Beta #3: Thoroughly Confused

7 Nov

My results thus far:

Beta #1: 17.7

Beta #2: 84.1 (doubling time of 36.1 hours)

Beta #3: 260 (doubling time of 29.45 hours)

And yet my RE said the number is going up but still a little lower than what she’d like to see. I have to go back for beta #4 on Friday. I don’t think this a good sign.

I found this chart online (thanks be to Google) and it seems that I am perfectly average for 16 DPO. This waiting game is finally getting to me.

Update: apparently my brain isn’t working today. I’m actually at 17 DPO so maybe the number is a little on the lower side according to this chart.

Update again: I called my RE’s office back and spoke to my nurse about my beta numbers. She clarified and said the number looks good and is doubling appropriately. By “low” she just meant it is too low for an ultrasound. I have to keep going back every two days until it reaches 2000. Yay! I may even do my first bumpdate today 🙂 thanks for the support, ladies!

14 Responses to “Beta #3: Thoroughly Confused”

  1. jell jell @ I'll Sleep When They're Grown November 10, 2012 at 12:51 am #

    First rule of pregnancy: don’t listen to words like “too big” or “too small.” My friend was scared of how big her son would be b/c an ultrasound technician told her he looked big really early on. Not only was he a perfect size (they all are) at 8 lbs 4 oz, but he was two weeks late. My other friend thought her daughter would be big because she “measured” at a certain weight during her final ultrasound and she was more than a pound off. If you talk to any midwife they will tell you your body won’t make a baby you can’t carry. I feel like this applies to beta levels somehow, too.

  2. slese1014 November 7, 2012 at 5:53 pm #

    I think it’s looking fine….grow baby grow…and hopefully you’ll be at that 2000 mark soon! Keeping you in my thoughts and prayers!

  3. laughingpromises November 7, 2012 at 4:06 pm #

    Hazzah!

    Nurses should be careful what they say around a woman! Goodness. I’m glad you called her to clarify. 🙂

  4. Seagull November 7, 2012 at 2:43 pm #

    phew! i am glad she clarified the “low”. Sounds like it’s all headed in the right direction! yay 🙂

  5. Theresa November 7, 2012 at 2:30 pm #

    YAY bumpdate!

  6. Aspgriswold November 7, 2012 at 2:25 pm #

    I think the numbers look great still!! Sending many hugs your way!

  7. Stupid Stork November 7, 2012 at 1:21 pm #

    Don’t be confused. All is going along swimmingly… I aint worried.

  8. Amanda November 7, 2012 at 12:47 pm #

    I agree with the previous posters- you’re doing fantastic! Stay positive and cherish each moment with the itty-bitty one inside of you. Snuggle in tight, tiny baby, and grow grow grow!!!

  9. Kristin November 7, 2012 at 12:43 pm #

    She’s crazy. Your betas are doubling and you are well within the curve. I once read that you don’t want to be in the bottom or top 5% on a pregnancy. You are right in the middle with amazing betas.

  10. Arwen Rose November 7, 2012 at 12:23 pm #

    Sound like great numbers and times, keep smiling sweetie!!

  11. KelBel November 7, 2012 at 11:53 am #

    Sending lots of positive vibes your way!

  12. Kelly November 7, 2012 at 11:52 am #

    I agree….your doubling time is shortening and your beta is increasing. So what are they worried about?

    And have they given you info on when will they try to do an ultrasound? Hope beta #4is even better!

  13. steph50 November 7, 2012 at 11:42 am #

    They’re more than doubling every 48 hours… So why would she be concerned? I’m sure everything is ok!

  14. tchrgrl05 November 7, 2012 at 11:32 am #

    That seems perfect to me. I loved betabase.

Click Here to Comment

