October 23: The Green-Eyed Monster

23 Oct

October 23: What are you most envious of?

Take that double entendre! Both myself and the jealousy monster have green eyes…must be a sign.

Apparently, however, there is a difference between envy and jealousy. Envy is the emotion when you want something that someone else has whereas jealousy is the fear that something might be taken from you. Very important distinction. For the purpose of today’s prompt I will address that which I covet. And I think the answer will be obvious.

For me, my envy goes much deeper than simply wanting a baby. I want to be fertile. I want to be that woman who can say “my husband just looks at me and I get pregnant.” I want an oops baby. I never want to have to spend another dime on OPKs, clomid, IUIs, labwork, and the like. I want to never have to shed another tear when my period shows up simply because I can rest assured that it will happen for me next month. I don’t want my RE to know me by my first name. I don’t want to have to worry that my husband might leave me one day because I can’t give him children. What I envy is those women that have these things. And even more than that, I envy those women who don’t even realize how good they have it.

Envy is a tricky thing because I wouldn’t want to take it away from anyone else in order to have it for myself. I don’t begrudge fertile women the relative ease in which they can create babies, rather I wish to be like them. To truly know that joy. So that is what I envy most: the unparalleled joy that comes with being fertile.

 

Be sure to check out these lovely ladies who are also participating in the October Writing Prompts (and it’s never too late if you want to join in as well!)

Arwen Rose @ MRKH Musings

EmHart @ Follow Every Rainbow

futuresoccermom @ Pregnancy 101

Kathryn @ Kathryn Finding Fertility

Rainbow Catcher @ Catching Our Rainbow

StorkChaser @ Dog Mom Chasing the Stork

Jenny @ Sprout

Amanda @ Reading Each Page

Jennifer @ Waiting For Baby

JB @ Bickerstaff Blog

How We Are Learning To Be Parents

KelBel @ Tales From Our Yellow Brick Road

Stupid Stork @ Stupid Stork

Sunny @ Cease and Decyst

BethanyKenyon @ A Work In Progress

Seagull @ In This Mad Season

11 Responses to “October 23: The Green-Eyed Monster”

  1. Sarah October 23, 2012 at 8:53 pm #

    I know I wasn’t officially on the list for this month’s prompts, but your post inspired me along with a couple of other bloggers posting on jealousy and such. I love this: “Envy is a tricky thing because I wouldn’t want to take it away from anyone else in order to have it for myself. I don’t begrudge fertile women the relative ease in which they can create babies, rather I wish to be like them. To truly know that joy. So that is what I envy most: the unparalleled joy that comes with being fertile.” That is simply beautiful…perfect…the last line especially….perfect.

    • Jenn October 23, 2012 at 8:56 pm #

      Wow, thanks so much! And you don’t have be officially participating to chime in at anytime. If you have something to say, say it 🙂 can’t wait to read it!

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. Seagull October 23, 2012 at 8:10 pm #

    This is such a good blog and point. I wrote about the green eyed monster last week and labelled her jealousy but i think envy is more like. I also want to be fertile and not have to worry about any of this IF crap. It’s exhausting and expensive. sigh. Thanks for posting.

    • Jenn October 23, 2012 at 8:44 pm #

      I feel you lady. Thanks for reading and I’m glad you liked it 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. Jen October 23, 2012 at 7:58 pm #

    AHHH, to be fertile and completely unaware of the IF world… although… I do feel like when I get to finally BE a mom, I’ll be a better one because of IF. And I’ll be WAY more sensitive to women struggling to be pregnant. And I WILL NOT get baby-brain. So maybe IF has done a little something for me after all!

    • Jenn October 23, 2012 at 8:42 pm #

      Those are definitely the upsides!

      Sent from my iPhone

  4. EmHart October 23, 2012 at 4:32 pm #

    I am a huge pedant on the envy jealousy issue, I remember learning about it at school when we studied Othello. Well done, you passed. This sums up exactly how I feel about it too, I may just link to this post when I come to answer this one! he he.

    • Jenn October 23, 2012 at 4:40 pm #

      Good to know that English degree of mine is good for something 🙂 And go right ahead!

  5. Stupid Stork October 23, 2012 at 4:26 pm #

    Sweet merciful crap, I love words and I never really thought about the difference between envy and jealousy… you learn something new every day..

    • Jenn October 23, 2012 at 4:39 pm #

      Indeed you do!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Sweet Life…. | Mommyhood after Fertility Frustration - October 23, 2012

    […] not officially participating in Future Fords October Writing Challenge. I am, however, reading a lot of bloggers who did participate. Today’s prompt was “what […]

Click Here to Comment

