Best Friends Forever.

14 Dec

I’m going to take a break from the shitstorm that I shared with you yesterday to tell you all about one of the few bright, shiny spots in my life right now: my friends. These girls.

Ignore the fact that I look super pregnant...I swear, it's just the shirt and it looked cute in real life!

Ignore the fact that I look super pregnant…I swear, it’s just the shirt and it looked cute in real life!

A few weeks ago my friend Brooke, the red head wearing blue, texted me and told me to keep my whole schedule free on 12/8 because I was hers for the day. However, she told me it was a surprise and that I was not allowed to ask any questions. And that if I wasn’t happy with the surprise that I could hate her forever. Sounded like a fair deal to me.

Now it must be said that I HATE surprises. It’s not so much the act of being surprised that I hate, it’s anticipating the surprise when I know that it’s coming. I just don’t have the patience to wait to found out what the surprise is. I want to know NOW! So, a word to the wise: if you plan to surprise me with something make sure that I have no idea that a surprise is awaiting me.

December 8th finally arrived and my friend/SIL Kate, in the pink and white stripes, picked me up around 1pm and drove me over to Brooke’s. When we arrived, we turned around and got right back in Kate’s car and headed to our surprise destination. My sweet friends had chipped in to get me an hour long massage while they all waited across the street at a bar so that the day could be just for me. And this card explains exactly why they did this for me.

card 1 card 2

I started crying right then and there in the spa. The staff thought it was so sweet that my friends surprised me and assumed it was my birthday. After a resounding round of happy birthdays, I looked desperately at my friend for assistance because I had no idea what to say. I probably wouldn’t have blurted out exactly what was on my mind: no it’s not my birthday. I’m here to forget about a lost pregnancy after years of trying unsuccessfully. Boy, would I have like to see the look on their faces! Luckily, my much more level-headed friend informed them that I was simply there to de-stress. No need to upset the spa staff, I suppose.

It might have seriously been the best massage I’ve ever had. I didn’t realize just how much I needed it until I was practically in tears on that table as I allowed myself that one hour to forget about the lost pregnancy and the other crippling, stressful things going on in my life at this moment.

But the surprises didn’t end there. I walked across the street to meet my friends at the bar only to be greeted by two additional friends who came along for the surprise, Jackie, the redhead in the glasses, and Kasey, the blond in the back. We had a drink at the bar and then headed to our next destination: the nail salon. They had arranged for wine ahead of time and 5 pedicure chairs in a row. So there we sat, me in the middle, drank, laughed, got pampered, and talked about everything except my pregnancy loss. After our pedicures we all got gel manicures. If you haven’t had a gel manicure, you definitely should try it. I will never look back and neither will you 🙂 After two bottles of wine and an hour of fun, we left the salon just a wee bit tipsier than when we came in.

photo 2

From there, they took me to a new restaurant downtown where we ate salad and pizza and drank more wine. After dinner, we headed back to Brooke’s house house for hot chocolate spiked with smores vodka. And before you ask, no, I did not drive home.

I just don’t even know what to say about these girls. Normally I have some emotionally driven, heartfelt explanation for how I feel about these things, but tonight I am at a loss. These ladies are my everything and I simply don’t have the words to express what they mean to me. I’m not even sure that adequate words exist that would capture their place in my heart. I love them. In every single sense of the word love. I wouldn’t be whole if I lost a single one of them. They are so different from one another in so many ways, but when combined they complete everything I have ever needed or wanted. I simply love them, good and bad, for exactly the people that they are.

This day was one of the best days of my life. And I needed it so bad. They saw that need and they met that need. Really, what more could a girl ask for?

 

Love. Love. Love.

19 Responses to “Best Friends Forever.”

  1. amy December 19, 2012 at 2:10 pm #

    WOW! I absolutely LOVE this!! What sweethearts and what FUN! You needed it :))) Hope you’re doing ok Jenn! xoxo

  2. thebarrenlibrarian December 17, 2012 at 7:26 pm #

    I’m so glad your friends are taking care of you in this way. Sometimes I wish that IFers could all live in the same place so we could all be there for each other in an even better way, but it sounds like you have an awesome support system.

  3. Anna December 17, 2012 at 7:26 pm #

    Those are some amazing friends!

  4. YeahScience! December 17, 2012 at 12:30 pm #

    So awesome! It’s funny, I used to find it so difficult to make good, lasting female friendships during high school and university, but my thirties are just FULL of amazing women. I really feel more and more that we need this kind of support as we get older (and deal with so much stressful crap like infertility and career woes and relationship issues and on and on). You’re a lucky gal to have these brilliant ladies in your life, and I hope you have many more tipsy spa dates with ’em. 🙂

  5. RainbowCatcher December 17, 2012 at 8:50 am #

    This made me so happy 🙂 Jenn, I can’t think of anyone who deserved to write this post more than you! I’m so, so sorry that you are dealing with all of this because it just sucks so much, and I’m glad you have good people in your life who will take care of you while you are down.

  6. No Baby Ruth December 17, 2012 at 5:34 am #

    Wow. Just, wow. What incredible friends you have and what an incredible friend YOU must BE to have them want to do this for you. Do not forget that. You are very loved!!!

  7. JustHeather December 16, 2012 at 4:26 pm #

    Those definitely are amazing friends you have! Glad you had a great day.

  8. Diana December 16, 2012 at 12:57 pm #

    How thoughtful!! This makes me want to be a better friend to my friends 🙂 so glad you are surrounding by such sweet friends.

  9. robin December 15, 2012 at 11:45 pm #

    This sounds wonderful!!!! Much needed and well deserved. ❤

  10. alloallo December 15, 2012 at 12:47 pm #

    what an amazing group of friends! so glad you were so well looked after!

  11. KelBel December 15, 2012 at 8:35 am #

    What an amazing day! I smiled throughout your whole post thinking about how much fun you must have had! 🙂

  12. Roxxroxx December 15, 2012 at 5:17 am #

    What a great bunch of friends, and a great day! 🙂

  13. ladyblogalot December 15, 2012 at 12:05 am #

    You deserved every minute of that awesome day, lady. your friends are brilliant, I bow before them.

  14. Jen December 15, 2012 at 12:04 am #

    What wonderful people in your life! Friends like that don’t come around all the time – I’m so glad you have a good support network with you!

  15. 35life December 14, 2012 at 11:46 pm #

    You really have some amazing friends! Love this!

  16. slese1014 December 14, 2012 at 10:56 pm #

    This makes me so happy….I’m go glad you had a day with the ladies. Having friends like this makes all the difference. I wish my BFF’s lived closer…and I’m totally going to try the hot chocolate spiked with s’mores vodka….sounds sooo yummy!

    And the gel manicure is awesome, but whatever you do DO NOT peel it off…wrecks your nails. Mine were beautiful for Thanksgiving. Broke 5 nails putting up Christmas decorations and peeled the rest off…paying for it now as they haven’t recovered…HOPE they’ll be better by next week so I can get it done before Christmas.

  17. Reserved Love December 14, 2012 at 10:41 pm #

    Loved reading this, you do have some pretty awesome friends. Glad you were all able to enjoy a girl’s day out together!

  18. steph50 December 14, 2012 at 10:29 pm #

    You have amazing friends! You must deserve it 🙂

  19. Kelly December 14, 2012 at 10:28 pm #

    I’m so glad you were treated to such a wonderful day by your friends. You deserve it. Thinking of you!

Click Here to Comment

