Beta #4: The Final Draw

9 Nov

Beta #4: 471

Still going up and still doubling appropriately. However, in my opinion it’s still a little low for 19 DPO. Maybe implantation was later than I thought. My RE is not having me come in for another beta test, instead my VERY FIRST ULTRASOUND (!!!) is scheduled for Wednesday. I can’t hardly wait!

Wednesday I had a very little bot of spotting when I got home from work. It was dark brown and was gone by the time I woke up the next morning. Last night I had more dark brown spotting which I noticed after I finished cleaning my house top to bottom. I left the laundry in the dryer and decided to go straight to bed. Thankfully, it was gone by the time I woke up. I think I need to take a cue from body and slow down.

Is spotting normal this early on? Is dark brown blood a scary color?

Should I be concerned that my beta number isn’t higher? I know I keep asking this question, but I am just so clueless.

Give it to me straight, ladies.

23 Responses to “Beta #4: The Final Draw”

  1. allmyprettyones November 12, 2012 at 8:39 am #

    I had bright red spotting at 5 and 6 weeks, and some dark brown before that… everything turned out ok… good luck!

  2. robin November 10, 2012 at 7:22 pm #

    I don’t know about the spotting but I agree it is probably a good idea to take it a little more slowly. Good luck on your ultrasound!!! Can’t wait to hear how it goes!

  3. bethanykenyon November 10, 2012 at 1:31 pm #

    I spotted as well between 4-5 weeks, it was brown too. I know it’s easier said then done to not stress, but I agree with EmHart, take a load off and put those feet up. And as far as your numbers they are doubling nicely, everyone is different, and yours look right on target!!!

  4. EmHart November 10, 2012 at 12:31 pm #

    Feet up young lady. That is an order. Watch films and eat rubbish. That is my advice.

  5. jo November 10, 2012 at 10:32 am #

    i am 7 weeks and had brown spotting/discharge yesterday and called my dr panicked so they had me come in for an ultrasound. they confirmed everything is normal and spotting “happens” so don’t worry. it is normal. try not to let it freak you out.

  6. deleckidesign November 10, 2012 at 10:25 am #

    Not to scare you but I had brown spotting starting at six weeks last year. I ignores it because everyone said it was normal. Turns out it was a blighted ovum am my body trying to miscarry. I’m not saying that’s what yours is because spotting can be normal for some bit i would call your doctor for peace of mind.

  7. Theresa November 9, 2012 at 6:18 pm #

    I’m so so so sorry Jeanette. Please text or call me if you need anything. Hugs

  8. Sunny November 9, 2012 at 5:43 pm #

    That there looks like another doubler! Yay for doubling betas 🙂 It reminds me of the Doublemint gum song from the commercials that were so popular in the 80s. Kick back and relax this weekend! No cleaning for you, lady!

  9. Kristin November 9, 2012 at 3:46 pm #

    Another good beta! Congrats! I hope you can rest and relax over the weekend. Can’t wait to hear the good news next week.

  10. slese1014 November 9, 2012 at 3:15 pm #

    put your feet up and relax…Spotting like that is perfectly normal…I agree, it’s the bright red you should be more concerned with, and you haven’t had and God willing you won’t have any of that. Your betas are rising well…praying for seeing good things at your ultrasound!!! Thinking of you!!!

  11. Theresa November 9, 2012 at 3:01 pm #

    I’ve heard that all that matters with the betas is that they double! Can’t wait to hear about your ultrasound Wednesday!

  12. Christina @ According To C November 9, 2012 at 2:05 pm #

    Dark brown shouldn’t be anything to worry about! I had dark brown spotting for a few days when I was 8 weeks along. Funny enough it started the morning of my dating ultrasound, and I was soon reassured all was well! Unless it’s red and accompanied by cramps, I wouldn’t worry too much 🙂

  13. Kathryn November 9, 2012 at 2:01 pm #

    YEAH this is awesome! And what great news about getting to have an ultrasound! wooohooo!!!!

  14. tchrgrl05 November 9, 2012 at 1:49 pm #

    As I’m sure you’ve read, the most important thing is doubling time, and you seem to be doubling well. Brown definitely better than red, and usually it’s just old “stuff” that’s making it’s way out of your system. But seriously, STOP doing so much 🙂 No one will care if you don’t uber clean your house for a while. My doctors were very clear about that with me too 🙂

    • Jenn November 9, 2012 at 2:03 pm #

      Yes ma’am 🙂

  15. babylopez8410 November 9, 2012 at 1:15 pm #

    I bleed when I was about 6 weeks. Scared the shit out of me but my IVF case manager said it was normal.

  16. Steph November 9, 2012 at 1:12 pm #

    I had the exact same dark brown spotting around the same time. Freaked me out. However, I’m now happily 30 weeks pregnant. Excited to hear about your ultrasound!!

  17. Shelley November 9, 2012 at 1:08 pm #

    I’ve always heard that it doesn’t matter where your betas start, but where they go. Yours have been doubling great, which is a really great sign. It’s all relative. You can’t compare your beta #4 to someone else’s. I’ll admit, I was really nervous when I saw your first beta. But to get to #4 and still have good doubling is good. The spotting unfortunately doesn’t tell you anything. I’ve had spotting with a miscarriage and spotting with a (so far) viable pregnancy. Dark brown is better than red but I’ve had red with this pregnancy despite a growing baby. The key is not to have red with clots with heavy cramping over a few hours. Spotting can be caused by a lot of things. Try not to worry about it. Your ultrasound should be able to give you further information!

    • Jenn November 9, 2012 at 1:23 pm #

      Thanks Shelly! That’s great info. I think I got my first beta too early. It was before I even missed my period. I’m trying to remember that what will be, will be. Thanks again:)

      Sent from my iPhone

      • Jenn November 9, 2012 at 1:24 pm #

        Yay! That makes me feel better. And congrats (albeit a little late) to you 🙂

      • tchrgrl05 November 9, 2012 at 1:50 pm #

        I felt the same way about my first beta. I freaked out because it was 15! my RE freaked out too…until he realized I was like 9dpo.

  18. Stupid Stork November 9, 2012 at 12:55 pm #

    Spotting is evidently verrrrry normal, we’re just weirded out by it as IFers. (My biological grandma who was very fertile, didn’t know she was pregnant because that’s how often she bled).

    Agreed. Slow down a bit, my love. If for no other reason than nothing good ever comes of cleaning.

  19. Seagull November 9, 2012 at 12:34 pm #

    I have no insight on spotting or beta # but i think the fact that your first beta # was so strong (i think RE’s like to see it over 80 and yours was in 200s) is a good indication!

Click Here to Comment

