My Thoughts on Pregnancy So Far

5 Nov

I’m going to do this bullet-style because that’s how my brain feels at the moment.

  • First of all, I want to thank you amazing ladies for all the kindness and support that you have offered me over the last 3 days. Each and every comment has meant so much to me. I was a little nervous to make the announcement, but once again, you have all showed me that you truly do have my best interests at heart. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.
  • I think that today I am 4 weeks and 1 day. Still SO EARLY. But I feel good about it. I haven’t been freaking out about my betas or upcoming ultrasounds. I am still noticing symptoms so that gives me comfort. I truly have a feeling of peace about this. I have a feeling that it is all going to work out and that this is my take-home baby. Maybe that’s naive of me, having never experienced loss, but it just feels right in my heart. Even if this pregnancy is lost along the way, for now I am relishing in the fact that I CAN get pregnant. Until this past Friday, I didn’t think that was the case.
  • Speaking of symptoms….I am so hungry. All. The Time. Eating has never been so pleasurable. I am left with an intense feeling of satisfaction when I finish a meal or snack that I have never before experienced. I am trying to focus on eating super healthy the majority of the time so that when I find myself craving something I don’t feel too guilty allowing myself to indulge. I have a SUPER sense of smell, which has been pretty funny thus far. My boobs ache and feel like they weight 1000 pounds (each). I have a full feeling in my uterus that is akin to how I feel when I have my period, but there has been so blood whatsoever so I think this is pretty normal.
  • When I POAS I wore these socks which were sent to me by Amanda at From Here to Maternity via the sock exchange hosted by Christy at Searching for Our Silver Lining. Amanda has been blessed with adorable twins after her battle with IF and is one of the sweetest e-friends I have ever made. I don’t know what kind of magic baby dust she sprinkled in that package, but it worked!

  • In true Jenn-fashion, I haven’t been able to keep my mouth shut about being pregnant. I’ve told quite a few people, but none that I wouldn’t want to know should something unfortunate happen. I haven’t been very secretive about my IF journey thus far, I figure, why start now?
  • I’m not sure if any of you have put this together yet, but this is the first cycle that I have TTC after finding the ureaplasma bacteria in my body. I can’t say with 100% certainty that this is what caused my infertility, but I have a damn good feeling. It’s just too coincidental to have nothing to do with it especially after my “unexplained” diagnosis. I am trying to overlook the possibility that if this is the case then all it took for me to get pregnant was a vag swab, a $30 co-pay, and a 10 day course of antibiotics. As opposed to the two years, thousands of dollars, and invasive treatments that I have otherwise endured. I am trying to remind myself that the end result is what is important; I’m pregnant. But please don’t be like me. I know this bacteria is rare, but I also know that it has been linked to infertility and miscarriage. And like I said, all it takes is a vag swab, a co-pay, andΒ Β  antibiotics. Ask your doctor to get tested. And just like Stork Chaser, don’t take no for an answer.
  • I’m not really sure how this corner of the internet will evolve now that I am pregnant. I fully intend to blog still, but obviously my circumstances are a little different. I am so happy and I want to suck this experience dry. I want to post pictures and do bumpdates. But I also intend to keep in mind that once an infertile, always an infertile. I just so happen to be in infertile who is pregnant after a very trying (pun intended) two years. The friends that I have made via this blog have proven to be invaluable to me and want you all to know that I am not going anywhere. No one has ever accused me of being a fair-weather friend and I don’t intend to start now. I love you all way too much πŸ™‚ I get that what I post here might be hard for you to read, and that is OK. I understand because I have been there. All I am saying is not to expect that I will stop harassing you now.
  • Last, but certainly not least, please take a few minutes to visit Belle’s page and leave her some love and positivity. I don’t know what’s going on , but I do know that she needs all the love, thoughts, prayers, and good vibes she can get right now.
27 Responses to “My Thoughts on Pregnancy So Far”

  1. Roxxroxx November 7, 2012 at 4:07 am #

    Soooooo cHuffed for you! Absolutely delighted that you have had the news you’ve been waiting for πŸ™‚

  2. kjc9783 November 6, 2012 at 8:36 pm #

    Oh my gosh; I got a positive test the same day you did and am so excited/ a little nervous. Congratulations! I wish you the best!

    • Jenn November 6, 2012 at 9:05 pm #

      That’s so exciting!! Congrats!! I’m going to hop over to your blog and check it out πŸ™‚

  3. RainbowCatcher November 6, 2012 at 11:15 am #

    I’m so excited for you, friend. Almost every other pregnant IF blogger that I’m following became pregnant before I was around long enough to really feel connected to her. But you are different–you are my first pregnant bloggy friend that I have gotten a chance to know a little and see your struggle. So excited for you πŸ™‚ I know I already said that, but I’m doubly excited.

    • Jenn November 6, 2012 at 11:30 am #

      Oh, lady, that means so much to me. It even made me tear up πŸ™‚ Thanks for your unwavering support!

  4. searching for middle ground November 6, 2012 at 9:26 am #

    so so soooo happy and excited for you Jenn πŸ™‚

    • Jenn November 6, 2012 at 9:40 am #

      Thanks πŸ˜‰

      Sent from my iPhone

  5. EmHart November 6, 2012 at 8:35 am #

    Gorgeous socks, that is some wonderful socky fairy dust. I am so happy for you. Enjoy all the pregnancy things! Enjoy enjoy enjoy!

    • Jenn November 6, 2012 at 9:01 am #

      Thanks Em!!

      Sent from my iPhone

  6. Amanda November 5, 2012 at 10:16 pm #

    ((BIGHUGS)) to you my friend!!!!

  7. robin November 5, 2012 at 9:51 pm #

    So glad you are embracing being pregnant!!! Enjoy it when / while you can – the hunger is crazy but manageable, I wish a non-nauseous first trimester! ❀

    • Jenn November 5, 2012 at 10:10 pm #

      Thanks lady! So far, so good πŸ™‚

  8. Lindsay November 5, 2012 at 8:54 pm #

    So glad you are embracing the pregnancy!! I was always afraid that if I didn’t early on I would look back and regret it!! By the way, I developed extreme hunger at about 5-6 weeks and am still eating hahah….sure hope it stops or else this baby weight is going to become permanent weight! So happy for you πŸ™‚

    • Jenn November 5, 2012 at 9:01 pm #

      I am so afraid of that same thing!

      Sent from my iPhone

  9. Kelly November 5, 2012 at 8:46 pm #

    I love this post, love that you’re having symptoms that make you happy, and love that you feel like this is your take home baby! I have to say I am equally suspicious it was the antibiotics that solved your mystery, but who knows for sure! Either way, I am so happy for you and am praying so hard for you! Ya got me waiting with baited breath for your next update! I hope you continue to feel good and know I am thinkingof you! πŸ™‚

  10. stupidstork November 5, 2012 at 8:44 pm #

    I am so happy for you. but like, REALLY happy.

    This is it, my love, this is it.

  11. Mrs. Wuestewald November 5, 2012 at 8:42 pm #

    Congrats, I am going to ask for the swab at my RE appointment this Friday. So happy it’s happened for you.

    • Jenn November 5, 2012 at 8:57 pm #

      Glad to hear it πŸ™‚

      Sent from my iPhone

  12. Amanda November 5, 2012 at 6:13 pm #

    Congrats again! Good luck on the next beta!

    • Jenn November 5, 2012 at 7:00 pm #

      Thanks lady!

  13. Theresa November 5, 2012 at 6:04 pm #

    I am hungry ( and thirsty ) constantly too. And we also told practically everybody because I’ve always been very public about the whole thing. You aren’t alone. Big congrats to you and can’t wait to read about your pregnancy!

    • Jenn November 5, 2012 at 7:01 pm #

      Oh, the thirst is crazy! I can’t get enough water. And I’m glad I’m not alone with sharing the news so early πŸ™‚

      • Theresa November 5, 2012 at 8:17 pm #

        no we waited so long to get here I was telling everyone!
        And for the record, I’ve had over 80oz of liquid today. It is insane πŸ™‚

  14. slese1014 November 5, 2012 at 5:36 pm #

    I couldn’t be happier for you….I think you’re right to assume the ureaplasma had something to do with your IF issues. I wish I had something like that. They still have no clue why I can’t get knocked up without help….and even now I’m struggling with that.

    The whole what to do with this blog thing…I kept my same blog. I knew I was going to lose a few followers because of the whole pregnancy thing, but I never stopped following anyone and they eventually all came back.

    Wishing you the happiest and healthiest full term pregnancy possible!

    PS LOVE the socks!

    • Jenn November 5, 2012 at 7:02 pm #

      I totally get that struggle. They had no idea what was wrong with me for a whole two years. It’s absolutely heartbreaking.

      Thanks for the well wished, lady, and you are in my thoughts. I hope things have started to look up.

  15. Kristin November 5, 2012 at 5:32 pm #

    Screw the antibiotics. I like to think it was the foot bath with essential oils! Again, congrats, my friend.

    • Jenn November 5, 2012 at 7:03 pm #

      Haha, you’re probably right!

Click Here to Comment

