Miss Me Yet?

22 Jan

I hope you all can forgive my absence. I’ve just been at a total loss as to what to write about. This space of mine no longer seems to fit me. Or rather, I don’t seem to fit it anymore. I’m obviously no longer trying to get pregnant. And the title itself, “The Future Fords,” no longer defines my life. Chances are that the only Future Ford that will walk this Earth is yours truly. I am struggling with how to turn this one time infertility blog into a blog that encompasses this whole new person that has been left in its wake.

And what of these friendships that we’ve forged? I mean, you guys know more intimate details of my life than most people care to even imagine. But what do I have to offer you if not tales of woe and misfortune of the fertility challenged?

I could regale you with stories of my separation. I could tell you what I ate for breakfast. I could even share the details of my dating life. But all that seems to pale in comparison to drama was my life TTC. Hell, I don’t even know when my last period started because single, non-procreating women like me have no need for such unpleasant details.

Maybe I will start a new blog. An anonymous blog. A place where I can write freely about my life without fear of judgement from (ex?) husbands, would-be-friends, or nosy neighbors. And while I am busy divulging my secrets in that new corner of the internet, I will let this place sit and collect cobwebs-much like my reproductive organs will be doing. Then one day, I can pick it back up, dust it off, and find you all right where I left you. Only, you’ll all be caught in the bliss of motherhood while I, once again, play catch-up.

I suppose there are worse things than suspending time.

I imagine myself pushing pause, not only here on my blog, but also on the part of me that wants nothing more than to be a mother. And for the next 6 months, 1 year, 5 years–however long it takes–the other underdeveloped parts of me will get a chance to shine.

World traveler Jenn. 

Boy crazy Jenn.

Best friend Jenn.

Dessert baking, picture taking, clothes making, risk taking Jenn.

Will you join me on my new adventure?

32 Responses to “Miss Me Yet?”

  1. Krystal September 23, 2015 at 7:05 am #

    I’m so sorry it didn’t work out for you. Your blog has been wonderful to read and has given me so much hope as I followed through your journey. I was always rooting for you! Would love to have details of your new link.

    • Jenn September 23, 2015 at 4:34 pm #

      Thank you Krystal. Unfortunately, I haven’t been good at keeping up with my writing. I started a new blog https://awomanlikethat.wordpress.com/ but I have yet to write anything. Maybe one day 🙂 DO you have a blog I can check out?

      • Krystal September 23, 2015 at 8:52 pm #

        Hi Jenn,

        I’m quite new to the TTC journey, we only got married 7 months ago and I haven’t started documenting it. Once I settle down and get started on writing I’ll be happy to share the link!

  2. Amy (Metz) Walker January 27, 2013 at 12:56 pm #

    Hey, I know I’m way late in reading this…and definitely in commenting…but I just wanted to see if I might be able to encourage you a little. I, too, went through a divorce and I actually grieved the idea that it would prolong my road to motherhood more than I did the loss of my 1st marriage. The details are personal for me but I want you to know that, in retrospect, had God granted the groanings of my heart for a child when I wanted it, I would forever be linked to someone who, undoubtedly, I didn’t want to be linked to for the rest of my life.

    Instead, God chose to make me a mom WAY after I wanted it and blessed me with a man and a marriage WAY beyond what I feel like I deserve. The “during” season is hard and fraught with anxiety and fear of “what if I nevers” but, on the other side of the healing, there is clarity. As one who has been through it…I promise. Your infertiliy doesn’t define you just as this separation won’t always define you.

    Lifting up a prayer for you…that God give you a reminder that He is faithful and, even though it might feel like it, you are not forgotten. 😉

    • Jenn January 27, 2013 at 10:15 pm #

      Thank you Amy for reaching out to me. It’s helps so much to hear from someone who has been in my shoes. And it is so evident from your blog that things have worked out for exactly as they should have. The love that emanates from you, your husband, and LC is simply inspiring. I just wish I could fast forward to that point, haha 🙂 But I know that the journey is often as important as the destination.

      Thanks again for your comforting words and prayers. They both really mean so much to me!

  3. expecting to be expecting January 26, 2013 at 7:19 pm #

    I agree with everyone else, I’d follow your blog, regardless of the topic. You’re smart, fun and interesting.

  4. No Baby Ruth January 25, 2013 at 6:28 am #

    I hope that you do continue to blog. it can be therapuetic on so many levels, and it’s also one heck of a great way to make friends, keep track of your life, etc. I have a couple of blogs besides my IF one!

    And if you are going to be blogging about dessert making you can bet I’ll be there with you!! 😉

  5. Mrs. Wuestewald January 24, 2013 at 9:25 pm #

    Yes, if u start a new blog I say blog about Jen begins a new…missed ya

  6. nonsequiturchica January 24, 2013 at 4:26 pm #

    YES I have definitely missed you and your writing! There is so much more to ALL of us than our TTC adventures.

  7. Amanda January 23, 2013 at 9:32 pm #

    I, too, want to follow along where life takes you, cheering you on or lifting you in support whenever you need it!!!!!!! =) There are great things in store for you, Jenn.

  8. YeahScience! January 23, 2013 at 2:52 pm #

    For sure I will! Would be happy to follow your new blog, no matter what you end up writing about. Keep us posted. 🙂

  9. makingpebbles January 23, 2013 at 2:37 pm #

    Yes please – if there’s still room!

  10. jo January 23, 2013 at 7:39 am #

    of course i’ll follow you on your new adventures. i’m no longer ttc but i still like reading your blog for the way you write.

  11. robin January 22, 2013 at 9:48 pm #

    YES PLEASE! I’d love to keep following you and your adventures, wherever you may go and whatever fun and exciting things you may do!!!

  12. bethanykenyon January 22, 2013 at 7:59 pm #

    Love it I look forward to hearing your new adventures!!!! Oh and p.s. yes you were very missed!!!!

  13. steph50 January 22, 2013 at 7:14 pm #

    I will gladly be a follower of those new, exciting adventures!

  14. storkchaser January 22, 2013 at 6:50 pm #

    Hey welcome back woman!!! If you decide to let this blog sit please please please start a new one. There really is so much more to you than the babymaking and I miss reading your posts. Of course, we’ll always have other means to KIT, but you MUST continue to blog. 😉

  15. Chris January 22, 2013 at 6:01 pm #

    I definitely want to keep up wherever this new road leads you.

  16. Ladyblogalot January 22, 2013 at 5:20 pm #

    Hell to the yeah! I’m in. And this is going so well I think you need your own theme song.

  17. SM January 22, 2013 at 5:10 pm #

    I would definitely follow you to your new digs! Just let us know!

  18. slese1014 January 22, 2013 at 4:08 pm #

    I have missed you….and I will follow you where ever your story takes you….hugs hon!

  19. Shelley January 22, 2013 at 3:44 pm #

    Yes, I’ll join you and yes, I’ve missed you. My pre-TTC self was dessert baking and picture taking too.

  20. RainbowCatcher January 22, 2013 at 3:20 pm #

    I have definitely missed you and of course I want to hear the new Jenn adventures–I read your blog because I like YOU and you are so much more than infertility!

  21. cdg January 22, 2013 at 2:49 pm #

    I struggled with this very same thing knowing that I no longer fit into the world of IF and TTC anymore- I altered the title of my blog and kept on going b/c that is what felt right to me. I think you will find what feels right to you as well. But if writing and getting supports helps you, keep writing- even if that means we are reading posts about what you ate for breakfast.
    BTW, i find this part of my life to be very challenging- different from IF so much so that I don’t even try to make comparisons.
    hoping to keep following you, in some cyber space out there…..

  22. laughingpromises January 22, 2013 at 2:34 pm #

    Yes! Have definitely missed your posts and would love to follow your new adventures. 🙂

  23. Kelly January 22, 2013 at 2:12 pm #

    You know Im in! Regardless of what has happened or will happen, I care too much about ya to let go!

  24. Luna January 22, 2013 at 1:38 pm #

    I will absolutely join you if you will have lil old me! Yes please.

  25. Bear January 22, 2013 at 1:22 pm #

    I did miss you and would love to join you on your new adventures. 🙂

  26. Belle January 22, 2013 at 1:19 pm #

    I will absolutely join you and look forward to reading about new Jenn’s adventures!

  27. Lisa @ hapahopes January 22, 2013 at 1:19 pm #

    Yes I will join you!!! MIssed you!

  28. R January 22, 2013 at 1:15 pm #

    Yes. Please please let me know where you go!

  29. KelBel January 22, 2013 at 1:12 pm #

    Count me in as someone who would like to follow the new adventures of Jenn!

Click Here to Comment

