first daughter the middle name Joyce and since I was the first granddaughter, I also got the middle name Joyce. She asked me the other day if I intended to carry on the tradition. It might have broken her heart just a little when I told her no.
  • The woman loves cleavage. She affectionately refers to it as “baby butt” and every time I see her she guesses whether I am pregnant or not judging by how large my boobs look that day.
  • We lived with her for a while when I was younger and every weekend she would paint my nails while we ate cream cheese and jelly sandwiches.
  • We both a mutual love for Bob Dylan.
  • I inherited both my hips and my feet directly from her. Now if only my child-bearing hips could be as productive as hers…
  • She loves to give me hand-me-down. Yes, my 7o year old grandmother gives me clothes that she no longer wants. I am about as comfortable with you as you might assume.
  • I am her favorite. I was the first born grandchild (and her namesake) and I know, without a doubt, that I am her favorite.
  • She truly believes that my husband is going to make her famous someday.
  • She asked my husband, who is an ordained reverend via the internet, to renew her and her husband’s vows. I think she likes him even more than she likes me. Honestly, I think everyone in my family feels this way.
  • For the 29 years that I have been on this earth I have always called her Grandmom. About 10 years ago she decided she wanted to be called Mom Mom instead and tried her damndest to get it to stick. She spent an entire year referring to herself and Mom Mom and signed every birthday card in that fashion. It never stuck.

Here is a picture of my Mom and my Grandmom together. Both probably think this is a horrible picture of them and would kill me if they knew I was posting it. Oh well, I think it’s cute!

Be sure to check out these lovely ladies who are also participating in the October Writing Prompts (and it’s never too late if you want to join in as well!)

Arwen Rose @ MRKH Musings

EmHart @ Follow Every Rainbow

futuresoccermom @ Pregnancy 101

Kathryn @ Kathryn Finding Fertility

Rainbow Catcher @ Catching Our Rainbow

StorkChaser @ Dog Mom Chasing the Stork

Jenny @ Sprout

Amanda @ Reading Each Page

Jennifer @ Waiting For Baby

JB @ Bickerstaff Blog

How We Are Learning To Be Parents

KelBel @ Tales From Our Yellow Brick Road

Stupid Stork @ Stupid Stork

Sunny @ Cease and Decyst

BethanyKenyon @ A Work In Progress

Seagull @ In This Mad Season

6 Responses to “October 20: My Grandmom”

  1. Jenny October 21, 2012 at 10:40 am #

    I agree – your mom looks 25!

    Your grandmom sounds like a great lady. πŸ™‚

  2. EmHart October 21, 2012 at 7:09 am #

    Good ageing genes in your family then!

  3. Roxxroxx October 20, 2012 at 11:11 pm #

    Your mum looks about 25! Lovely post. I miss my Grannie so much. She passed away in 2003 and we were close. Circle of life I suppose.

  4. Kelly October 20, 2012 at 7:15 pm #

    BEAUTIFUL picture πŸ™‚

  5. Stupid Stork October 20, 2012 at 5:33 pm #

    OMG.. I have a friend whose grandmother could be yours’ doppleganger.

    Ha! I love that your husband is one of my fellow, very serious, ordained internet ministers. Oh the power, the powwwerrrr I tell you!

  6. storkchaser October 20, 2012 at 5:27 pm #

    Omg Jenn she is the cutest ever!!!!!

Click Here to Comment

