October Writing Prompts

25 Sep

Hello Hello my sub-fertile friends. Day 1 of no-smoking is going pretty well thus far. I have chewed one piece of nicotine gum and I’ve been awake for almost 4 hours. Not too shabby.

Can you believe it’s almost October? I, for one, am super bummed. I love summer and it always makes me sad to see it go. Usually the only thing that keeps me going through the Autumn is busting out my Fall wardrobe. Alas, that isn’t so exiting for me this time around because I can’t wear pants or boots…you know, other than the one I am medically required to wear. Unfortunately, it isn’t as cute as the new wedge boots I just purchased.

Anywho. Am I the only the one sometimes gets tired of being consumed by infertility? I feel like it’s all I have to write about. I know this is primarily in infertility blog, but I can only go over my follicle count, Clomid symptoms, DPO, and other technical stuff so often lest I begin to repeat myself. Plus I like to do things that help bring this community together in ways that helps remind is that we are strong, beautiful, awesome women with so much more to offer this world than just the products of our uteruses (uteri?)…or lack thereof.

I loved hosting the weight loss challenge that has been taken over by StorkChaser as well at the Lazy Pinterest Challenge she is also conducting. I look forward to Manly Monday/A Weird Glimpse Into My Marriage a la Stupid Stork. And EmHart’s September Photo Challenge has been great as it allows me a peak into your lives that I might not see otherwise. I’m an unabashed voyeur. In light of these things, I thought I would come up with some daily writing prompts for the month of October. I think it will help us to get to know each other even better, celebrate our lives outside infertility, and give us a reason to laugh at ourselves.

I know some of you prefer to remain anonymous, but no worries, if there is a prompt that you feel could compromise your identity just skip over it or write about what you would if you could. If you would like to participate leave me a comment and I will add your name to the list of participants which I will also post with links back to your blog each day when I answer the prompt. Feel free to link back to this post on your blog because the more the merrier! I’m really looking forward to this ladies!

So, without further ado, here are your writing prompts.

October 1: What is your astrological sign and do you feel it’s accurate?
October 2: How did you husband/spouse/partner propose?
October 3: What is your most embarrassing moment?
October 4: Post a video blog (vlog?) of the following (feel free to get your hubs in on this one):

Say these words:
Aunt, Route, Wash, Oil, Theater, Iron, Salmon, Caramel, Fire, Water, Sure, Data, Ruin, Crayon, Toilet, New Orleans, Pecan, Both, Again, Probably, Spitting image, Alabama, Lawyer, Coupon, Mayonnaise, Syrup, Pajamas, Caught

And answer these questions:
What is it called when you throw toilet paper on a house?
What is the bug that when you touch it, it curls into a ball?
What is the bubbly carbonated drink called?
What do you call gym shoes?
What do you say to address a group of people?
What do you call the kind of spider that has an oval-shaped body and extremely long legs?
What do you call your grandparents?
What do you call the wheeled contraption in which you carry groceries at the supermarket?
What do you call it when rain falls while the sun is shining?
What is the thing you use to change the TV channel?

October 5: What is your favorite book?
October 6: Who is you current favorite band?
October 7: If you could sleep with any celebrity who would it be?
October 8: If you could have any job in the whole wide world regardless of your qualifications, what would you choose and why?
October 9: If given the choice, how would you choose to die?
October 10: What is your biggest fear?
October 11: If you could change one thing about your personal appearance, what would it be and why?
October 12: If you could change on thing about your personality, what would it be and why.
October 13: What is the one thing you like best about yourself?
October 14: What is the greatest compliment you ever received?
October 15: If you could go back in time, what decade would you choose to live in?
October 16: A little TMI? Share something you never thought you would ever post on the internet.
October 17: How would you describe your personal style?
October 18: Make an acrostic of your first name (or pseudonym) using each letter to describe yourself.
October 19: What is your favorite quote?
October 20: Tell us a little something about your grandmother.
October 21: Are you satisfied with your sex life? Would you like more, less, or is it just right?
October 22. Favorite sexual position?
October 23: What are you most envious of?
October 24: What are you thankful/grateful for today?
October 25: Post a picture of what you look like first thing in the morning side by side with a picture of you ready to start your day.
October 26: What is your favorite activity to do by yourself?
October 27: Girl or Boy? Given a choice, which would you choose as the sex of your first child?
October 28: What is the meaning of life?
October 29: Define what you consider cheating. Where do you draw that line?
October 30: Find someone and tell them just how much they mean to you. It can be your spouse, a friend, your mom, a stranger, whoever. Just call tell/text/call/email them right now and tell them what they mean to you.

October 31: Post a picture of your Halloween costume. If you didn’t dress up, post a picture of how you spent the evening instead.

34 Responses to “October Writing Prompts”

  1. Lilly October 14, 2012 at 1:16 pm #

    hiya! I’m SUPER late on this, but I just found this thread through Chasing the Stork! I’m excited about this!

    • Jenn October 14, 2012 at 5:04 pm #

      Better late than never 🙂 welcome!

  2. bethanykenyon October 4, 2012 at 7:44 pm #

    I want in….I’m super late, but I will catch up.. I found you through EmHart

  3. tchrgrl05 October 2, 2012 at 8:47 am #

    Saw your prompts on two of the other blogs I follow. Can I play along as well? Thanks! Looking forward to following your blog 🙂

    • Jenn October 2, 2012 at 10:16 am #

      Absolutely! Welcome 🙂

  4. Jennifer October 1, 2012 at 9:34 pm #

    I’m in too!

  5. Jenny October 1, 2012 at 4:08 pm #

    Emhart brought your challenge to my attention. I’d love to join in (though I may not be able to do all of them). 🙂

    • Jenn October 1, 2012 at 4:15 pm #

      Great! Happy to have you 🙂 I’ll add your name to the list.

  6. Arwen Rose September 26, 2012 at 5:32 pm #

    Hello! Think I’ve lurked for a while! Count me in I loved having Em’s challenge!

    • Jenn September 26, 2012 at 5:40 pm #

      Glad you have officially de-lurked! Welcome 🙂 I’m so happy you’re going to participate!

  7. EmHart September 25, 2012 at 6:51 pm #

    Ooh, yes please. sign me up!

  8. futuresoccermom September 25, 2012 at 5:25 pm #

    Love love!! I don’t know if I will get to all of them but I am interested in trying!

  9. drunnermom September 25, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

    just a random note . . i am a former smoker (quit almost 6 years ago) get yourself of a copy of quitting the easy way by allen carr. seriously the best thing- that is all I used!
    good luck!

    • Jenn September 25, 2012 at 5:28 pm #

      Done! Thanks 🙂

  10. Kathryn September 25, 2012 at 4:48 pm #

    This is a fantastic list! I love it, totally taking part in this 🙂

  11. RainbowCatcher September 25, 2012 at 4:09 pm #

    This sounds like fun. I won’t make any promises about doing all of these, but I will definitely be posting a lot of them :o)

  12. Kelly September 25, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

    Love it!!! Count me in!

  13. storkchaser September 25, 2012 at 1:38 pm #

    Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!! I love this and cant wait to participate! I have been missing these!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happy Birthday Dax! | MRKH Musings - October 11, 2012

    […] am woefully behind on my October Writing Prompts, what with a teensy wobble in my marriage, then a foray into therapy…so with a slight lull […]

  2. How We Are Learning To Be Parents - October 9, 2012

    […] so there’s not much to write about right now – I’m still going strong with the October Writing Prompts though … Yay me!!! and here is […]

  3. In Other News « The Future Fords - October 8, 2012

    […] been so caught up in my October Writing Prompts that I almost forget this is primarily an (in)fertility blog. It seems that I owe you guys some […]

  4. Kathryn Finding Words Video Blog « Kathryn Finding Balance - October 6, 2012

    […] It’s not too late to join us all in this October writing prompt. Check out the details at The Future Fords! So here goes it, my video blog of saying […]

  5. October 3rd, 4th and 5th | MRKH Musings - October 5, 2012

    […] marriage Earthquake I am behind on my October writing and therefore playing catch up somewhat on Jenn’s October writing prompts, here are my efforts for the last three […]

  6. What’s your Sign? | Life Is Good Today - October 4, 2012

    […] Ok ok….I know I’m off to a late start, but as promised, here I go with Jenn’s writing prompts! I hope to catch up this weekend if I can. If you’re not sure what I’m referring to, check out Jenn’s post here. […]

  7. Must Do Better « How We Are Learning To Be Parents - October 2, 2012

    […] an effort to try to write more often I have decided to take part in the October Writing Prompts Challenge that I saw over at The Future Fords – I don’t know if I’ll manage every day but […]

  8. I’ve been a bit unbalanced « Kathryn Finding Balance - October 2, 2012

    […] I am so thankful that Jenn over at The Future Fords posted a fantastic October daily writing prompt challenge, which I am going to partake in on this […]

  9. The proposal | MRKH Musings - October 2, 2012

    […] Jenn’s October Writing Prompts  […]

  10. September Ends and A Monday mish mash | MRKH Musings - October 1, 2012

    […] am also going to participate in Jenn@FutureFords October writing prompts. I can’t promise that I will make every day but I will […]

  11. October 1 | Dog Mom Chasing the Stork - October 1, 2012

    […] Woohoo!!!  So excited for Jenn’s October Writing Prompts!!! […]

  12. October 1: Aquarius « Catching Our Rainbow - October 1, 2012

    […] month I’m going to do my best to participate in the October Writing Prompts from The Future Fords blog. Here’s the prompt for October 1: What is your astrological sign […]

  13. Good lord. | Pregnancy 101 - September 25, 2012

    […] finally, I’m in love with Jenn’s October Prompts idea – I love a good writing prompt, and these are awesome. I’ve stayed away […]

Click Here to Comment