The End of The World As We Know It?

20 Dec

I have a sneaking suspicion that the world will not actually be ending tomorrow. I mean, it’s already tomorrow in Australia and as far as I know, they’re still there. Right? Laughing promises, I’m talking to you! However, my world will continue to end one small piece at a time regardless of any ancient prediction ever made. However, there have been many a high point in my life this past week and I would like to share those with you:

  • I got a promotion, a raise, a bonus, and an award at work this week!!
No, the award doesn't actually have a big, black heart on it. I figured I should cover the name of my company to protect me from creepy, internet weirdos.

No, the award doesn’t actually have a big, black heart on it. I figured I should cover the name of my company to protect me from creepy, internet weirdos.

  • And please trust me when I say that it couldn’t have come at a better time. My husband basically told me that I needed to find a new job that would better allow me to support myself in his absence. I won’t get into those details because this is a HAPPY post…but now I don’t have to because they offered me a great salary increase and health benefits! Plus my boss told me that everyone in the office voted me as their favorite person. Just more confirmation that I am super awesome 🙂
  • I got not one, but two special deliveries this week. I got a box of goodies from Kathryn and a super sweet card from Lisa. In fact, I’m still smiling from the generosity of these amazing woman who I am privileged to call friends.
  • Plus I went out on a date. What?!?! I know, right? I certainly didn’t waste any time. But whatever. It gave me a confidence boost that was much needed. And even more than that, provided me with a great distraction. I’d like to write more about it but my husband still has access to this blog and I’m still not quite sure how I plan to handle that.
  • Just to bring this post down one notch…my effing beta came back at 8 today. 8!!! Seriously. Will this never end??? I desperately want to get back on the elliptical.
  • Can you imagine how much money we could all save if this actually existed? Dibs on the patent…like it doesn’t already exist.

u-s

  • So, between the fact that not a damn thing is going on in my TTC journey and the fact that my husband still has access to my blog, I have really been struggling with things to write about. This is where you come in…ask me anything. Anything! Leave your question in the comments and I will answer each and every one on my next post. Don’t hold back, ladies. It’s an Ask Jenn free-for-all-jamboree. I’ve been known to play a mean harmonica.
  • This includes all of the many, many lurkers that came out of hiding to request my password on the previous post. Now that I know you are out there I want to hear from you!

Love. Love. Love.

23 Responses to “The End of The World As We Know It?”

  1. Hapa Hopes December 30, 2012 at 8:00 pm #

    What a wonderful, happy post. So glad to read it, and CONGRATS ON THE AWARD! 🙂

  2. Natalie December 24, 2012 at 3:18 pm #

    Congrats! Awesome news!

  3. robin December 23, 2012 at 2:17 pm #

    What a great time to get a big promotion and an award that shows you that YOU ARE LOVED AND APPRECIATED! ❤ ❤ ❤

  4. storkchaser December 21, 2012 at 9:30 pm #

    Congrats again sweetie, I know you deserve it!

    So what is your new job? Are you doing what you went to school for? And tell us about college please!

  5. Alie December 21, 2012 at 4:33 pm #

    Congratulations on your promotion! Wishing you nothing but the best in 2013 🙂

  6. Bear December 21, 2012 at 2:12 pm #

    I totally believe you are super awesome and that you deserve all the good things that have to be coming your way.

  7. Avery December 21, 2012 at 1:08 pm #

    Hi Jenn! My question for you is the following. Now that you and your husband are split, are you at all grateful that kids didn’t work out for you two?

  8. steph50 December 21, 2012 at 12:46 pm #

    Favorite person at work? That amazing!!! How’s that for a confidence boost? Congratulations, and I’m really curious about the situation with your husband…

  9. YeahScience! December 21, 2012 at 11:26 am #

    AWESOME job on the raise/promotion/benefits!! I think it’s so important to get that kind of validation, from career and friends, when you’re going through such a rough time with your partner. Also, re: the beta, I was told that once it was under 10, it was considered “over” and I could start trying again after my next bleed (ie. Day 1). So I say definitely start exercising again. And, well, you want questions? I’m a journalist, so I can literally flip a switch and interrogate you til the cows come home… but I kinda want to know more about your romantic situation, and I’m not sure you can freely talk about that yet. Maybe do a few more password-protected posts and don’t give your hubs the password?

  10. amy December 21, 2012 at 10:21 am #

    Sounds like you are coming along swimmingly….you are so much stronger than you think 🙂 You’re a super hero, really. How amazing for you to get a promotion and raise…what a blessing!!!!

    Questions: How are your feelings towards your husband? Are you full of animosity and frustration…b/c you have come across so strong and patient and kind…if it were me, I feel like I would want to hurt him! When is he moving out and what are his next steps? Has he resigned yet and where does he plan on getting all this money to travel the world? In the past several years you have been married, has he ever talked about the open marriage thing, or now looking back can you see where this all started?

    Those are seriously PERSONAL questions…and I feel kinda bad asking them, but I’m also sure it’s kinda therapuetic to talk about it. And, yes, I’d like to hear more about the date if you’re willing to share 🙂 Love you Jenn!!

  11. cgd December 21, 2012 at 10:09 am #

    congratulations sweetie!!! this is great news and great timing. As for the date, good for you. I am sure you know my thoughts on this issue from my blog. I struggle too with my husbands potential access to my blog. Have you considered starting a new one? I get worried that my husband might see things on mine that will make him less generous in our mediation proceedings. Yet, in the end I have decided to write about everything anyway- whatever, he left, so if he doesn’t like what he sees, that is his too deal with.
    thinking of you lots. Here if you need anything
    -C

  12. Pcosbarrenness December 21, 2012 at 9:58 am #

    Congrats on all the job stuff! How come you can’t use the elliptical? I miscarried recently and wasn’t told to put any exercise restrictions.

  13. Aimee December 21, 2012 at 8:50 am #

    Congrats on the promotion and award!! That’s amazing and couldn’t have come at a better time. If only I could come up with a good question…

  14. Jenny December 21, 2012 at 7:26 am #

    Congratulations on the award, promotion and raise! I’m so glad to see good things happening for you. 🙂

  15. veetamia December 21, 2012 at 6:40 am #

    Still alive and it’s already 12-ish pm on this side of the world!!! Congrats on your promotion and raise!!! Glad to hear you are doing good, although I’m totally confused by some of the things you wrote – I think I’ll go back and read previous posts that I might’ve missed!! Hugs!

  16. SM December 21, 2012 at 6:16 am #

    Totally missed that password protected post! You’ll be seeing a request from me soon! Congrats of the award! That’s awesome! I would like to hear more about this date. Or maybe tell us some funny stories from your childhood (I love hearing about people’s backgrounds)!

  17. LisaB December 21, 2012 at 5:41 am #

    Congrats!!! Good news all around, and I hope there’s more to come for you!

  18. No Baby Ruth December 21, 2012 at 3:14 am #

    Congrats on the great news at work!! I want to know what you do, cause I also work with rewnewable energy!

    Also, spill the beans on the date!! Details PLUS how it felt!! I can’t imagine dating!

    And, do you really have to wait until your beta zeros out to get on the elliptical?? 8 seems low enough, no?

  19. Ladyblogalot December 21, 2012 at 2:46 am #

    Okay so it’s about

    • Ladyblogalot December 21, 2012 at 2:50 am #

      Either my comment didn’t work properly, or the world did in fact end… Okay so it’s about 7pm Melbourne time and the world hasn’t ended yet. Did the Mayans specify a time? That would be handy. So… awesome, awesome, awesome on your good things this week. You deserve them lady. A bit awkward with Mr Ex being able to access your blog, yes? But all of my questions are around your date… who was it with? What did you do? did you get to dress up? Was it awesome? I hope he was fun.

  20. laughingpromises December 20, 2012 at 11:19 pm #

    Still alive and kickin down under! Congrats on your work successes! You are awesome. 🙂

  21. slese1014 December 20, 2012 at 11:14 pm #

    CONGRATULATIONS!!! It is wonderful news you have been voted everyone’s favorite person….You’re definitely one of my favorites!! Sending you hugs and all that jazz!!! And I can’t wait for your next post…I’m nosy, but I’d rather read through everyone else’s questions before posing my own….cos yeah, that’s how I roll LOL

  22. Jennifer December 20, 2012 at 11:12 pm #

    Who cares if he has access to your blog? Congratulations on your award! 🙂

Click Here to Comment

